We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Family Italian”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Flying Pasta

Flying Pasta
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, View, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Groups, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Stanford-Le-Hope, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Family Italian”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

Came here on a recommendation and we were not disappointed. Food was fantastic and great value for money with generous portions. Every dish we ordered (including calamari , spaghetti marinara, pizza, monkfish and skate) was delicious. The staff were very helpful particularly the lady patron who was extremely welcoming and helpful suggesting dishes and offering to provide smaller portions for the children. The whole restaurant was buzzing and although they were very busy at no point did we feel at all rushed. We also noted that there is a great set menu on offer with 3 or 4 choices per course (starter, main and dessert) which at £15.95 is a real bargain. We will most definitely be back for more!!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GeorgieN_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

395 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    271
    86
    14
    12
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Great selection”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

Nice little Restaurant. Good selection of dishes, good services, good value. When here with friends but would go back again with the kids.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ferrytravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Nice start to an evening at the cliff theatre”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

This is my second visit to this restaurant and will not be my last. Staff are very helpful food is good portions are plentiful. Wines and food reasonably priced.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Denise D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
essex
Level Contributor
59 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Lives up to its Excellent Reputation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

A very popular restaurant located in the arches on Shorefield Rd, Westcliff that we have patronised for a long time. The restaurant has an excellent reputation which it justly deserves with a great selection of italian dishes supported by an excellent wine list.

The atmosphere is very mediterranean with lots of chatter and laughter - one could be forgiven for thinking they were in an italian resort when looking out of the window at the views of the Thames Estuary.

Our biggest difficultly is deciding on what to eat because every time we pick something we feel we are missing out on what we havent chosen!!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank keith12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“So overrated - mushy pasta, very bland”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014

I have been here twice now, the first time was ok but the second time was terrible. The ambience is nice enough and the staff are friendly but I didn't find them to be very efficient. The is a set menu option which is good value but I just found the food to be very bland. The lasagne had next to no taste and the pasta sheets were overcooked and mushy. The vegetable accompaniments tasted as though they were a few days old and had just been reheated when they really should have been thrown away – I thought the garlic bread tasted a bit off too. The mussels did not taste fresh and left a funny taste in my mouth. The dessert was tasty and the portion sizes are generous but if you want an authentic, flavourful Italian meal then I would suggest going elsewhere. We will absolutely not be returning.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank KE2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Flying Pasta also viewed

Westcliff-on-Sea, Southend-on-Sea
Westcliff-on-Sea, Southend-on-Sea
 
Westcliff-on-Sea, Southend-on-Sea
Leigh-on Sea, Southend-on-Sea
 

Been to Flying Pasta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing