We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Muthu Westcliff Hotel
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Came away for a birthday treat. Had a superior room so had a sea view. Room very comfortable with king size bed. Tea and coffee facilities. Bathroom was a little small but compact. Bonus it had a power shower. Only ate breakfast in the hotel which was good. Staff were very attentive. Rooms were warm which was good as the weekend we stayed it was really windy and quite cold. An enjoyable stay. No complaints.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Kathy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestMng, Reception Manager at Muthu Westcliff Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

Dear Kathy,

Thank you for your comments on TripAdvisor. We are glad you had a comfortable and enjoyable stay with us and hope to see you again when your travels bring you back in the area.

Best wishes,
Samanta

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (653)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

458 - 464 of 653 reviews

Reviewed 9 May 2014

Stayed in early May. Parts of the hotel appear recently refurbished. Perhaps the bar could be next as it's something of a seventies throw back. Room of a good size but a small bathroom. Shower in the bath required a step up of circa 2 foot. Tea & coffee making facilities in the room. Staff polite & friendly. Decent cooked buffet breakfast. Plenty of parking available on the quiet 'ish road outside the hotel.

£75 B&B, sea view with free Wifi represented good value

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ElksLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestMng, Reception Manager at Muthu Westcliff Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for a lovely review. We glad you enjoyed your stay with us and thought it was a good value for money.

We would love to welcome you back in near future.

Kind regards,
Samanta

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Stayed at the Westcliff Hotel for a wedding. Staff on the Friday and Saturday really friendly and co-operative. But at breakfast on the Monday, well what a difference. The hotel needs to think about their access for people with disability. Going in around the back and through windy narrow back corridors is not at its best. Plus the lift is so small! Rooms were comfortable enough for the price but could do with a make over.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wendy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestMng, Reception Manager at Muthu Westcliff Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2014

Dear Wendy,

Thank you for your review. I will adress your comments about the disabled access to our management.

Hope to see you soon

Kind regards,
Samanta

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014 via mobile

Quite a late review as I stayed here early last year but better late than never! We stayed in the prittlewell suite, lovely view but apart from that nothing much positive to say! The staff are nice and friendly on reception and in the bar....when there about had to wait 15 mins for a drink one evening. The lift is way to small and a nuisance to operate. The room itself the carpet is stained to high heaven, the glass around the room is cracked, the shower you can just squeeze in but the door doesn't shut properly so when you get out the floor is sopping wet. It was £90 a night so for that much I was expecting better if I'm honest as I've stayed in places twice as cheap but twice as clean, comfortable and more practical! I know it's only a 3 star hotel and it's the first one I've stayed in in a long time but after this I'm definitely sticking to the 4/5. It might of changed since I was last there but I from what I've read over the past year not much has I don't think.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Aled M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestMng, Reception Manager at Muthu Westcliff Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2014

Dear Mr Aled M,

Thank you for taking your time to write to us. Just to let you know The Pritlewell Suite is under refurbishment at the moment so it will look nice and fresh once it is done.

Thank you once again for your comments and hopefully we could welcome you back in the future!

Kind regards,
Samanta Liugiene

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Had I written this on sunday after 1 night I would have been full of praise for this hotel. We stayed for 2 nights (Sat and Sun) on a B&B basis. The breakfast on sunday was fabulous with service very prompt, on Monday the polar opposite was the case. We had to ask for extra food to come out and with one waiter serving the entire restaurant it is not surprising (more staff were available on Sat).

The room was fine however the location of our room could have been better as we had a pushchair and toddler items to move about. Therefor it made total sense for them to allocate us in a room on the 3rd floor and having to carry the lush chair up and downstairs. This hotel was not very child or, I doubt, wheelchair friendly. The lift is so narrow that you can barely get more than 3 people in it 2 with a chair.

Reception staff were very friendly and accommodating which is a big plus however the cleaning staff were not, to the point we had a knock on our door at 09:30 from the cleaner 'just checking to see if we were there. Errrr wait until we checkout to disturb people.

The hotel is about a 15 min walk from the pier in Southend which is a pleasant walk but is a bit of a trek. Overall it wasn't bad but if we go back to Southend we would stay in the Park inn just because its location.

Room Tip: We were in room 316. No view (other than a brick wall) and a real trek with a pushchair. Quiet thou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lloyd B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestMng, Reception at Muthu Westcliff Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2014

Dear Mr Lloyd,

Thank you very much for your review on TripAdvisor. We allocated you in room 316 as you requested a room in a quite position of the hotel. We had a wedding on Saturday too so we didn't want you to be able to hear music playing till early hours.
With regards to the breakfast I do apologise that you didnt receive the service as on Saturday. I will pass your comments to our management and staff.

Please do let us know if you will decide to come back and we will look after all your reservation aspects.

Kind regards,
Samanta Liugiene

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014

The hotel staff in particular Emily and John plus one other, I did not get the name of, were over and above helpful.They made up for the bad humour and attitude of the so called Wedding Planner she was a disgrace from start to finish ( My opinion ) For the disabled if you have a scooter dont bring one larger than a GOGO you will not get in the lift and it is very tight getting through a bendy passage from the side entrance. The only way in not friendly at all.The food was good,the room comfortable but not boutique.But the best part was the MATTRESS was the BEST ever. Could make you forget any problems

Room Tip: Room 302 was good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liz C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestMng, Reception Manager at Muthu Westcliff Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Dear Liz,

Thank you for taking your time to write to us. We will pass your kind comments to John, Emily and the Management.

We would love to welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards,
Reception Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

my daughter got married last friday at westcliff apart from 2 members of staff we were shown great hospitality..the toast master bent over backwards to help us out.. my room was clean and roomy i had a great sleep ..the bed was comfortable and food was lovely .. i would stay again thank you for a lovely time

Room Tip: i think most of the front rooms were the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chriss h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestMng, Reception Manager at Muthu Westcliff Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Dear Chriss,

Thank you very much for a lovely review and once again congratulations to your married daughter. We are so glad you enjoyed yourselves and hopefully we could welcome you back!

Kind Regards,
Reception Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Westcliff-on-Sea
0.7 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Palace Southend-on-Sea
Park Inn by Radisson Palace Sout...
#12 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
1,254 reviews
2.1 mi away
Roslin Beach Hotel
Roslin Beach Hotel
#2 of 2 in Thorpe Bay
1,682 reviews
0.6 mi away
Travelodge Southend on Sea
Travelodge Southend on Sea
#14 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Southend
Holiday Inn Southend
#6 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
804 reviews
1.8 mi away
Camelia Hotel
Camelia Hotel
#1 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
542 reviews
0.4 mi away
Gleneagles Guesthouse
Gleneagles Guesthouse
#1 of 5 in Westcliff-on-Sea
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Muthu Westcliff Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Muthu Westcliff Hotel

Address: 18-20 Westcliff Parade, Westcliff-on-Sea, Southend-on-Sea SS0 7QW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Southend-on-Sea > Westcliff-on-Sea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Westcliff-on-Sea
Price Range: £51 - £104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Muthu Westcliff Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This grand, Victorian hotel is close to the seafront with spectacular views overlooking the Thames Estuary. It has recently undergone a refurbishment and now provides individually decorated rooms with a brasserie restaurant serving international cuisine. The stylish and modern rooms offer satellite TV and private bathrooms with toiletries. There are tea/coffee making facilities for guests, as well as hairdryers and an iron and ironing board. Some rooms also boast views over the Thames Estuary. Free on street parking is available for guests, while Adventure Island theme park and Southend's pier; the longest in the world, are both 10 minutes' walk away. The Cliffs Pavilion music venue is a 2-minute walk, and The Royals Shopping Centre is 10 minutes' walk. There are 2 Rail Stations within 0.5 Miles distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Muthu Westcliff Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westcliff Hotel On Sea
Muthu Westcliff Hotel Westcliff-On-Sea, Southend-On-Sea

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing