We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overnight stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Waltham Abbey Marriott Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Waltham Abbey
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Overnight stay”
Reviewed 16 June 2014

The check in process was straight forward, we didnt pay for parking and staff were more than accommodating.
We stayed here after attending a wedding close by and have to say its one of the most comfortable beds Ive slept in second to my own! Our room was clean, very comfortable and breakfast the following day was plentiful - full English, cereal and fruit.
The only negative and reason why I wouldn't give a 5* is the constant slamming of doors come morning - the doors have stays on them but they don't work so doors close very quickly once the person lets go. Nonetheless, I would definitely stay again if my travels took me that way

Room Tip: If you have mobility issues, ask for a ground floor room. The building is 2 storeys high and there i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yvonne632
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WalthamAbbeyMarriott, Director of Sales at Waltham Abbey Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Dear Yvonne632

Thank you taking the time to review our hotel. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back to the Waltham Abbey Marriott in the very near future.

Have a brilliant day.

Yours sincerely
Caroline Jenkins
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

701 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    150
    271
    147
    68
    65
See reviews for
154
193
25
186
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
hu10 6as
Level Contributor
180 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

this is a hotel i have stayed in quite a few times ,it is convenient for a stay, next to stansted airport but why charge £4.00 for a nights parking,the hotel does not have a lift, so if you are on the second floor then you have to walk miles to your room,the staff need training how to smile,and enjoy the tire customers who have travelled miles in cars or planes and all they need is to get booked in.If i had to pay the bill i would not book there again .the one positive about the place was the marriott bed .still a great sleep.

Room Tip: ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bizzyinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WalthamAbbeyMarriott, Director of Sales at Waltham Abbey Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, 15 June 2014
Dear bizzyinn
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay. I would like to thank you for your positive comments with regards to the Marriott Bed. I am pleased you had a great night sleep.
We do offer a number of accommodation rates that include car parking within the price, residents are encouraged to report to the Hotel reception where our team will clarify this for you. Unfortunately, we do not have a lift in the hotel as our rooms are only across the ground floor and the first floor however we will always accommodate a request should you wish to be closer to the reception.
Once again, thank you very much for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the very near future.
Yours sincerely

Caroline Jenkins
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
191 reviews
164 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

This is a nice place but you absolutely need a car. It is only 15 mins drive from Stansted airport but the cab charge will be at least 40 pounds and public transport is tedious and expensive. They say it is only 7 miles to a tube station but I can't see it being very easy to get there.
Luckily I had a car. Still the trip to central London is quite long. I would not recommend this place for a tourist to London.
The hotel itself has nice rooms, a spa that looked good though I did not use it, typical coffee, tea and ironing facilities in each room. Comfortable beds and a good bathroom.
Make sure you check out your car from the car park. This is done by the reception. The rate is quite cheap, on some days it is free I believe.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liv V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

I have stayed at this hotel countless times as I find it clean, comfortable and an ideal base for trips into London. The hotel is only a short drive (approx 7 miles) to Loughton tube station. It provides great access to the city without the hefty London hotel price tag. The pool and sauna area are a great facility to use at the hotel. Providing much needed relaxation after a day pounding the streets in the big city.
I have never actually eaten dinner at the hotel but if the huge, tasty breakfast selection is anything to go by .., I'm sure it will be absolutely delicious. If the menu is not to your fancy then there's plenty of choice in Loughton itself.
My only criticism of the hotel is that they charge to use their car park. Which I see as a bit of a cheek seeing as I'm a paying guest. I appreciate that the car park is used by business visitors to the hotel, in which case the cost is justified. But I think that overnight guests could be given some concession. I'm sure this is something the hotel will address to avoid deterring custom.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CAllen1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
essex
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Could not fault the staff but the food and ambience of the restaurant was seriously lacking. Special requests were not delivered, poor quality dishes etc. Waited 20 minutes to be served at the bar due to another function taking place so poorly managed by senior staff.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorraine F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
s_clifford_banks, Manager at Waltham Abbey Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Dear Lorraine,

Thank you for posting your review of the hotel following your recent stay. I'm sorry to hear that you felt the service and food quality were not up to standard. Whilst ts is disappointing to hear I do appreciate your comments as they help us to address areas where we can improve.
We share and discuss all our feedback with the hotel team on a regular basis and as such I have already discussed your experience with my Restaurant and Bars Manager who will address this directly with his team.

Once again please accept my apologies, I do hope this experience has not put you off returning to the hotel in the future. If you are planning a return please do let me know in advance so I or one of my management team can welcome you personally.
Kind regards,

Seth Clifford-Banks
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loughton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

I've stayed here a few times for my employers Christmas party. There are great facilities available including a small gym and a nice swimming pool with sauna and jacuzzi available. The cuisine is of a good standard, especially the breakfast which offers ab excellent range of anything you would like. The rooms are extremely comfortable and well kept. Located just off of the M25 so is fairly reachable. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carter_Family_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sudbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

This was a great location after a wonderful few hours at the Lee Valley water park! The hotel was comfortable, staff very helpful and food really good! The breakfast was one of the best we have ever had! The chef made your eggs to order and most efficiently! Omelettes to order as well! It was quite a long walk to. Our room but we were pleased after a big meal! This may have been a problem for guests with limited mobility! Thank you Marriott we will be back!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judith F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waltham Abbey
3.8 mi away
Cheshunt Marriott Hotel
Cheshunt Marriott Hotel
#1 of 1 in Broxbourne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 646 reviews
1.4 mi away
Premier Inn Waltham Abbey Hotel
Premier Inn Waltham Abbey Hotel
#1 of 2 in Waltham Abbey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 589 reviews
5.4 mi away
Hallmark Hotel London Chigwell Prince Regent
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 mi away
Hanbury Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club
3.7 mi away
De Vere Theobalds Estate
2.1 mi away
Premier Inn London Enfield Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waltham Abbey Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waltham Abbey Marriott Hotel

Property: Waltham Abbey Marriott Hotel
Address: Old Shire Lane, Waltham Abbey EN9 3LX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Waltham Abbey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Waltham Abbey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Waltham Abbey Marriott Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a blend of relaxed elegance and modern convenience at the Waltham Abbey Marriott Hotel. Enjoy spacious accommodations, helpful amenities and easy accessibility to Essex and Central London. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your Waltham Abbey Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Waltham Abbey
Waltham Abbey Marriott Hotel Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing