We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Waltham Abbey Marriott Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Waltham Abbey
2 reviews
“Lovely hotel”
Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

We had our wedding reception here 15 years ago 10th August, We are both from the area but live in Worcester so when we visit we try to stay at this lovely hotel, our last visit was 25th july for my father in laws 80th birthday which was held at the hotel, we arrived friday night and told the very friendly receptionist at it was our anniversary soon she very kindly up graded us to a executive room as always very clean and the beds are to die for, knock at the door champagne cocktails chocolates and strawberries delivered by a very friendly waiter from the hotel! Car park paid and papers we didn't order taken straight of our bill! Would I recomend this hotel 110% yes!

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Moira B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

722 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    153
    277
    154
    71
    67
See reviews for
160
199
26
192
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Essex
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We went to the Marriott hotel for lunch and coffee and it was very nice,we had sandwiches which were well presented,it was very relaxing and comfortable after walking around the town centre,staff were very pleasant and welcoming, plenty of seating as well

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 15MaryT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Great Yarmouth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
196 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 252 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We stayed at the hotel for 3 nights. We found the hotel side of the business to be excellent. We were upgraded to a junior suite, which was superb. We also found all the staff in the hotel to be friendly, efficient and they made us feel we were welcome, valued guests. The only issue that stopped me giving this review 5 stars is that our newspaper order was consistently got wrong, and an allowance towards dinner on the first night was not recorded on our account until the 3rd time of asking.

One word of warning. The restaurant can be very up and down, but I am not including that in a review about the hotel side of the business, as I will review the restaurant separately

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TommoNorfolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
224 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

If I was to write this review based on my check-in experience which was incredibly bad, I would be giving a bad report, however the Waltham Abbey Marriott Hotel whilst a looking a little aged is a value-for-money, comfortable North of London hotel. The check-in was hampered by a group of drunken local Essex women arriving in a gaudy, pink-coloured stretch limo, on a "Hen's Night" celebration, and they virtually overwhelmed the person who single-handed took care of their unfortunate lack of comprehension and hotel check-in etiquette. Having waited for 45 minutes whilst these unfortunates were sorted, my room featured a king-sized bed with a very comfortable mattress and an assortment of soft and firm pillows. The room had a large Flat Screen TV, with Pay Movies, sitting atop a large chest of drawers, a full-sized office desk, plus a small dining table and chair. The bathroom has a shower/bath combination but was large and functional. The restaurant food was quite good (breakfast was a little disappointing) and the restaurant staff, room service and breakfast staff are all worthy of mention as friendly, and willing to please.This is not, in my opinion a four star hotel, but is worthy of a recommendation because of its comfort, location (handy to M25 - 45 mins to London) and Restaurant staff.

Room Tip: No elevators so make sure you are ground floor and close to reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HoneyandPaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Stayed in July 2013. Easy hotel to get to by road, plenty of parking (free for some guests) or small daily charge. We hopped into central London by tube on the Central Line - a days travel-card is just less than £9 from Theydon Bois (parking £2 at weekends) or Loughton each about a seven or eight minute drive from the hotel. Central line is perfect for the West End.
Hotel was very clean, spacious rooms and decent leisure centre. Breakfast was first class, loads of choice from traditional to continental, buffet service but plenty also cooked to order. Very polite and attentive staff throughout. Good pools and leisure centre/gym open to guests (free) of the hotel.
If travelling into central London, allow 30-40 minutes off peak and best to commute after 9.30am.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trudledoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights. All Ok. Breakfast fine, freshly cooked eggs are welcome. Rooms are fine although can be a long walk from reception.
Swimming facilities are fine, swimming area was warm and long enough.
Dinner was a bit disappointing, limited menu. Advertised wine tasting and daily specials were not offered.
Hotel staff friendly.
A rip off charging extra for parking. Plenty of room on road outside.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leedsdave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

We stayed at this hotel as we were attending a family members wedding at another venue.

We arrived at 11.30am (following a two hour car journey to get there) and although we knew we were very early to check in, after explaining that the wedding we were attending was at 3pm and would need to get ready for this, the staff were extremely helpful in getting our room ready and allowing us to check in earlier than the usual 3pm. The meet and greet lady was very accommodating with our needs and with the offer of free refreshments on arrival on such a hot day was very welcoming!!

We booked a family room which was spacious and clean and we also used the leisure facilities (swimming pool). The breakfast was very good with a lot of variety.

The hotel is ideally located off the M25 but not very close to town centre or any shops. Although there was a couple of pubs not too far, but nothing within walking distance.

We would definitely stay there again if we were visiting Essex in the future.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waltham Abbey
3.8 mi away
Cheshunt Marriott Hotel
Cheshunt Marriott Hotel
#1 of 1 in Broxbourne
662 reviews
3.7 mi away
De Vere Theobalds Estate
5.4 mi away
Hallmark Hotel London Chigwell Prince Regent
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 mi away
Hanbury Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club
3.2 mi away
Travelodge Cheshunt
Travelodge Cheshunt
#1 of 2 in Cheshunt
315 reviews
12.9 mi away
De Rougemont Manor
De Rougemont Manor
#3 of 4 in Brentwood
714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waltham Abbey Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waltham Abbey Marriott Hotel

Property: Waltham Abbey Marriott Hotel
Address: Old Shire Lane, Waltham Abbey EN9 3LX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Waltham Abbey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Waltham Abbey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Waltham Abbey Marriott Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a blend of relaxed elegance and modern convenience at the Waltham Abbey Marriott Hotel. Enjoy spacious accommodations, helpful amenities and easy accessibility to Essex and Central London. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Waltham Abbey Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Waltham Abbey
Waltham Abbey Marriott Hotel Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing