We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not good hygiene”

Oldham's Fish Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$32
Cuisines: Seafood, Fast food, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Kids, Cheap Eats
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Brunch, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Not good hygiene”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2014

The chef was very unprofessional yelling at other staff in front of customers. He did not wear a hair restraint and constantly moved cooked food about inside the display cabinet with his bare hands and wiping his greasy hands on himself. Then i watched as he handled raw fish still without washing his hands and immediately unwrapped a cooked pie and touched chips. Possible cross contamination.
My visit was Saturday night 7.45pm

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Terry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    184
    52
    13
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Basildon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Can't beat it!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2014

Never been disappointed with Oldhams. Food always fresh cooked and tasty, reasonable prices and good friendly service. Long may it continue!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank james c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Rainy Afternoon Treat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2014

Unplanned visit to Oldham's and now wondering what took us so long to try it out. Freshly Cooked, with a good old cup of tea, and the lovely smiley Leanne giving excellent service. Oldham's have got it right in every way.............

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank KraftyKaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ware, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Slightly disappointed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2014

After reading the great reviews, I was a bit disappointed. The fish was very nice - good quality and crisp, thin batter. However, the chips were not good at all and the whole surroundings and service lacked a bit of quality. Next time, I'd rather go to a fish & chip place nearer the promenade than making the extra way up to the Oldham's.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AnPaKe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grays Thurrock, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very good fish n chips”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2014

Service and food was fantastic can't fault it my only prob was when I paid the bill I was done out of £5 so do watch your change

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank John_Taylor1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Oldham's Fish Restaurant also viewed

 
Westcliff-on-Sea, Southend-on-Sea
Southend-on-Sea, Essex
 
Westcliff-on-Sea, Southend-on-Sea
 

Been to Oldham's Fish Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing