We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dog v. Burger results are in” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lunch in a Bag

Lunch in a Bag
Price range: US$0 - US$6
Cuisines: American, Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Family Friendly cafe with a great atmosphere. We take great care to make sure that we give you the care and attention you deserve whilst dining with us. We may only be small but we have big values and we pride ourselves in making your visit as enjoyable as possible. Our portion sizes may be big but we truly believe that we need to give you our customers value for money. Everything we cook here is made fresh upon ordering and that's the only way to ensure you have the freshest food possible. If your passing we would really love for you to pop in and say hi. We accept cards and we have no minimum spend. We can also be found on Facebook and here we have all the up to date information on our cafe.
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Dog v. Burger results are in”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

Oh, yummy!
A hot pork big boy with cheddar cheese versus a hot g spot burger but with blue cheese - mine wins!
Always great here and worth it's excellent reputation

Helpful?
1 Thank Kimberley A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Happyhappy744, Owner at Lunch in a Bag, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Hi,

So glad that you both loved our food. We always aim to give great portions and the freshest food possible. We want to thank you both for taking the time to grace our cafe and thank you both for your great review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    302
    20
    9
    6
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Breakfast!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

Once again this is about the 10th time I've been to this amazing place, I had a breakfast this time, it was just perfect worth every penny ( even tho is was so cheap!!) like I said in previously in reviews.. I've traveled usa.. And it's like being back there again coming to this place.. U get so much good food for your money!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ricky c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Happyhappy744, Owner at Lunch in a Bag, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Breakfasts are so popular here as you can imagine because of the great portion sizes that we offer. We always try to give great value for money and we want to thank you for taking the time to review us. So glad that you keep coming back.......lol
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basildon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

I went here with my family as we had heard so much great things about the food and we didn't walk away disappointed! The staff was so friendly and welcoming! However the food was just out of this world. We all had burgers which was so tasty & big! They looked like something you would see in an advert & they tasted even better! Will certainly be going back for me. highly highly recommend!!!

Helpful?
1 Thank Danielle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Happyhappy744, Owner at Lunch in a Bag, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Thank you so much for your kind review. We always try our best with every customer that walks through our doors. Good customer service comes naturally with us here at LIAB and that is something we pride ourselves on.
Your review is greatly appreciated. Thanks again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“New burgers, new sensations”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

Paul keeps adding new burgers to the menus, and they've all been fantastic. I've also had the chance recently to have a sit down meal in the cafe, and it was great. Great food and great company, can't get any better.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonathan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Happyhappy744, Owner at Lunch in a Bag, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Hey, what can I say......So grateful for the very kind comments and review. Your most welcome to pop by and see us anytime.

Thanks again x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Affordable, accessible and delicious.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

Lunch in a bag is massive in choice, portions and welcomes, low in prices with a friendly cosy atmosphere when eating in, looking forward to bigger premises.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Happyhappy744, Owner at Lunch in a Bag, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
We are working on the bigger premises as we speak. Thanks so much for your review and very kind comments. Always appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lunch in a Bag also viewed

Westcliff-on-Sea, Southend-on-Sea
Southend-on-Sea, Essex
 
Southend-on-Sea, Essex
Westcliff-on-Sea, Southend-on-Sea
 

Been to Lunch in a Bag? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing