We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely food in excellent surroundings”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Coast Bistro - CLOSED

Coast Bistro
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Child-friendly, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, After-hours, Lunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Benfleet, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely food in excellent surroundings”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

First visit and won't be our last. Made to feel very welcome, comfortable surroundings, good service. Menu is varied with something for everyone. Very reasonable on price with choice of two or three courses. Settled for two, starters of chicken/ ham terrine served with chutney and warm bread was like a meal in itself, followed by a medium rare rib eye steak which melted in your mouth served with chunky chips, grilled tomatoe and mushrooms. Assorted mustards to taste. Good selection of wines and nice background music. Excellent service and will be visiting again, think this will become a regular haunt and will be working through the menu.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Sharon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

262 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    216
    31
    7
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A lucky find.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

First impression - very sea-side, nautical, light and airy with space between candle-lit tables. A very inviting room. The menu (I was told it will change seasonally) is interesting and varied and is mostly fixed price for two or three courses. The wine list is varied with a number of choices by the glass. The food was simply delicious. Our starters were small meals in themselves. My wife had the chicken and ham terrine - a very generous portion, presented beautifully with relish, salad and bread. I had the savoury cheesecake - with a rocket salad and mustard sauce - wow! Our mains were sea bass for my wife and rib-eye steak (£4 supplement) for me - both superb. One thing; you MUST try to leave room for a dessert - all home made. My apple crumble and custard was the best I have tasted away from home. The service was helpful, friendly and efficient. The bill was surprisingly reasonable. Will definitely be going back. The owners have clearly gone through a dreadful experience having been closed for so long after a fire but they are to be commended for pulling through and recreating such a great restaurant.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Gerald N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westcliff-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
135 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Welcome Back Coast Bistro!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

After the total refit after the fire, we were thrilled to be back to our local bistro. Always a friendly welcome from the owners, same comfortable atmosphere and best of all, great food and service.
Aren't we lucky, we can walk home full of great food and a glass or two of wine!
Save yourself if you can for a homemade dessert!
I know there are plans for some Live Music, Wine and Dine Nights and I am sure they will prove successful.
Welcome Back and all success!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PeterPhippin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Our first visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

This was our first visit to Coast. I knew it had closed down but didnt realise it had only been open 3 weeks! We had a really lovely evening, excellent food (great and well-thought vegetarian options) which was really good value, a nice and relaxed atmosphere and really good service.
I can't wait to go back!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Laura L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westcliff-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Like the Phoenix, Coast has risen again!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

Our first visit after re-opening and we were not disappointed. Atmosphere, cleanliness, friendliness of staff, and of course the food - all great. We had the home made chicken and ham terrine for a starter which was a meal in itself! A shame we couldn't manage a dessert as they looked delicious but next time perhaps we will have to forego a starter. What a great local restaurant.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank donandsheila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Coast Bistro also viewed

Westcliff-on-Sea, Southend-on-Sea
Westcliff-on-Sea, Southend-on-Sea
 
Leigh-on Sea, Southend-on-Sea
Leigh-on Sea, Southend-on-Sea
 
Leigh-on Sea, Southend-on-Sea
Westcliff-on-Sea, Southend-on-Sea
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing