We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but not as good as was”
Review of The beach hut

The beach hut
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: "Situated on a beautiful stretch of beach at Westcliff on Sea, The Beach Hut combines stunning views with great food & drinks" Fresh food served 7 days a week for Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch and Late dinning in the summer. We have our Kiosk Open in the summer.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Good but not as good as was”
Reviewed 10 July 2014

WE really love this as a place for Sunday Breakfast but found the service slow and what annoys me is the drinks come up immediately and by the time the food arrives another drink has to be ordered. Grannary toast is available as toast and butter but not available with breakfast. standard have gone down BUT spoke to the owner and she assured me that she will look into my concerns and hoped to see us back. We will return as it is such a lovely setting and the staff are friendly and food is good.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Julia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    105
    107
    51
    39
    58
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Mixed review”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

I went here mid-week with my family and it was delightful, really enjoyed the food etc. However, upon returning at the weekend with my boyfriend today, I was a bit disappointed. The service was very slow and not overly helpful, I sent my meal back and I'm sure they gave back exactly the same meal, forgot my side order and everything was just very slow. Not sure if I will go back again.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Amy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heybridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Unexpected delight”
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We needed to be in the area and, as it was also my husband's birthday, we decided to lunch out. We had intended to go elsewhere but having stumbled across The Beach Hut it was just to nice to bypass. The food is bistro style and extremely well prepared and served by very pleasant staff. Certainly the place to go for either a snack lunch or some more filling. The menu is not large but all the food is very well prepared, fresh and tasty. So much nicer to have good food prepared well and served with a smile and all at a reasonable price. They certainly seem to have got it right!!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lesley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Have been three times”
Reviewed 2 July 2014

The food we have had each time has been ok.
The service the first time was good, the second time was a little frosty and the third was not very good I'm sad to say.
As its not a motorway cafe, I think a little bit of a smiling service would be great! All the staff bar one did this. It's great for tourists and locals alike, nice view. We have been each time when I'm lucky enough to have my husband working from home, so we drive from Leigh. Our time is limited not just on the parking meter but the fact my husband only takes an hour for lunch.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Orlando1sttimer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent. ”
Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

Visited venue many times, on my own and with family. Setting overlooking sea is wonderful. Food excellent and very friendly staff.

Helpful?
Thank lmbdr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The beach hut also viewed

Westcliff-on-Sea, Southend-on-Sea
Westcliff-on-Sea, Southend-on-Sea
 
Westcliff-on-Sea, Southend-on-Sea
Westcliff-on-Sea, Southend-on-Sea
 

Been to The beach hut? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing