We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Afternoon Tea for £10.95”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Muthu Westcliff Hotel
Reviewed 27 September 2013

Don't go to this hotel if you are disabled. I had Afternoon Tea with a group of friends. There were 6 of us. Unfortunately there are steps up to the front door with no slope for me to get up with my walking frame. I had to ring the bell at the front of the Hotel and then walk up the hill at the side of the hotel to find the door in. I was then led in a maze of corridors which was probably the tradesmen's entrance until I finally got to the restaurant to meet up with my friends. Talk about feeling like a second class citizen!!

We were given 2 plates of sandwiches, scones and tiny cakes which meant that there were not enough cakes for us all to sample each mouthful. One of our party asked for some more so that we could all enjoy one of each. They obviously had to be defrosted but we eventually got enough cakes. The scone was home-made and came with cream and jam. The sandwiches were pleasant and there was a good variety. The tea was hot but we had to ask for more milk as insufficient had been put on the table for 6 and one of our party drank her tea black. We felt that the items brought up to us had obviously been out of a fridge for some time as they were quite soft and squidgy.

Some effort could have been made to home bake the tiny cakes as they were obviously just defrosted frozen ones. You can get much better afternoon teas than this. You can get a better tea over the road at the Cliffs for less money. They obviously make no effort to cater for disabled people. Wiould I go again - definitely not!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank patricia36155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reservations W, Manager at Muthu Westcliff Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2016

thank you for your review we take note of your comments
with regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (677)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

536 - 542 of 677 reviews

Reviewed 23 September 2013

My wife and I had a lovely time staying at this hotel. Enjoyed the theatre and a lovely evening at the casino. Topped with a lovely meal at the Hotel. Room was comfortable and amazing sea views. Definitely highly recommend to nybody staying in the Westcliff area to stay at this hotel.

Room Tip: Great Location for the Theatre!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Natalie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestMng, Reception Manager at Muthu Westcliff Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

Dear Natalie,

Thank you so much for your kind comments. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at The Westcliff Hotel.

We look forward to welcome you back soon!

Kind Regards,

Samanta Liugiene
Reception Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2013

Reception and public areas very welcoming. There was only a small double room vacant which was as it's description - small. The bathroom was tiny, nowhere to put toiletries apart from on top of cistern. Apart from that, the bed was comfortable and there was a side view of the sea from the window. We had both the breakfast and evening meal and found the food excellent. Staff were all very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rambler1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestMng, Reception Manager at Muthu Westcliff Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review. I am pleased to hear that you had a comfortable stay and enjoyed the dinner and breakfast buffet in the morning. We will pass your comments to our Head Chef.

Samanta Liugiene
Reception Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2013

Was booked this hotel by a friend for a wedding. Read the reviews - yes the lift is very small - but this isnt really a problem, the room we were in was very small ( our friends were in the one next door which was much bigger ) and the furniture was dated, but it was clean and everything there we could need - including an iron board and iron and amenity tray for tea and coffee etc. the staff were very friendly and accomodating. We had a problem with the taps being too big for the little sink - which resulted in getting soaked every time we turned a tap on! Also the springs in the mattress were very noisy and every time my husband turned over the noise of the "boinging" woke me up - its a good job we weren't on our honeymoon!!!! The breakfast was excellent - however we have stayed in better for much less. One night was ok, but I wouldnt have wanted to stay there for much longer in the room we were in.

Room Tip: if you have a problem with stairs - do mention it so that you can get a room that doesnt involve sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank delard50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestMng, Reception Manager at Muthu Westcliff Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2013

Dear Mrs Delard,

Thank you for taking your time to write to us. We passed your kind comments on to our Management and the Maintenance Manager.

Hope we could welcome you back in the future.

Samanta Liugiene
Reception Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

We stayed at Westcliff over the bank holiday weekend in august and had our wedding there. The public areas have been refurbished and are well presented. The rooms are older in decoration and slightly old-fashioned, but clean and have all usual amentities. The Estuary suite has a great bathroom and comfortable beds. The breakfast is well cooked, good choice, self-service (English) and the staff friendly and efficient. The food at the hotel has been excellent everytime we've eaten there. We also ordered pizza one evening and they were very helpful. The key thing for the hotel is the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff. They consistently helped, resolved any problems that arose and did so with a smile. Can highly recommend this hotel.

As a note, a reviewer below states that the hotel inspector was required and complains about the breakfast and staff was actually at the hotel when we were and the staff were helpful and polite and the customer less so. Also, the noise came from one particular wedding party (not ours, I hasten to add) - which was not something the hotel could control.

Room Tip: Estuary Suite has good views and a great whirlpool bath!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sunshineliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestMng, Reception Manager at Muthu Westcliff Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2013

Dear Mr & Mrs Kerr,

Thank you so much for your kind comments. We were so delighted to have you as our guests. Congratulations once again and hope you had a wonderful honeymoon!!!!

Kind Regards

Samanta Liugiene
Reception Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

For me it doesn't worth the money (85£ for a twin - apparently the last room left).
Everying in the hotel (room's furniture, restaurant, even the bar's glasses) was old and worn out. The room wasn't particularly clean.
Breakfast was ok but there wasn't not much choise (just english breakfast, no continental option)
Staff was ok.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank macredbowl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reservations W, Manager at Muthu Westcliff Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2016

thank you for your review we take note of your comments
with regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2013

Mixed reviews , check in was average not friendly , it's a bit of a mis match of furniture some old some new some just not great as it was out of place , it has a lift but very small and very odd . The place was full of elderly coach travellers . The room a twin not bad but if I say the bathroom was small ...... To use the loo you had to hold your arms up high and rest on the towel rail , the ink was hidden behind the door and the space to small to brush your teeth in as no room for your elbow , the shower good power but major attack of the shower curtain due to space you have to stand sideways just too shower . On check out I mentioned it in jest but the receptionist didn't even look up . My advice stay in the Parkinn.

Stayed: September 2013
Thank Jules C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reservations W, Manager at Muthu Westcliff Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2016

thank you for your review we take note of your comments w
with regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Westcliff-on-Sea
0.7 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Palace Southend-on-Sea
Park Inn by Radisson Palace Sout...
#12 of 20 in Southend-on-Sea
1,295 reviews
2.1 mi away
Roslin Beach Hotel
Roslin Beach Hotel
#2 of 2 in Thorpe Bay
1,775 reviews
1.3 mi away
Premier Inn Southend On Sea (Eastern Esplanade) Hotel
Premier Inn Southend On Sea (Eas...
#4 of 20 in Southend-on-Sea
882 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ilfracombe House Hotel
Ilfracombe House Hotel
#9 of 20 in Southend-on-Sea
292 reviews
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Southend
Holiday Inn Southend
#7 of 20 in Southend-on-Sea
832 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Last Post
The Last Post
#5 of 20 in Southend-on-Sea
339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Muthu Westcliff Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Muthu Westcliff Hotel

Address: 18-20 Westcliff Parade, Westcliff-on-Sea, Southend-on-Sea SS0 7QW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Southend-on-Sea > Westcliff-on-Sea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Westcliff-on-Sea
Price Range: £50 - £98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Muthu Westcliff Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This grand, Victorian hotel is close to the seafront with spectacular views overlooking the Thames Estuary. It has recently undergone a refurbishment and now provides individually decorated rooms with a brasserie restaurant serving international cuisine. The stylish and modern rooms offer satellite TV and private bathrooms with toiletries. There are tea/coffee making facilities for guests, as well as hairdryers and an iron and ironing board. Some rooms also boast views over the Thames Estuary. Free on street parking is available for guests, while Adventure Island theme park and Southend's pier; the longest in the world, are both 10 minutes' walk away. The Cliffs Pavilion music venue is a 2-minute walk, and The Royals Shopping Centre is 10 minutes' walk. There are 2 Rail Stations within 0.5 Miles distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Stayforlong S.L., Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Muthu Westcliff Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westcliff Hotel On Sea
Muthu Westcliff Hotel Westcliff-On-Sea, Southend-On-Sea

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing