We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great activities for children”

Epping Forest District Museum
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Epping Forest District Museum is a family friendly museum. Come and explore the fascinating history of the Epping Forest District. Enjoy our displays and hands on activities. Full access to all floors. See our website for details of special exhibitions, events and activities throughout the year.
Useful Information: Stairs / lift, Activities for older children, Activities for young children, Lockers / storage, Bathroom facilities, Wheelchair access, Baby buggy parking
Essex
Level Contributor
114 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Great activities for children”
Reviewed 17 August 2013

I found myself with a very bored 9-year old last week and took him over to Waltham Abbey for a run around the park, to burn off some energy. He wanted to go to the toilet and we popped into the Museum and found they had a Tudor event going on. They are so friendly there, and I was grateful to be able to sit down and leave my grandson playing with other children and his granddad while I went out to the garden and enjoyed a bit of peace and quiet in the sunshine. The best bit was, it is all free! The museum is only small, but it is packed to the rafters with local history displayed in an interesting way and there is a great atmosphere there.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank happyessextraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    6
    1
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Chatham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
74 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“All the best things in small packages!”
Reviewed 6 August 2013 via mobile

What a fantastic little museum! We were visiting Waltham abbey en route and chose a Tuesday as it is market day ( not the best of markets though) and also the church. We found the museum by accident and although we were too early to participate in the reasonably priced holiday activities, the children loved taking their explorer's bucket around the museum. This consisted if things like artefacts, magnifying glass, torch and tweezers! They also had pith helmets to wear. They enjoyed playing in the old fashioned kitchen area and dressing up. There were lots of colouring pencils for drawing. Very helpful lady on the admission desk. I enjoyed the wall of fame. Not a long visit but great for part of a morning's visit to Waltham Abbey.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank victoria s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waltham Abbey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good little museum”
Reviewed 29 July 2013

This is quite good for a town museum. It is very small but I believe it is to be extended due to lottery funding which will be a great thing. Well worth a visit if you are in the town.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank janet E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waltham Abbey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“good for kids”
Reviewed 23 July 2013

they have diffen thing going on but they are always happy and helpful and the kids love to make things or go in there gardren

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Annemarie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Epping Forest District Museum also viewed

 
Waltham Abbey, Essex
 

Been to Epping Forest District Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing