We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“TOO HOT FOR COMFORT”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Waltham Abbey Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Waltham Abbey
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Stayed one night at this hotel and neither myself nor husband slept at all. The temperature in the room was unbearable with the thermometer registering 29 degrees c, at 2am. In addition the window did not open enough to allow in any fresh air. Breakfast was very meagre, cold and unappetizing and not at all up to Premier Inn standards. This hotel does not have air conditioning and I would not stay there again in summer. Under the hotel's 'good night sleep guarantee' we were offered a full refund.

Room Tip: Do not stay here in hot weather unless the management has installed some long awaited air conditioni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Belle321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhitbreadHotels, Online Customer Service at Premier Inn Waltham Abbey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel. It really matters to us that our guests enjoy every aspect of their stay. We sincerely apologise that on this occasion our hotel did not meet your expectations. We are however, pleased to learn that you were refunded in line with our Good Night Guarantee. Your feedback is very much appreciated as it enables us to improve standards. Thank you once again for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (667)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

362 - 368 of 667 reviews

Reviewed 7 August 2014

Stayed here before so booking again was not a worry but a few points, i can not work out why the room charges vary so much.

I was charged £85 for Monday night and £40 for Tuesday night WHY ?

The rooms are very nice and i have not had a problem before however this time i found the toilet to be leaking so mentioned it to the front desk who were aware of the problem already but the maintenance guy would not be in until Tuesday but as they were fully booked i could not be moved to another room. Not really a big deal but if they knew i should not have been put in the room or at the very least i should have been told.

The room was VERY hot and i see the other reviews however what the others do not say is if they got REFUNDED.

I asked at the desk about the goodnight sleep guarantee because i did not have a good night and the girl said "no problem i will refunded you and your other party members" and true to her word i was refunded and so were the other group with me

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Thomas W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

In cooler temperatures, this hotel would be very good. The rooms have been tastefully refurbished, very comfortable bed, spacious car park (with no charge, unlike the Marriott close by!) and the staff were helpful and friendly.

Unfortunately though we stayed on the hottest night of the year and with no air con this did affect our stay. Fans were provided but these couldn't cope adequately with alleviating the problems. The restaurant was also short-staffed at breakfast that day which meant the staff were rushed off their feet trying to keep up with demand.

That said, we would happily stay at this hotel again. We were advised that air con is soon to be installed and it's unlikely that the weather will be so hot again any way. This is a very comfortable, reasonably priced hotel and the staff couldn't have worked harder under unusual and difficult circumstances.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank queen_mary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

Very hot rooms however friendly staff who were so helpful made up for this in part. My room wasn't too hot but others I was with had very warm rooms and the temperature gauge didn't seem to work. Staff tried to help us organise taxis and minibus hire. They also tried to put our rooms close to each other

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smurfette84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Stayed here as a base for a family short break to London. The hotel is in a fantastic location, 10 minute drive to underground station (Loughton, zone 6, £5 all day parking), 20 minute drive to White Hart Lane, 5 minute drive into Waltham Abbey (beautiful, big Tesco, cheap petrol). Free on site parking, good pub on site and another nice one a 5 min walk away. Staff were knowledgeable (man on reception gives great tips on area), and friendly (Karen in particular was a favourite with my girls). No noise from inside or out. Room was immaculate and well equipped. Was very warm, but fans were in each room and am not going to criticise the lovely weather we had! Would recommend this hotel as one of the best examples of a Premier Inn I have experienced.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Crossweasel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Used the hotel as a stop-over en-route home from France. We've used Premier Inn as a family on many occasions and mostly they are excellent. Rooms have been re-furbished and are of good quality, just TOO HOT! Admittedly the weather was hot outside, however there is no air-con in the rooms, windows only open a couple of inches and cheap fan provided by the hotel provided no relief. There were 4 of us in the room and temp was already at 29 when we arrived and never lowered, hotel were supplying sheets for beds for use instead of duvets but this provided little relief - surprisingly the hallways appeared to have aircon and we ended up holding the door open to try to cool down. Room was spotless, only thing that let it down was the used sticky plaster stuck to the shower wall - yuck.
We enjoyed dinner with friends in the adjoining restaurant, used our Tesco vouchers and food was pretty good. Breakfast was a different story - complete disaster and honestly the worst PI breakfast experience we've had. Restaurant was exceptionally busy and staff clearly couldn't cope with the numbers, large queue for tables, dirty tables and spilt food everywhere. We were shown to a hastly cleared table with little or no instruction on how the breakfast process worked, lucky we'd been to a PI previously. Only one toaster and huge queue, no bread, no fruit juice and queue formed for this. Seemed to be a constant queue for hot water - we didn't bother waiting for this. When food came it was sparse and not as ordered, they missed items and mixed others up - also overhead the table beside us complain that their complete order was wrong! Usually we would have complained but to be honest it wasn't going to get us anywhere on the day, the staff clearly wouldn't have been interested.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank CourtneyFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

This Premeir Inn hotel and the rooms within in it were unbearably hot. There is clearly a fault with the building's insulation which creates very high temperatures. I couldn't sleep well either night I was there. Premeir Inn MUST do something about this - many other guests were complaining. The fans they supply don't help very much at all.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brymac9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhitbreadHotels, Online Customer Service at Premier Inn Waltham Abbey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel. At Premier Inn we endeavour to ensure all our guests have a quiet stay in a comfortable environment and do apologise that on this occasion we failed to provide this. Please be assured your comments has been noted and will be followed up with the Management Team at our hotel. Your feedback is very much appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you back to Premier Inn in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waltham Abbey
1.4 mi away
Waltham Abbey Marriott Hotel
Waltham Abbey Marriott Hotel
#2 of 2 in Waltham Abbey
792 reviews
1.1 mi away
Premier Inn London Enfield Hotel
2.5 mi away
Travelodge Cheshunt
Travelodge Cheshunt
#1 of 2 in Cheshunt
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express London - Chingford - North Circular
3.2 mi away
Travelodge London Enfield Hotel
3.2 mi away
Premier Inn Loughton/Buckhurst Hill Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Waltham Abbey Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Waltham Abbey Hotel

Address: Premier Inn Sewardstone Road | The Grange, Waltham Abbey EN9 3QF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Waltham Abbey
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Waltham Abbey
Price Range: £43 - £81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Waltham Abbey Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Close to the natural wonders of Gunpowder Park and Waltham Abbey Gardens, with easy links to London. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Waltham Abbey Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Waltham Abbey Hotel Waltham Abbey
Premier Inn Waltham Abbey Hotel Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing