We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice massage at Spa but poor service at Bar” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Waltham Abbey Marriott Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Waltham Abbey Marriott Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Waltham Abbey
Ilford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice massage at Spa but poor service at Bar”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

This review is based on my experience for a day spa package. We did not stay in any of the room so can not comment on that.

On arrival we were directed to the Spa. We were greeted by friendly staff at the spa that sorted everything for us- although it would have been helpful to have been told that we needed £1 for the locker.

The massage was great- was in a lovely room too! The shower areas were grubby and could do with a refurbishing. Disappointing also that the steam room was not working due to vandalism.

The 2 course meal service at the bar was very poor- whilst the food was ok it took almost 1.5 hours to have the 1st courses of our lunch. This was after us having to remind staff to serve us and unfortunately after our 1st course we had to chase our dessert! This is not something I expect from a leading brand hotel. We were also told at the start to take a seat and that we would be given menus by one of the bar staff. It would have been nice to have been told/explained that there wasn't a different menu for the spa package, and in fact we could choose from the standard menu. When our drinks order was taken, we were told what we could choose from the menu on the table. My wife asked for another menu so we didn't have to share across the table however an additional menu never arrived. They didn't have the ice tea I had requested. Our drinks were then served to us and then we were just abandoned! No waiter in sight. I had to get up to the bar and ask if we were supposed to order at the bar as we had been sitting there for a while. The bar staff responded in a blunt tone by saying they can come and serve us or we can order at the bar- no apology for just being left and ignored!

Nice massage but the hotel overall lacks in customer service training (excluding spa staff)- very off putting!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DSankhla08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WalthamAbbeyMarriott, Director of Sales at Waltham Abbey Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear DSankhla08

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel following your recent visit.

I am sorry to hear that you experienced some challenges with regards to the service in our lounge bar following your spa treatment. Whilst it is disappointing to hear I do appreciate your comments as they help us to address areas where we can improve our service.

Thank you for your positive comments with regards to our Spa hosts and I am pleased you enjoyed your treatments. We do hope to welcome you back to the Waltham Abbey Marriott in the near future.
Yours sincerely,

Caroline Jenkins
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

684 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    149
    264
    143
    65
    63
See reviews for
149
188
25
182
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Iver, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

We stayed overnight in this hotel in order to get up early to see the Tour pass through Epping Forest.
It was a great Marriott (as usual) but it would appear that normally the restaurant does not open on a Sunday so service was a trifle sparse. The staff were however excellent and tried their hardest

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank peter g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

We had our wedding reception here 15 years ago 10th August, We are both from the area but live in Worcester so when we visit we try to stay at this lovely hotel, our last visit was 25th july for my father in laws 80th birthday which was held at the hotel, we arrived friday night and told the very friendly receptionist at it was our anniversary soon she very kindly up graded us to a executive room as always very clean and the beds are to die for, knock at the door champagne cocktails chocolates and strawberries delivered by a very friendly waiter from the hotel! Car park paid and papers we didn't order taken straight of our bill! Would I recomend this hotel 110% yes!

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Moira B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

We went to the Marriott hotel for lunch and coffee and it was very nice,we had sandwiches which were well presented,it was very relaxing and comfortable after walking around the town centre,staff were very pleasant and welcoming, plenty of seating as well

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 15MaryT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Great Yarmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
189 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 244 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

We stayed at the hotel for 3 nights. We found the hotel side of the business to be excellent. We were upgraded to a junior suite, which was superb. We also found all the staff in the hotel to be friendly, efficient and they made us feel we were welcome, valued guests. The only issue that stopped me giving this review 5 stars is that our newspaper order was consistently got wrong, and an allowance towards dinner on the first night was not recorded on our account until the 3rd time of asking.

One word of warning. The restaurant can be very up and down, but I am not including that in a review about the hotel side of the business, as I will review the restaurant separately

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TommoNorfolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
180 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

If I was to write this review based on my check-in experience which was incredibly bad, I would be giving a bad report, however the Waltham Abbey Marriott Hotel whilst a looking a little aged is a value-for-money, comfortable North of London hotel. The check-in was hampered by a group of drunken local Essex women arriving in a gaudy, pink-coloured stretch limo, on a "Hen's Night" celebration, and they virtually overwhelmed the person who single-handed took care of their unfortunate lack of comprehension and hotel check-in etiquette. Having waited for 45 minutes whilst these unfortunates were sorted, my room featured a king-sized bed with a very comfortable mattress and an assortment of soft and firm pillows. The room had a large Flat Screen TV, with Pay Movies, sitting atop a large chest of drawers, a full-sized office desk, plus a small dining table and chair. The bathroom has a shower/bath combination but was large and functional. The restaurant food was quite good (breakfast was a little disappointing) and the restaurant staff, room service and breakfast staff are all worthy of mention as friendly, and willing to please.This is not, in my opinion a four star hotel, but is worthy of a recommendation because of its comfort, location (handy to M25 - 45 mins to London) and Restaurant staff.

Room Tip: No elevators so make sure you are ground floor and close to reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HoneyAndPaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge
Level Contributor
110 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

Stayed in July 2013. Easy hotel to get to by road, plenty of parking (free for some guests) or small daily charge. We hopped into central London by tube on the Central Line - a days travel-card is just less than £9 from Theydon Bois (parking £2 at weekends) or Loughton each about a seven or eight minute drive from the hotel. Central line is perfect for the West End.
Hotel was very clean, spacious rooms and decent leisure centre. Breakfast was first class, loads of choice from traditional to continental, buffet service but plenty also cooked to order. Very polite and attentive staff throughout. Good pools and leisure centre/gym open to guests (free) of the hotel.
If travelling into central London, allow 30-40 minutes off peak and best to commute after 9.30am.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Trudledoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waltham Abbey
3.7 mi away
Cheshunt Marriott Hotel
Cheshunt Marriott Hotel
#1 of 1 in Broxbourne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 634 reviews
1.4 mi away
Premier Inn Waltham Abbey Hotel
Premier Inn Waltham Abbey Hotel
#1 of 2 in Waltham Abbey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 572 reviews
5.4 mi away
Hallmark Hotel London Chigwell Prince Regent
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 mi away
Hanbury Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club
3.7 mi away
De Vere Theobalds Estate
3.7 mi away
Premier Inn Loughton/Buckhurst Hill Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waltham Abbey Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waltham Abbey Marriott Hotel

Property: Waltham Abbey Marriott Hotel
Address: Old Shire Lane, Waltham Abbey EN9 3LX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Waltham Abbey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Waltham Abbey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Waltham Abbey Marriott Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a blend of relaxed elegance and modern convenience at the Waltham Abbey Marriott Hotel. Enjoy spacious accommodations, helpful amenities and easy accessibility to Essex and Central London. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Marriott, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Superbreak UK, Agoda, Hotel.de, HRS and TravelUp so you can book your Waltham Abbey Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Waltham Abbey
Waltham Abbey Marriott Hotel Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing