We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Muthu Westcliff Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Gleneagles Guesthouse(Westcliff-on-Sea)
US$127
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$123
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Southend Guest House(Westcliff-on-Sea)
US$80
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ilfracombe House Hotel(Southend-on-Sea)
US$112
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$105
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Seven Hotel(Southend-on-Sea)
US$180
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$123
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Last Post(Southend-on-Sea)(Great Value!)
US$65
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$64
Travelodge
View Deal
US$100
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
The Welbeck Hotel(Westcliff-on-Sea)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (705)
Filter reviews
706 results
Traveller rating
202
251
158
61
34
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
202
251
158
61
34
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssea viewcliffs pavilionstreet parkinglarge bathroombuffet breakfasttwin roomafternoon teabooked this hotelwould stay againthames estuaryone night staywedding partylovely viewsaturday nightwedding receptionsandwicheshigh street
Filter
Updating list...
504 - 509 of 706 reviews
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Visited Westcliff hotel for Sunday lunch and were impressed with food and service.The restaurant is very pleasant with views across the estuary.There was a good choice of food on the menu,the prices were reasonable and the service was impeccable.On top of that there was a very good live jazz group.All in all a very pleasant experience.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Jean E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestMng, Reception Manager at Muthu Westcliff Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2014

Thank you so much for your review. Ve are always pleased to hear that our customers left happy after the service.

Hope to see you soon!

Best wishes from the Westcliff Hotel staff :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

The Westcliff Hotel is in prime location with great views and an impressive building. With a few simple changes I would rate it higher than Average. The room we occupied was very dark, small and made me feel slightly confined! We booked a Double Room with en- suite through Expedia but when reaching the hotel we were told that it was a Double Petite i.e. smaller than the usual double. We booked 2 nights but only stayed 1 as the bed was small and the room airless as there is no air conditioning available. On the plus side the staff were very friendly and helpful, the room was clean and we had breakfast which was well organized and good value. We ate in the dining room on our arrival , food was average and simple things like water and bread as were not offered as standard. It was quite pricey for what we had and took forever to arrive, around half an hour although the restaurant was empty save for two other tables being occupied.
I hope the hotel management gives serious consideration to these points as the hotel is in a great location and could be excellent.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sheila E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestMng, Reception Manager at Muthu Westcliff Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Dear Sheila,

Thank you for taking your time to share your comments on TripAdvisor. I am sorry to hear that you needed to leave earlier than planned and had a less than perfect experiece at the Westcliff Hotel. I'll pass your comments to our management and please do let us know if you wll plan to come back we will make sure you will be looked after.

Kind regards,
Samanta

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

I booked the Romantic Getaway package at this hotel for me and my partner on Bank Holiday weekend. For £348 we received the beautiful Hamlet suite for two nights, champagne on ice in the room on arrival, a 3-course dinner, breakfast and afternoon tea. Absolutely brilliant value all round.

Our room was gorgeous and had a comfortable four-poster bed and lovely jacuzzi bath, but what is really great about this place is the service from staff. There was a wedding in the hotel on the Saturday so they must have been extremely busy but they still served us like we were the only people there.

The food was outstanding, we had a lovely bottle of wine and the service of the food and at reception is friendly and that of a much higher-classed hotel.

The sea views are fab, right on top of the Cliffs Pavilion if you come for a show - couldn't fault it. A lovely place.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emma M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestMng, Reception Manager at Muthu Westcliff Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Dear Emma,

Thank you very very much for such a lovely review. It is always a pleasure to have such a nice couples like you staying in our hotel:) It makes our work even more enjoyable.

We look forward to welcome you back again!!!

Best wishes
Reception Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

We booked an overnight stay after seeing Michael Bolton.
We were greeted by two receptionist,who took our payment up front which is something I have never done before, but not a problem. They were polite and informative. They gave us our cards and said you can use them for the lift???
We found the lift the door opened without the card. We went in and saw that you had to insert your card to press your floor. What we didn't know was as you pressed for the floor an internal door in the lift closes which gave us a scare. After we had found our way through endless turns and stairs we found our room.
The room was clean and tidy ,there were tea and coffee provided. The beds were very comfy. The only negative was the shower I found it hard to adjust the heat or lack of it and ended up having a cold shower. My friend did however manage a hot shower. I think I warmed it for her.
The hotel has a very nice bar area where we had a late drink. The breakfast in the morning was ver nice. There were cereal, fruit and a selection of cooked breakfast also toast and jams. Staff in the bar and restaurant were excellent. Certainly somewhere I would return.

Room Tip: If visiting. The Cliff pavilion it is a perfect place to stay. Also if you wear glasses take them into the shower with you.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shiralee505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestMng, Reception Manager at Muthu Westcliff Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2014

Dear Shiralee,

Many thanks for your review. We are trying hard here and it's nice to have our work appreciated.
We are very happy to hear that you will be coming back.

Looking forward to seeing you here soon in sunny Southend!

Best wishes from the Westcliff Hotel staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

we booked 2 nights in the hotel to celebrate our 1st anniversary on the sea,i found that Westcliff hotel got good reviews that's why i booked it me & my wife,the room was fine & comfortable,flat tv,but the room was bit hot coz the weather was 23 c at that day,good breakfast,thanks.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Antonio G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestMng, Reception Manager at Muthu Westcliff Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

Dear Antonio,

We are very pleased you chose the Westcliff Hotel to celebrate your 1st anniversary. We hope you had an enjoyable time and let us welcome you back in near future.

Best wishes from the Westcliff Hotel staff!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews