We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Good Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Muthu Westcliff Hotel
Reviewed 4 February 2014

I stayed here with some colleagues for a night whilst in Southend on business. I was booked into a small double room on the first floor which was adequate for single occupancy but would have been very cramped if there had been two of us in there. The view across the estuary to the Kent coast was excellent and made up for the ill-fitting window.
We had an excellent meal in the restaurant. I chose from the table d'hote menu - good value, well cooked and beautifully presented.
The buffet breakfast was also very good.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
Thank instoreman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestMng, Recetion Manager at Muthu Westcliff Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your comments. We are pleased to hear that you had a good stay.

Look forward to your next visit.

Kind regards,

Samanta Liugiene

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (667)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

501 - 507 of 667 reviews

Reviewed 4 February 2014

Pretty basic but well located for Southend attractions which are not in abundance.
Staff ok but not particularly warm.
Drinks priced extravagantly and bar food average.
It is located close to some really nice restaurants,

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestMng, Reception Manager at Muthu Westcliff Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2014

Dear Customer,

Thank you for taking your time to write to us. We will pass your comments to our staff.

Hopefully we could welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards,

Samanta Liugiene

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

This was our first visit to the Westcliff Hotel but it will not be the last. The rooms were great value, clean, comfortable with great views. The bathrooms were very tastefully done. Then there is the food, the breakfast is superb and you will not leave hungry or disappointed. We had the evening meal on Saturday night and enjoyed the ambiance so much that we stayed 10 minutes past the restaurant closing. The staff were great and did not rush us and appreciated our apologies. We also decided to stay longer and enjoy the Sunday lunch, I have a big appetite and left full having had a food orgasm with every dish. All the staff are smartly presented, helpful and polite with nothing being too much trouble. Staying at the Westcliff Hotel really made our weekend get away relaxing and enjoyable. The staff and owners should be very proud.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steven P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestMng, Reception Manager at Muthu Westcliff Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2014

Dear Steven P,

Thank you for leaving such a nice review from your recent stay. We are delighted you found the rooms clean and comfortable. Also enjoyed your meals in our Lamplights Brasserie.We will pass your kind comments to our staff and management.

We look forward to your visit again in the future.

Kind regards,

Samanta Liugiene
Reception Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2014

An older building which has been updated and offers comfy, warm rooms, late bar and a cracking eat-all-you-like breakfast.
Much more friendly than the Premier Inn type places I normally use and a lot cheaper too.
Didnt use the restaurant for an evening meal so cant comment on that but I suspect that would also be good.
Good views across the Thames estuary to Kent and close enough to the seafront to walk off that huge brekky !
Will make a point of using this hotel when in the area.

Room Tip: Rooms facing across the estuary have a good view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ronny48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestMng, Reception Manager at Muthu Westcliff Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for leaving such a detailed review from your recent stay. We are delighted you found our rooms comfortable and warm and enjoyed the breakfast in the morning.

We look forward to your visit again in the future.

Kind regards,

Samanta Liugiene

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

Just returned from one Saturday night at the Westcliff. Great position overlooking the Thames estuary and along the lovely esplanade of Westcliff. Delightful room, we had chosen a twin bedded, with view. Lovely spacious room, lovely decor, best hotel room in ages? Hotel decor too lovely throughout. Very helpful reception who recommended Leigh on Sea for Saturday afternoon bars, boutique shops and excellent directions to Broadway. One problem was lighting in room was poor - too dim to read by - and lampshades in black do not give enough lighting. Rang reception Saturday evening for an extra lamp but this did not arrive at all, such a shame for what was otherwise a lovely, restful experience. Breakfast buffet hot, excellent and great choice.

Room Tip: Room 201 on front overlooking estuary is spacious, pretty and sound proofed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestMng, Reception Manager at Muthu Westcliff Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2014

Dear Michelle,

Thank you very much for your kind review. We all glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We will pass your comments to our staff and the maintenance manager so he could change the lights in the room.

Look forward to welcome you back in the future

Kind regards,

Samanta Liugiene

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2014

We've just booked The Westcliffe again for the third time - every time we stay we have a wonderful time! We visit Essex as often as we can to see our grandchildren.We always stay at The Westcliffe. The beds are ultra- comfy, the views fantastic and relaxing. Super big flat screen TV on the wall. Whsat's not to like?

We had a front facing room with a sea view. The superior rooms are spacious, and our bathroom was to die for! The staff are friendly and very helpful, the 24 hour room service is great- we ordered a delish cheese sandwich for our little granddaughter and it was all lovely! All fresh food and presented on a platter with posh crisps and all arriving very soon after we'd ordered it. Room service prices are reasonable too.

Truly a home from home!

All the staff in the corridors, bar, restaurants and reception, are smiley and helpful.

The big white building itself is very imposing, stylish, grand and victorian with a newly reburbished bar art deco style. It is really nice.

There is a lift if you don't fancy the stairs, The theatre (Cliffs Pavillion) is within walking distance. It's a short car drive to the centre of Southend or it is within walking distance for many (I have a back condition, so we have to drive in, but I guess its only a five or ten minute walk.) The seafront is right in front of the hotel and you can easily walk down to it through the cliff gardens.
The breakfasts are excellent and it's a buffet style- yum!

We asked if we could leave a pushchair in the lobby for a little while. That was fine- it really felt like the staff were part of our family!
You don't often feel this in the bigger hotels. Bigger hotels, however luxurious, often struggle to create the personal touch. This hotel just has it in buckets.
To sum up, it's got the cosy and stylish ambiance of a boutique hotel, yet is large and magestic too, with all the modern facilities you need. 24 hour room service. 24 hour bar. 24 hour reception. Restaurant with good food. Upgrading is also available. Book it!

Room Tip: The superior rooms are worth paying that bit more for, plus they have discounts on them on booking.c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank saintmaybe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestMng, Reception Manager at Muthu Westcliff Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2014

Thank you very very much for your review. We are all delighted to hear that you always enjoy your stay with us. Could you please let us know under what name you booked your room with us so we could upgrade you in future?

Look forward to welcoming you back at The Westcliff Hotel
Kind regards,

Samanta Liugiene
Reception Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014 via mobile

I'll keep this short-ish as I don't enjoy writing negative reviews, although this is my first for a hotel.

The Westcliff looks lovely from the outside - old yet clean & grande. The lobby's the same. But the room, ohhhhh the room! Dark & dingy with poor lighting. It left little to be desired, and had a terrible smell which lingered the whole time we were there - just the one night thankfully.

After breakfast - which was delicious by the way - I called reception & asked for an extra 45 mins before check out, which was granted. Only to be called several minutes later and told that we must leave the room.

So we did.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Halli B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestMng, Reception Manager at Muthu Westcliff Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments. Soory to hear you had a dissapointing stay. Could you please let us know in which room you stayed as we haven't got your surname on the system.

Kind Regards,

Samanta Liugiene
Reception Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Westcliff-on-Sea
0.7 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Palace Southend-on-Sea
Park Inn by Radisson Palace Sout...
#12 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
1,279 reviews
2.1 mi away
Roslin Beach Hotel
Roslin Beach Hotel
#2 of 2 in Thorpe Bay
1,740 reviews
1.8 mi away
Camelia Hotel
Camelia Hotel
#1 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ilfracombe House Hotel
Ilfracombe House Hotel
#9 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
287 reviews
1.3 mi away
Premier Inn Southend On Sea (Eastern Esplanade) Hotel
Premier Inn Southend On Sea (Eas...
#4 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
864 reviews
0.4 mi away
Gleneagles Guesthouse
Gleneagles Guesthouse
#1 of 5 in Westcliff-on-Sea
306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Muthu Westcliff Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Muthu Westcliff Hotel

Address: 18-20 Westcliff Parade, Westcliff-on-Sea, Southend-on-Sea SS0 7QW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Southend-on-Sea > Westcliff-on-Sea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Westcliff-on-Sea
Price Range: £47 - £82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Muthu Westcliff Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This grand, Victorian hotel is close to the seafront with spectacular views overlooking the Thames Estuary. It has recently undergone a refurbishment and now provides individually decorated rooms with a brasserie restaurant serving international cuisine. The stylish and modern rooms offer satellite TV and private bathrooms with toiletries. There are tea/coffee making facilities for guests, as well as hairdryers and an iron and ironing board. Some rooms also boast views over the Thames Estuary. Free on street parking is available for guests, while Adventure Island theme park and Southend's pier; the longest in the world, are both 10 minutes' walk away. The Cliffs Pavilion music venue is a 2-minute walk, and The Royals Shopping Centre is 10 minutes' walk. There are 2 Rail Stations within 0.5 Miles distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Muthu Westcliff Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westcliff Hotel On Sea
Muthu Westcliff Hotel Westcliff-On-Sea, Southend-On-Sea

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing