We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Hotel - bit out of the way if you are there for London (TIP included)” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Waltham Abbey Marriott Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Waltham Abbey Marriott Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Waltham Abbey
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
541 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 606 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel - bit out of the way if you are there for London (TIP included)”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

Nice hotel, cute unique architecture and set in the country. Service was great, though they charge for parking which is kind of weird out in the middle of nowhere. Tucked right off the highway for quick transportation into the city (about half an hour) or to the studios for Harry Potter. They don't have a very good menu for late night, so make sure you have a full tummy before returning to hotel. Little bar with limited service. Nice and clean throughout, comfortable beds.

TIP No elevators in this place, so if you are on second floor you will be lugging luggage upstairs.

Room Tip: TIP Get a room on the first floor....No elevators in this place, so if you are on second floor you w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bruce p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

684 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    149
    264
    143
    65
    63
See reviews for
149
188
25
182
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

Yes, I am yet another person fallen foul to the Car Park rip off at the Marriott Hotel Waltham cross. I parked in the car on a Saturday afternoon. There was no clear sign to say that a fee was to be paid or barrier on entering the car park. The hotel receptionist did not ask if I was using the car park, this is clearly a scam and left me £60.00 out of pocket.

Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
4 Thank Patricia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
s_clifford_banks, Manager at Waltham Abbey Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, 20 April 2014
Dear Patricia S,

Thank you for your feedback following your recent visit to the hotel. I'm sorry to read that you have received a parking charge notice after having parked in the hotel car park.

You have not indicated in your comments whether you were staying overnight or visiting the hotel's restaurant or bar. In either case there is a possibility you may have qualified for complimentary parking. Many of our room rates include parking and if you spend £10 in our bar or restaurant you also qualify for complimentary parking. However you do need to register your car at the hotel reception desk. I'm sorry if you were not made aware of this whilst in the hotel, whilst there are signs in both the car park and within the bar area we should also be asking every guest whether they have a car.

Our car park is managed by Parking Eye Ltd who do have an appeals process. If you would like to contact me directly at the hotel I may be able to support an appeal for you provided you are able to show a valid receipt or if you stayed on a qualifying room rate.

Kind regards,

Seth Clifford-Banks
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Waltham Abbey hotels

Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

Stayed here for one night for a wedding in April 2014.

The hotel is nice and the rooms are excellent. All the staff here are really nice and there's obviously an ethos of customer service here as they all tried that little bit more than most places. The lady that checked us in was amazing, very helpful and really set the tone at our arrival.

The breakfast was superb quality and there was lots to choose from.

The only thing keeping this from being a full five star review was two things: the prices at the bar (unbelievable) and the wi-fi isn't free. If I remember correctly the wi-fi charges were £6 for one hour or £15 for 24 hours. Wi-fi is now free on most public transport; it should be free at hotels that are £100 per night! It's a shame that a nice hotel with lovely staff still leaves you feeling like you've been mugged.

Other than that a top place.

Room Tip: There's no lifts so if you've buggies, big bags etc ask for a ground-floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014 via mobile

Following on from previous poor review due to problems with the parking sotuation at the hotel I have to say the manager and his customer service staff handled the situation brilliantly ......
I was unfairly given a fine while taking my mother (blue badge hokder ) for lunch

The manager responded immediately to my problem and arranged for immediate refund

Thank you for resolving the matter so swiftly and I will now consider returning knowing your customer appreciation is top class

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jonb930
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baughurst, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
165 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

We were visiting friends in the area and stayed overnight at this hotel.

It is very close to the M25 and is just off junction 26.

It is a large hotel with many rooms. The reception was efficient and friendly.

Our room was OK with a large comfy bed. Normal complaints about British hotel plumbing, a weedy shower and a non draining handbasin (both of which we reported on checkout).

The bar is large and airy as is the restaurant. Breakfast was good with the food you'd expect in a chain hotel.

Our bill was correct and checkout smooth and easy.

There is a large car park.

I'm sure we'll stay again when next in the area.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room away from the motorway
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MWC2409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

The room was lovely and clean and excellent breakfast included in our £99 per night stay. Pool very nice although the changing rooms a bit scruffy and old fashioned. Public shower area between sauna and pool is dangerous as it is raised and very slippy. After spending the day in London we arrived back around 9pm hoping to enjoy a few drinks in the bar but it was too expensive so we only had one. A pint of lager and a bottle of cider was £9.85 . Park on Old Shire lane as there is loads of ro rather than £4 per day on hotel car park which I think is very cheeky.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Geraldine516
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
s.a
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2014

We stayed in this hotel for 3 nights during a school trip for my niece. It went above our expectation. It's a bit old hotel with ordinary decor but clean and neat, the staff made it feel like home. They were extremely helpful and friendly. I strongly recommend this hotel for a stay in Waltham abbey.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dr.amal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waltham Abbey
3.7 mi away
Cheshunt Marriott Hotel
Cheshunt Marriott Hotel
#1 of 1 in Broxbourne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 634 reviews
1.4 mi away
Premier Inn Waltham Abbey Hotel
Premier Inn Waltham Abbey Hotel
#1 of 2 in Waltham Abbey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 572 reviews
5.4 mi away
Hallmark Hotel London Chigwell Prince Regent
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 mi away
Hanbury Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club
3.7 mi away
De Vere Theobalds Estate
3.7 mi away
Premier Inn Loughton/Buckhurst Hill Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waltham Abbey Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waltham Abbey Marriott Hotel

Property: Waltham Abbey Marriott Hotel
Address: Old Shire Lane, Waltham Abbey EN9 3LX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Waltham Abbey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Waltham Abbey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Waltham Abbey Marriott Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a blend of relaxed elegance and modern convenience at the Waltham Abbey Marriott Hotel. Enjoy spacious accommodations, helpful amenities and easy accessibility to Essex and Central London. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Superbreak UK so you can book your Waltham Abbey Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Waltham Abbey
Waltham Abbey Marriott Hotel Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing