We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Seaside Weekend”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Westcliff Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Westcliff Hotel
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Lovely Seaside Weekend”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

I booked the Romantic Getaway package at this hotel for me and my partner on Bank Holiday weekend. For £348 we received the beautiful Hamlet suite for two nights, champagne on ice in the room on arrival, a 3-course dinner, breakfast and afternoon tea. Absolutely brilliant value all round.

Our room was gorgeous and had a comfortable four-poster bed and lovely jacuzzi bath, but what is really great about this place is the service from staff. There was a wedding in the hotel on the Saturday so they must have been extremely busy but they still served us like we were the only people there.

The food was outstanding, we had a lovely bottle of wine and the service of the food and at reception is friendly and that of a much higher-classed hotel.

The sea views are fab, right on top of the Cliffs Pavilion if you come for a show - couldn't fault it. A lovely place.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestMng, Reception Manager at Westcliff Hotel, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Dear Emma,

Thank you very very much for such a lovely review. It is always a pleasure to have such a nice couples like you staying in our hotel:) It makes our work even more enjoyable.

We look forward to welcome you back again!!!

Best wishes
Reception Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

569 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    156
    213
    125
    50
    25
See reviews for
94
227
23
85
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Chigwall
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

We booked an overnight stay after seeing Michael Bolton.
We were greeted by two receptionist,who took our payment up front which is something I have never done before, but not a problem. They were polite and informative. They gave us our cards and said you can use them for the lift???
We found the lift the door opened without the card. We went in and saw that you had to insert your card to press your floor. What we didn't know was as you pressed for the floor an internal door in the lift closes which gave us a scare. After we had found our way through endless turns and stairs we found our room.
The room was clean and tidy ,there were tea and coffee provided. The beds were very comfy. The only negative was the shower I found it hard to adjust the heat or lack of it and ended up having a cold shower. My friend did however manage a hot shower. I think I warmed it for her.
The hotel has a very nice bar area where we had a late drink. The breakfast in the morning was ver nice. There were cereal, fruit and a selection of cooked breakfast also toast and jams. Staff in the bar and restaurant were excellent. Certainly somewhere I would return.

Room Tip: If visiting. The Cliff pavilion it is a perfect place to stay. Also if you wear glasses take them in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shiralee505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestMng, Reception Manager at Westcliff Hotel, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Dear Shiralee,

Many thanks for your review. We are trying hard here and it's nice to have our work appreciated.
We are very happy to hear that you will be coming back.

Looking forward to seeing you here soon in sunny Southend!

Best wishes from the Westcliff Hotel staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

we booked 2 nights in the hotel to celebrate our 1st anniversary on the sea,i found that Westcliff hotel got good reviews that's why i booked it me & my wife,the room was fine & comfortable,flat tv,but the room was bit hot coz the weather was 23 c at that day,good breakfast,thanks.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Antonio G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestMng, Reception Manager at Westcliff Hotel, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Dear Antonio,

We are very pleased you chose the Westcliff Hotel to celebrate your 1st anniversary. We hope you had an enjoyable time and let us welcome you back in near future.

Best wishes from the Westcliff Hotel staff!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grays Thurrock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

To celebrate our 2nd wedding anniversary, we decided to spend a night in Westcliff, having dropped our one year old son off at his aunt and uncle's for the night. We'd decided that we were going to spend most of the night at the Genting Casino, so in a toss-up between this hotel and the Palace Park Inn, this one won.

On the hotel's website, they state 'free parking'. You might assume that this meant a big car park around the back or something - but alas not. It means on-street parking. We phoned as we were en route, and were told that yes, parking was on the street, but that it was easy to get a space, as people were coming and going all day. Sadly that was not the case for us. After three journeys around the block, I finally noticed someone leaving, but they were on the opposite side of the road to us. A quick 3-point turn alongside the wife getting out to bagsy the spot saw us parked at last. When we arrived at reception, we were told that it was worse than normal, as they had a wedding on. Surely they have weddings quite a bit?

I have no major complaints about the rest of the hotel. That said, according to our Expedia booking, we did book "Suite, 1 Double Bed (Four Poster Bed)". I was therefore expecting a slightly larger room, with a separate seating area. But in reality, it was just a large double room, with a desk, small round table, two bedside cabinets, a 3+2 chest of drawers and a large double wardrobe.

What was there was clean, tidy and in a good state of repair. Though I admit I did expect that the four poster bed would have at least some fabric on the posts. It was literally just a metal four poster frame, with the bed made up just like any other double.

We were in Room 104 - which was the SW corner room on the first floor. It has a large bathroom with a spa bath. The spa bath switched itself on twice whilst we were there. So it does work - just sometimes when you are not expecting it.

Anyway - overall, not a bad stay. The breakfast was buffet style, eat as much as you want. And the coffee, though too strong for my wife, was just what I needed after a 3.30am finish at the casino.

We probably won't stay again - but that's mainly because we only live 20 miles away anyway, so not much point. This was a special trip.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sexyjw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestMng, Reception Manager at Westcliff Hotel, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Dear Guests,

Thank you so much for your detailed review on a public forum. We are glad you chose the Westcliff Hotel to celebrate your 2nd Wedding Anniversary and despite the parking problems you had a good stay.

We would love to welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards,
Samanta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014 via mobile

Came away for a birthday treat. Had a superior room so had a sea view. Room very comfortable with king size bed. Tea and coffee facilities. Bathroom was a little small but compact. Bonus it had a power shower. Only ate breakfast in the hotel which was good. Staff were very attentive. Rooms were warm which was good as the weekend we stayed it was really windy and quite cold. An enjoyable stay. No complaints.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kathy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestMng, Reception Manager at Westcliff Hotel, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Dear Kathy,

Thank you for your comments on TripAdvisor. We are glad you had a comfortable and enjoyable stay with us and hope to see you again when your travels bring you back in the area.

Best wishes,
Samanta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
112 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014

Stayed in early May. Parts of the hotel appear recently refurbished. Perhaps the bar could be next as it's something of a seventies throw back. Room of a good size but a small bathroom. Shower in the bath required a step up of circa 2 foot. Tea & coffee making facilities in the room. Staff polite & friendly. Decent cooked buffet breakfast. Plenty of parking available on the quiet 'ish road outside the hotel.

£75 B&B, sea view with free Wifi represented good value

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ElksLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestMng, Reception Manager at Westcliff Hotel, responded to this review, 10 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for a lovely review. We glad you enjoyed your stay with us and thought it was a good value for money.

We would love to welcome you back in near future.

Kind regards,
Samanta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014

Stayed at the Westcliff Hotel for a wedding. Staff on the Friday and Saturday really friendly and co-operative. But at breakfast on the Monday, well what a difference. The hotel needs to think about their access for people with disability. Going in around the back and through windy narrow back corridors is not at its best. Plus the lift is so small! Rooms were comfortable enough for the price but could do with a make over.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestMng, Reception Manager at Westcliff Hotel, responded to this review, 10 May 2014
Dear Wendy,

Thank you for your review. I will adress your comments about the disabled access to our management.

Hope to see you soon

Kind regards,
Samanta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Westcliff-on-Sea
0.7 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Palace Southend-on-Sea
Park Inn by Radisson Palace Sout...
#12 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,139 reviews
1.3 mi away
Premier Inn Southend On Sea (Eastern Esplanade) Hotel
Premier Inn Southend On Sea (Eas...
#1 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 673 reviews
2.1 mi away
Roslin Beach Hotel
Roslin Beach Hotel
#1 of 2 in Thorpe Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Last Post
The Last Post
#4 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Southend
Holiday Inn Southend
#6 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
4.0 of 5 bubbles 722 reviews
0.4 mi away
Gleneagles Guesthouse
Gleneagles Guesthouse
#1 of 5 in Westcliff-on-Sea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westcliff Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westcliff Hotel

Property: Westcliff Hotel
Address: 18-20 Westcliff Parade, Westcliff-on-Sea, Southend-on-Sea SS0 7QW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Southend-on-Sea > Westcliff-on-Sea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Westcliff-on-Sea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Westcliff Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This grand, Victorian hotel is close to the seafront with spectacular views overlooking the Thames Estuary. It has recently undergone a refurbishment and now provides individually decorated rooms with a brasserie restaurant serving international cuisine. The stylish and modern rooms offer satellite TV and private bathrooms with toiletries. There are tea/coffee making facilities for guests, as well as hairdryers and an iron and ironing board. Some rooms also boast views over the Thames Estuary. Free on street parking is available for guests, while Adventure Island theme park and Southend's pier; the longest in the world, are both 10 minutes' walk away. The Cliffs Pavilion music venue is a 2-minute walk, and The Royals Shopping Centre is 10 minutes' walk. There are 2 Rail Stations within 0.5 Miles distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Westcliff Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westcliff Hotel On Sea
Westcliff Hotel Westcliff-On-Sea, Southend-On-Sea

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing