We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birthday ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Muthu Westcliff Hotel
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Birthday ”
Reviewed 14 December 2013 via mobile

Stayed here again as had booked tickets for cliffs pavilion and having stayed elsewhere last few years of gigs decided to give it another go.

Wow stayed in lovely room (404) will ask for it again as was worth the trek upstairs ... Loved the bath n views are fab ..Ate in restraunt was nice service was very good .. Had breakfast delivered was really good stay wish we'd booked 2 nights ... Next time we book a show we may well stay on .. Thanks

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank abblina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestMng, Reception Manager at Muthu Westcliff Hotel, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your kind review. We are all happy to hear that you had a lovely stay with us and liked our newly refurbished room.

Hope to see you soon

With kind regards

Samanta Liugiene
Reception Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

590 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    162
    222
    128
    52
    26
See reviews for
96
235
25
88
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
130 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2013

I stayed here for work and enjoyed my stay. Parking was great, plenty of space. My room was OK, enough room for me, clean, no complaints. The real gem here is the food. The food is under priced for the quality you get. I paid something like £13 for a three course meal which should of been about £25 anywhere else. Good, tasty food. The breakfast buffet was also good. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan_H0pkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestMng, Reception Manager at Muthu Westcliff Hotel, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind comments. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Look forward to welcome you back in near future.

With kind regards

Samanta Liugiene
Reception Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013 via mobile

I had a fabulous evening at the Dean Martin & Elvis tribute evening. I came with 7 girlfriends and 6 of us stayed the night. I was in a lovely suite, and was lucky enough to have a double bed to myself. The room was spotless, the bathroom was amazing. My only moan would be, when spent lots of money on a room and keep the battered old bathroom door. The room was warm and very quiet. Breakfast was delish, hot, tasty and lots of it. We are going to book to come again next year for our Christmas celebration, thank you for a great time...xxxxxx

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Essextwinkleangel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestMng, Reception Manager at Muthu Westcliff Hotel, responded to this review, 7 December 2013
Thank you very much for your kind commets. We are so pleased to hear that you had a great time with us.

Look forward to welcome you back next year!

Have a lovely Christmas!

Samanta Liugiene
Reception Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2013

We've booked this hotel as our wedding venue for next year. I'll write a full review after the event but I have to say that Kim Midson, the events co-coordinator has been fantastic. She has made the planning of our special day stress free and truly nothing seems to be too much trouble. Any little query or thought that pops into my head, I'm able to email or call Kim and she always gets back to me same day. Truly fantastic service and I really appreciate it.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Victoria M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestMng, Events Co ordinator at Muthu Westcliff Hotel, responded to this review, 29 November 2013
Thank you very much for your kind review...... its my pleasure to help and advise all my couples... I look forward to seeing you wed in July. Kim :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2013 via mobile

Southends finest hotel. Well that's a joke. If this is the finest I wonder what is the worst? This was our first time to stay at this hotel and unfortunately it will be the last. On arrival the hotel looked very dated from the outside but that was to be expected. However we got inside and the reception and lobby area looked very warm and welcoming. Very modern looking and reassuring, then the problems started. We attempted to check in so one of the front desk staff checked if our room was ready. As she was in the process of doing so a staff member next to her started to lecture us that we were too early as check in started from 1400. We were taken aback considering we had just drove for 3 hours in dreadful weather and were exhausted. So we just dismissed her comments as ignorance. In the meantime the other lady confirmed our room was ready and checked us in. Our room was 110. On the first floor. Once we went up the stairs we suddenly realised that the lovely warm welcoming decor of the lobby and reception were gone. Typical first impression to mislead you into something that's not. All superficial! Our room was freezing cold. It was 0 degrees outside. Surely the house keeping could of had the radiator on low prior to our arrival. Luckily there was a heater from Aldi strapped to the wall which after sometime trying to work out how to work it we got warm. We also turned on the radiator. Then the next thing we noticed was there was only table lamps to light the room. So we had to get ready in dim light. There was no natural light depiste 4 windows in the room as it was blocked by a wall. We turned on the TV and it was fuzzy there was no channels tuned in. We did try and auto tune the TV to no avail. As we were only staying for a night and were out for dinner we didn't care so much. We didn't inform reception as we both new that there would be no one to fix it as no one appeared competent enough and we'd likely wait hours. Furthermore to this you would not swing a cat in the dated ensuite. We could not wash as the shower door was buckled and twisted off the roller track so the doors would not close. If you had a shower the ensuite would flood. Luckily we had wet wipes. Again we didn't inform reception as we knew it would take days to be repaired and we shouldn't have to move rooms! Finally to top it off. As we were checking in we had noticed a lady prancing around with a hard face and a suit on, who we assumed to be a manager or even the proprietor as she had the mail in her hand. It was as we left our room for dinner and headed out the door to go down the stairs we noticed her and a colleague coming up the stairs. So we kindly stood aside to give way and allow them past. Both of them tore past us no acknowledgement or thanks or even a smile. So we knew then how could the place be right if the management or proprietor and staff were ignorant? No customer service whatsoever. We all know it's difficult to work with the public and it can be stressful, however even if it means being false at least be friendly, smile and have manners. That night we sat in the lobby where it was the only place to be lovely and warm with comfortable seating and decor. We should have been in our room! We did laugh as we left our room the next morning to go home. We saw management doing room inspections with the housekeepers. We knew this wasn't a once off so why wasn't the faults in room 110 and probably many others like it picked up on? But then again it was probably an inspection for show and some abidement by the policies and procedures. Something to look good on paper. We rarely complain and are very appreciative but this hotel was a no no. Anyone who rates this hotel as good are clearly not used to much or know what quality is.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Medste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestMng, Reception Manager at Muthu Westcliff Hotel, responded to this review, 24 November 2013
Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for your review; I am sorry to hear of your complaint and will endeavour to write to you in person. Please allow me to aplogise for the dissappointing stay at the hotel, I have informed the Management, corrective action is being taken. It was very disappointing to hear that you do not wish to return and hope that through our improvements you may change your mind.

Kind Regards

Samanta Liugiene
Reception Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Westcliff-on-Sea hotels

London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

We had afternoon tea yesterday at the Westcliff Hotel. The food was very good.
Sandwiches. mince pies, Christmas cake, scones, cream and jam.
The young man that served us was excellent, so friendly, polite and helpful

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TellNerk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestMng, Reception Manager at Muthu Westcliff Hotel, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. I will pass your kind comments to our staff.

We also do Afternoon Tea vouchers so it could be a very nice Christmas present:)

Kind Regards

Samanta Liugiene
Reception Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
189 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013

We've just come back from a 2 night stay here. It's our third visit. We haven't been overly impressed with the hotel previously but there are not many hotels in Southend and the location of this one is pretty good.

We had booked a four poster room because I know these are better than the other ones. We were given 104. It's a corner room with a good view over the front, size was OK nothing special. Disappointingly it has a double bed in it, not the normal king.

The next problem was the shower. The valve was broken, it was either boiling hot or freezing cold. We told reception in the morning, the first reaction was that we didn't know how it worked - sorry we have an identical one at home. So we left it with them. Nothing more was said and it wasn't fixed. No feedback from them at all. So if you stay in room 104 and get burnt, they've known about it since the 16th (at least!).

Off we went to breakfast - the usual cheap buffet. We were not last in but it was completely empty! They did cook us and the people who came in after us a pretty poor breakfast which took about 20 minutes. This is just not good enough. Hotels do buffet breakfasts because they're cheap and easy - at the very least there should be plenty food all the time. The second day there was food - pretty dried up etc.

I will say on the plus side the room was clean and the night porter was very accommodating with drinks late at night.
So I'm afraid we won't be back.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graeme_UK_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestMng, General Manager at Muthu Westcliff Hotel, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
I would like to thank you for your review; I am sorry to hear of your complaint and will endeavour to write to you in person. Please allow me to aplogise for the dissappointing stay at the hotel, I have informed the Maintenance Manager and Head Chef, corrective action is being taken. I will also pass on your comments on to the night porter about his excellent service. It was very disappointing to hear that you do not wish to return and hope that through our improvements you may change your mind.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Westcliff-on-Sea
0.7 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Palace Southend-on-Sea
Park Inn by Radisson Palace Sout...
#12 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
1,161 reviews
2.1 mi away
Roslin Beach Hotel
Roslin Beach Hotel
#1 of 2 in Thorpe Bay
1,450 reviews
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Southend
Holiday Inn Southend
#6 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
747 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Camelia Hotel
Camelia Hotel
#4 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
499 reviews
0.6 mi away
Travelodge Southend on Sea
Travelodge Southend on Sea
#14 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
281 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Last Post
The Last Post
#5 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Muthu Westcliff Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Muthu Westcliff Hotel

Property: Muthu Westcliff Hotel
Address: 18-20 Westcliff Parade, Westcliff-on-Sea, Southend-on-Sea SS0 7QW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Southend-on-Sea > Westcliff-on-Sea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Westcliff-on-Sea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Muthu Westcliff Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This grand, Victorian hotel is close to the seafront with spectacular views overlooking the Thames Estuary. It has recently undergone a refurbishment and now provides individually decorated rooms with a brasserie restaurant serving international cuisine. The stylish and modern rooms offer satellite TV and private bathrooms with toiletries. There are tea/coffee making facilities for guests, as well as hairdryers and an iron and ironing board. Some rooms also boast views over the Thames Estuary. Free on street parking is available for guests, while Adventure Island theme park and Southend's pier; the longest in the world, are both 10 minutes' walk away. The Cliffs Pavilion music venue is a 2-minute walk, and The Royals Shopping Centre is 10 minutes' walk. There are 2 Rail Stations within 0.5 Miles distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Muthu Westcliff Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westcliff Hotel On Sea
Muthu Westcliff Hotel Westcliff-On-Sea, Southend-On-Sea

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing