We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Muthu Westcliff Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Gleneagles Guesthouse(Westcliff-on-Sea)
US$127
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Estuary House(Westcliff-on-Sea)
US$35
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Southend Guest House(Westcliff-on-Sea)
US$81
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Trinity Hotel(Westcliff-on-Sea)(Great Value!)
US$93
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Malvern Lodge Guest House(Westcliff-on-Sea)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Ilfracombe House Hotel(Southend-on-Sea)
US$113
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$106
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pavilion Hotel(Westcliff-on-Sea)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Free Internet
Devine Beach Guesthouse(Westcliff-on-Sea)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lotus Lodge(Westcliff-on-Sea)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Southend Inn Hotel(Westcliff-on-Sea)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (703)
Filter reviews
704 results
Traveller rating
201
250
158
61
34
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
201
250
158
61
34
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssea viewcliffs pavilionstreet parkinglarge bathroombuffet breakfasttwin roomafternoon teabooked this hotelwould stay againthames estuaryone night staywedding partylovely viewsaturday nightwedding receptionsandwicheshigh street
Filter
Updating list...
479 - 484 of 704 reviews
Reviewed 27 August 2014

Having picked this hotel from the website,we were very pleasantly surprised how spacious our rooms were,both had excellent sea views.the staff were all helpful and polite.bedrooms were both spacious even the single room.shower was great.The bar was excellent and friendly and welcome.The dinner was excellent and plentiful.The bed was very comfortable and we all enjoyed a good nights sleep,very relaxing.The breakfast was plentiful and enjoyable.
The hotels prices were very good and I thought not expensive as I thought it would be.

Would recommend the hotel to anyone thinking to stay in Southend,and we hope to go back to stay again soon.

Regards

Andrew.

Room Tip: Why take anyone's word this is an excellent hotel,Go and stay yourself.Soon.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank andrew g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reservations W, Manager at Muthu Westcliff Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2016

thank you for your review we take note of your comments we look forward to welcoming you back again soon
with regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2014

My Daughter and I stayed here for two nights on the 19th/20th August, in the superior double room, the sea view was what we wanted hence this room type and the view did not disappoint but, these rooms should not really be given the title of Superior! They were very tired and our bathroom was so small and really in need of heavy duty updating but all very serviceable! however, our room was next to the lift shaft, room 401, avoid this room if you do not want to be driven mad by the constant rattle of the only lift in the hotel going up and down! However the hotel itself was very nice and no doubt listed due to age, the bar area was lovely as was the lobby and dinning area, the breakfast was fab, huge choice and very tasty! the best part of this hotel was the smiling faces of the very attentive staff, magic, so nice to see, because their is nothing worse than moody front of house and staff! Would definitely stay again but probably splash out on one of the other room types! The location is the best, as a stones through from the Cliffs theatre and away enough from the maddening crowd of southend but near enough to walk, and parking for us never an issue! Great job and thanks!

Room Tip: Don't book room 401, next to the lift shaft!!!!
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Suzanne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reservations W, Manager at Muthu Westcliff Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2016

thank you for your review we take note of your comments we look forward to welcoming you back again soon
with regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Westcliff hotel for one night a few weeks ago and we were pleasantly surprised. The room was spacious with commanding views of the beach and the estuary. It was spotless and very well equipped with a large bathroom and all the usual toiletries. The staff were pleasant and obliging and the buffet breakfast was well above our expectations. All in all a four start experience in a three star establishment. Well done.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alfred1L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reservations W, Manager at Muthu Westcliff Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2016

thank you for your review we take note of your comments we look forward to welcoming you back again soon
with regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights whilst visiting our son in south end. The hotel was clean and tidy and our room was very spacious along with a very large bathroom. We didn't have breakfasts there as we felt it was overly priced. Staff seemed friendly although we didn't see much of them as we were out most of the day. It was only about a 15 minute walk into Southend which was good considering this is where all the main activities were.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karenstone66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reservations W, Manager at Muthu Westcliff Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2016

thank you for your review we take note of your comments we look forward to welcoming you back again soon
with regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2014 via mobile

My husband and I visited the hotel again for a second time and were not disappointed. We stayed in the same room 403 with a lovely sea view. Room was very clean staff very attentive. Although I would like a proper shower mat in the bathroom. Breakfast very good however would appreciate more bread choices other than just brown or white. Will definitely stay again as excellent value for money.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luckyjaxy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reservations W, Manager at Muthu Westcliff Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2016

thank you for your review we take note of your comments we look forward to welcoming you back again soon
with regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews