We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“room to small for wedding”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Muthu Westcliff Hotel
Reviewed 8 July 2014

i was at the westcliff hotel for a wedding in the savory room i was well in prested how nice the hotel was very clean and decore ex much beter than i expected for a southend on sea hotel in fact i though it was fab and would def stay here again the staff were very friendley but due to its age bilt in 1891 no car parking and the savory room is no good for a wedding it has no opening windows and it had just 2 small table fans going and a very small dance floor that only 2 family tables took up so no one could dance and being a hot night everyone stood in the bar area that is down a few small steps but like being in a different room leaving the poor dj to play to himself although the dj had every type of music it was just to hot and no wear to dance to enjoy it unlike the other wedding in the larger hall that was cool and had plenty of room an though would proberly cost a lot more its the best offer as the savory room is only good for a bizness meeting and not family partys or events the plus side is if a nice night you can just cross over the road to cool off and look out over the sea and the peir or walk down to the cliffs pavilion if you are from outside the southend area so a must to see and spend 45 mins of time

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Kevin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestMng, Reception Manager at Muthu Westcliff Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2014

Dear Mr Kevin T,

Thank you very much for your comments. We glad you thought the hotel was clean and well decorated. I will pass your comments about the Savoy room to our management.

Thank you once again and hopefully we could welcome you back in near future.

Kind regards
Samanta Liugiene

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (644)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

434 - 440 of 644 reviews

Reviewed 2 July 2014

I stayed here on business for one night and was very happy with the experience. The check in was efficient and the room was well furnished with a four poster bed and a spa bath. The view over the estuary was amazing. The food in the restaurant was of good quality and the breakfast was also good, apart from not having any croissants. Parking is not too bad, there is space but possible not directly in front of the hotel. I am planning to return to the hotel on another 4 or 5 occasions. Recommended.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestMng, Reception Manager at Muthu Westcliff Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2014

Dear Mr John Daniell,

Thank you very much for your kind comments. We are very happy to hear that you had a pleasant stay and planning to return in near future.

Look forward to welcoming you then!

Kind regards,
Samanta Liugiene

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We stayed here in early June and enjoyed the stay. The hotel is a short 8 min downhill walk from the Westcliff station, 12-15 min from the Southend town centre station along the promenade, or about 15 minutes through predominantly residential and business to the Victoria Train station. The hotel is situated on the cliff with walkways through a lovely garden down to the seaside.

We had a twin room on the 3rd floor overlooking the sea and it was quite comfortable. The bathroom is very tight. The hotel seemed quite well kept and our room was clean. The staff were welcoming, but perhaps a tad lethargic.

We ate breakfast in the dining room and it was OK. I would consider staying here again if we returned to this area.

Room Tip: Choose a high room at the front for a wonderful view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dayebob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestMng, Reception Manager at Muthu Westcliff Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind comments. We glad you thought the hotel was nice.
Please do let us know if you will decide to visit Southend again and we will look after you.

Kind regards,
Samanta Liugiene

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We got married here 25th April 14 and the reason we chose the Westcliff Hotel was because of Kim Midson - Wedding Co-ordinator. Who we meet via attending a wedding fair at Basildon Festival Leisure Park.
Kim was so very warm and sincere, Kim never once treated us like a sales target to be achieved as so many other wedding venues in the Basildon, Thurrock and Southend area did and we thank Kim wholeheartedly for that.
Kim was kind, thoughtful and approachable throughout the planning of our wedding and during our special day.
Nothing was too much trouble, for example Kim suggested and arranged additional meetings for us to meet with her and discuss things (being complete novices, we worried far too much!). Suggested and arranged for us to go and view the ceremony and dinner/dance rooms that were set up for someone else's wedding, so we could picture how our wedding would look - this was a beautiful act by Kim that really did help us to visualise what we wanted and gain first-hand insight on how our day would run.
Kim also gave us valuable guidance regarding contacts that could help us. The lady who created and arranged our flowers was on recommendation from Kim. The flowers and designs were amazing, many of our guests gave great compliments to them - thank you Kim!

On our wedding day, us alongside our guests, had the run of all public areas within the hotel. This is another incredible bonus of getting married here - we did not share floor space with any other weddings, no areas were sectioned off and us and all of our guests felt completely comfortable and carefree throughout the day and evening as a result.

Our day was flawless and that was definitely due to the hard work of the whole Westcliff Hotel team. Every single member of staff from those cleaning the rooms, reception - day, evening and night team, waiting, breakfast and bar, gave us exceptional service - we and our guests were greeted by them all, at all times during our day, as if we were their favourite relative! They all worked so hard and were cheerful, caring and attentive. Nothing was too much trouble, I genuinely cannot praise all the staff enough - Thank you all so very much!!

The food during our day - three course meal and evening buffet was delicious, excellently presented (especially buffet, looked very handsome I wanted to taste everything!) and aplenty. Many of our guests commented on how much there was and how pleasurable it tasted - A BIG thank you to the Chef and Kitchen team!

A HUGE Thank You to;
Kim, for being so friendly, supportive and kind.
Jon, you were an incredible toastmaster, witty and truly compassionate. Your support and leadership throughout the day was exceptional and exquisite, as was your calmness which without a doubt helped us to relax and enjoy our day.
Emily, you looked after us impeccably well throughout our day, especially in the evening - you directed us and our guests with kind and gentle confidence.

Highly recommend the Westcliff Hotel - our day and stay was magical

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Crissy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reservations W, General Manager at Muthu Westcliff Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2016

Thank you for your wonderful review

we look forward to welcoming you back again soon

kind regards
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We went for lunch yesterday and were pleasantly suprised. Its a lovely hotel and is decorated beautifully. A large sized dining area which has views over the extuary and is very airy...The staff were friendly and welcoming on our arrival. The service throughout was great, the food was delicious. There was also the added bonus of a jazz duo playing and we really enjoyed the whole eperience.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank elaine g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestMng, Reception Manager at Muthu Westcliff Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your review on TripAdvisor. We glad you enjoyed your meal on Sunday and hopefully we could welcome you back soon!!

Best wishes from the Westcliff Hotel staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed at The Westcliff last weekend for my cousin's wedding. We booked a room with a sea view and it was lovely. Comfortable room, spacious bathroom and a beautiful view over the estuary and cliff gardens.
The wedding itself was lovely too- great service, really delicious food and the room was decorated beautifully for the wedding celebrations.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VickyDavies1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestMng, Reception Manager at Muthu Westcliff Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Dear Vicky,

Thank you for your review! We glad you thought the room was spacious and comfortable and the service you received at the wedding was great.

We really appreciate your comments and hope to see you back soon!

Kind regards,
Samanta

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We were staying one night with our 6 month old baby.No ramp to lift pram so that tested my bad hip They may have a ramp as wheelchair access would be difficult at the front.We had a pleasant welcome.Lift was very small, no room for pram and my suit case. Room was on the 4th floor, recently refurbished and roomy.Everywhere was very clean and tidy.They had provided a nice cot as requested.Room was airy and quiet.Nice bathroom with very efficient shower. Bed however was really soft, too soft for me.Breakfast was comprehensive with good service from the team.The receptionist provided a street map when asked.
Checkout was 11 , so we had good time to get all our stuff packed. Parking was a lottery but finally I got a good space and it was safe and at no cost.

Room Tip: No comment as ours was fine.Lift was too small but that may because the building is Victorian
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestMng, Reception Manager at Muthu Westcliff Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Dear Adam,

Thank you for taking your time to leave your comments on TripAdvisor. We glad you had a pleasant stay. I will pass your comments about the mattress to our maintenance manager.

Look forward to seeing you in the future!

Best wishes from the Westcliff Hotel staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Westcliff-on-Sea
0.7 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Palace Southend-on-Sea
Park Inn by Radisson Palace Sout...
#12 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
1,234 reviews
2.1 mi away
Roslin Beach Hotel
Roslin Beach Hotel
#1 of 2 in Thorpe Bay
1,644 reviews
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Southend
Holiday Inn Southend
#6 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
791 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Travelodge Southend on Sea
Travelodge Southend on Sea
#14 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
317 reviews
1.8 mi away
Camelia Hotel
Camelia Hotel
#2 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
534 reviews
0.4 mi away
Gleneagles Guesthouse
Gleneagles Guesthouse
#1 of 5 in Westcliff-on-Sea
292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Muthu Westcliff Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Muthu Westcliff Hotel

Address: 18-20 Westcliff Parade, Westcliff-on-Sea, Southend-on-Sea SS0 7QW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Southend-on-Sea > Westcliff-on-Sea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Westcliff-on-Sea
Price Range: £50 - £113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Muthu Westcliff Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This grand, Victorian hotel is close to the seafront with spectacular views overlooking the Thames Estuary. It has recently undergone a refurbishment and now provides individually decorated rooms with a brasserie restaurant serving international cuisine. The stylish and modern rooms offer satellite TV and private bathrooms with toiletries. There are tea/coffee making facilities for guests, as well as hairdryers and an iron and ironing board. Some rooms also boast views over the Thames Estuary. Free on street parking is available for guests, while Adventure Island theme park and Southend's pier; the longest in the world, are both 10 minutes' walk away. The Cliffs Pavilion music venue is a 2-minute walk, and The Royals Shopping Centre is 10 minutes' walk. There are 2 Rail Stations within 0.5 Miles distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotelopia, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Muthu Westcliff Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westcliff Hotel On Sea
Muthu Westcliff Hotel Westcliff-On-Sea, Southend-On-Sea

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing