We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Muthu Westcliff Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Ilfracombe House Hotel(Southend-on-Sea)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tower Hotel Apartments(Southend-on-Sea)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Gleneagles Guesthouse(Westcliff-on-Sea)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Seven Hotel(Southend-on-Sea)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Welbeck Hotel(Westcliff-on-Sea)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Last Post(Southend-on-Sea)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Terrace Hotel(Westcliff-on-Sea)
View Hotel
View Hotel
Southend Guest House(Westcliff-on-Sea)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Reviews (695)
Filter reviews
695 results
Traveller rating
199
247
156
60
33
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
199
247
156
60
33
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssea viewcliffs pavilionstreet parkinglarge bathroombuffet breakfasttwin roomafternoon teabooked this hotelwould stay againthames estuaryone night staywedding partylovely viewsaturday nightwedding receptionsandwicheshigh street
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
550 - 555 of 695 reviews
Reviewed 11 October 2013

Stayed here before going to see a show at the cliffs pavilion, the receptionist upgraded us for free as it was our anniversary, we got a seafront facing room which was lovely. Hotel has a great charm to it but it is not dated, only problem was that radiator in the bathroom was next to the loo and was warm on your leg!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carley O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestMng, Reception Manager at Muthu Westcliff Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

Dear Carley,

Thank you for taking your time to share your kind comments with us. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at The Westcliff Hotel. Congratulations once again on your anniversary. We will pass your comments with regards to the bathroom facilities to our Maintenance Manager.

We look forward to welcome you back in near future.

Kind Regards,

Samanta Liugiene
Reception Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

There was only one bad point about this hotel but it was also a major point and that is the noise levels! There were 2 functions in this hotel on the night we stayed, which meant that we had very loud music pumping up into our bedroom till 1am. Then as the hotel is very old, which means a lot of the doors fit very snuggly into the door frames, we were then subjected to banging doors for the next hour as the guests all finished drinking up and returned to their rooms.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsTMc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestMng, Reception Manager at Muthu Westcliff Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

Dear Mrs TMC,

I would like to sincerely apologise that you had a less than perfect experience with us. I can assure you that the management team and I share your concerns about the noise issues you experienced during your visit as it is not the usual standard of comfort that we aim to provide for our guests.

I cannot excuse the lack of control over the noise issues from other guests during the night and the disruption to your stay. I have spoken directly to all the teams involved and corrective action has been taken to ensure that these incidents do not happen again.

Please accept my apologies for the inconvenience that the problems caused you on your recent visit. I would like to thank you for providing us with your feedback as it allows us to continually strive to improve the experience at the Westcliff Hotel.

I hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Samanta Liugiene
Reception Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013 via mobile

Booked a table for 8 of us including young children for their Carvery, was seated on a lovely big table and the last went and got highchairs and set them up for us, was very quick to take our drinks order and return with them aswell. We booked a table as late as possible so wasn't expecting the amount of food they had which was very nice, the children's plate of food were huge and very good value for money and enjoyed by all. With the choice of meats, potatoes, veg and sauces there was a good variety, very generous with the serving of meat. You are only allowed to go up once but the very nice waitress said if there was anything we needed she would get it for us. After a table of very full and happy people the bill was not disappointed at £9 per person and £5 per child which is very reasonable, will be back again and we came from a recommendation and will be telling others to go as well.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Hannah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestMng, Reception Manager at Muthu Westcliff Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

Dear Hannah,

Thank you very much for your kind review. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed our Sunday Carvery in our Lamplight's Restaurant.

Hope to see you soon

Kind Regards,

Samanta Liugiene
Reception Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013

Don't go to this hotel if you are disabled. I had Afternoon Tea with a group of friends. There were 6 of us. Unfortunately there are steps up to the front door with no slope for me to get up with my walking frame. I had to ring the bell at the front of the Hotel and then walk up the hill at the side of the hotel to find the door in. I was then led in a maze of corridors which was probably the tradesmen's entrance until I finally got to the restaurant to meet up with my friends. Talk about feeling like a second class citizen!!

We were given 2 plates of sandwiches, scones and tiny cakes which meant that there were not enough cakes for us all to sample each mouthful. One of our party asked for some more so that we could all enjoy one of each. They obviously had to be defrosted but we eventually got enough cakes. The scone was home-made and came with cream and jam. The sandwiches were pleasant and there was a good variety. The tea was hot but we had to ask for more milk as insufficient had been put on the table for 6 and one of our party drank her tea black. We felt that the items brought up to us had obviously been out of a fridge for some time as they were quite soft and squidgy.

Some effort could have been made to home bake the tiny cakes as they were obviously just defrosted frozen ones. You can get much better afternoon teas than this. You can get a better tea over the road at the Cliffs for less money. They obviously make no effort to cater for disabled people. Wiould I go again - definitely not!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank patricia36155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reservations W, Manager at Muthu Westcliff Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2016

thank you for your review we take note of your comments
with regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

My wife and I had a lovely time staying at this hotel. Enjoyed the theatre and a lovely evening at the casino. Topped with a lovely meal at the Hotel. Room was comfortable and amazing sea views. Definitely highly recommend to nybody staying in the Westcliff area to stay at this hotel.

Room Tip: Great Location for the Theatre!
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Natalie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestMng, Reception Manager at Muthu Westcliff Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

Dear Natalie,

Thank you so much for your kind comments. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at The Westcliff Hotel.

We look forward to welcome you back soon!

Kind Regards,

Samanta Liugiene
Reception Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews