We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb”

Piccolo Italian Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View, Child-friendly, Groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Essex
Level Contributor
133 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Superb”
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Fantastic family run Italian restaurant above the arches in westcliff!

The owner greets you like you are old friends and was absolutely wonderful with my children. When he asked my kids how big they wanted their pizza they held out their arms wide and shouted "this big". True to his word the pizza arrived and was absolutely enormous, we had to take half home. My husband commented that it was the best Italian he has had in this country, he had carpaccio followed by the thinly sliced lamb served with fresh veggies. My one criticism was that my pasta arriabatta was slightly overcooked but then I do like mine al dente. We didn't try dessert as we were saving ourselves for a Rossi ice cream on the walk back to the car.

All in all a fabulous meal with a cracking view across the estuary! Don't be put off by the slightly dated decor, it is a true gem of a place.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ferg17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    240
    68
    27
    27
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Great Meal”
Reviewed 8 June 2014

As we needed an early meal we booked a table for 6pm, and the place was pretty full (always a good sign) when we arrived. Service was excellent and drinks and starters arrived promptly.

The main courses were superb (veal & veg and Spaghetti Carbonara), piping hot, beautifully cooked and generous portions. And all at good prices :-)

A proper independent (family?) Italian restaurant, and 1000 times better than horrid high-street Italian 'restaurants'.

We would be very happy to eat here again...highly recommended.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tango555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maldon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service. Great before a show at Cliffs.”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Googled restaurants near Cliff's Pavilion and found this one. We booked a table for 6pm Friday evening and glad we did as it was soon full. Great location for pre-theatre meal. Lovely staff and great atmosphere. Food was great, hot, lots of it and served quickly. Extensive menu and good choice of specials. Very slick operation on show night when people need to get in, eat and leave quickly. I would love to go back when I have time to linger longer and have room for dessert.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Claire J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Great place for a pre-show dinner”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We booked a table for 4 at 18:00 with a 20:00 show at the Cliffs Pavilion. The place was packed when we got there which I always see as a good sign. Even though it was busy we were shown to our table straight away and drinks order taken. We all had 3 courses and all the food was hot and good quality. I would recommend the Parma ham and mozzarella starter and the lasagne as main, both were very good. We got out at 19:45 so pretty good timing for the show at 20:00.

Only thing I would say is that the service was a bit slow at times. They seemed to struggle a little bit when the whole place is full and we had to ask for more drinks a couple of times and for the bill a few times. However is a nice little place to grab dinner before a show and would definitely recommend.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LJCrozzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Yummy!”
Reviewed 24 May 2014

We went to a show at Cliffs Pavilion, & fancied a meal after, we walked down to a little group of restaurants we had spotted earlier. Piccolo caught our eye but considering we were quite late we weren't sure if we would be welcome, well, we couldn't have been more wrong, the very friendly staff assured us it was no trouble. We had an amazing meal, & even though we were last in the restaurant, we didn't feel rushed. We decided the next day we would stay another night in Westcliff, we didn't give another thought, straight back to Piccolo's , receiving a lovely warm welcome back & more delicious food. Definitely will be returning next time we are in the area.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank trudybax b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Piccolo Italian Restaurant also viewed

Westcliff-on-Sea, Southend-on-Sea
Westcliff-on-Sea, Southend-on-Sea
 
Westcliff-on-Sea, Southend-on-Sea
Westcliff-on-Sea, Southend-on-Sea
 
Westcliff-on-Sea, Southend-on-Sea
 

Been to Piccolo Italian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing