We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“simply...NOT the best!”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Zen City

Zen City
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids, Groups, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Delivery, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“simply...NOT the best!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2014

My partner and my two adult "kids", all you can eat. near on £13 each. Well. First the starters. Chicken wings(spicy) these must have been made from KFC leftovers! What no meat, comes to mind, scragy. Fried duck, known for being fatty but....little meat lotta fat! Some items just ok, prawn curry for example but overall really poor quality.
Ice cream ok. Oh, yes, dont worry about the tip, they have already added 10%!
NEVER AGAIN.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank davidM m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    39
    16
    8
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Essex
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good as usual”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014

We frequent Zen City for various occasions, large groups like my 60th birthday where there were 60 of us to just 2 or 4 of us. We once a year take a party of about 25 adults with learning disabilities there and that works very well too. Have held Charity meals here too at least once a year. We always book, unless occasionally just 2 of us go. Staff always pleasant and helpful.
Last visit was a Saturday evening so was a little noisy with chatter, as they were full up.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Holidaymaker38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A great night out”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014

Had a really good evening with friends and family Marshall King was performing his Legend act which made for one of the best nights together with the good food, great friendly service, will definately go back again.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Pamruth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Are all reviews truthful?”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

If you read poor reviews it may put you off going somewhere, and that may be true of Zen City in Westcliff-on-Sea.

A table booked for six adults (should have been 8 though), Saturday evening about 7:30pm. Met up at the bar so it didn't matter arriving early. Explained 2 couldn't make it so they quickly reset the table and removed 2 chairs then collected us from the bar.

Couldn't decide what to have for starters so they brought out a large plate of crispy duck, pot of pancakes and plum sauce and various bits and pieces. Another very large plate of chicken in batter, prawn toast, peanut satay and many other well cooked and hot dishes. If you wanted a soup (I did) not a problem, crab and sweetcorn, piping hot and a large amount of white crab meat (as opposed to gloopy wallpaper paste that some places present).

A good wine list and selection of beers and soft drinks. 3 bottles of red wine helped provide a good evening as the main courses arrived. Very hot plates arrived, a large bowl of rice, large plates of chow mien filled the table. Ice cream to finish the meal and a bill for about £14 per person plus about £14 per bottle for a very drinkable red wine.

The very large restaurant floor was packed and buzzing. Noticed a couple of friends on other tables and they often go there as well.

The welcome is genuine, staff - an army of them so no delays, ferrying food to the tables and quickly clearing, cleaning the tables and re-setting ready for the next set of diners.

Bottom line; food excellent. Very good price. Good selection of booze at the bar or at the table. The guy who I presume was 'front of house' actively welcomed guests, collected guests from the bar and ensured you had servers on-hand all of the while (not standing over you like vultures though). We had a great night out, reasonable prices, excellent food and taxi cabs to and from the restaurant (and the pub after).

Although families were in the restaurant you wouldn't really have known other than the couple of buggies. There were obviously several celebration meals going on which added to the atmosphere. If you wanted a quite table for two there are areas amongst the large round tables and in the other parts of the floor.

My wife and I have been there for lunch during the week and the food and service has also been excellent. Definitely worth a try!

So even on a busy Saturday evening they can provide excellent food, service and drink - what more do you want?

If you like your food swimming in various sauces, loaded with salt and monosodium glutamate, small portions and the cheapest wines starting at £15 per bottle + service charge I wouldn't bother going here as you won't get it.

No I'm not related to the owners, I just like to tell others when places are good and hope others will do likewise.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank bikerbob1805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
261 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
“Honest review”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014 via mobile

My partner and I went here for our anniversary, prior to this visit I had been here twice in 2013 and remember the food tasting great.

Some of the food dishes were bland and didn't have a great taste as I remember them.

The service was good but they didn't ask if we wanted prawn crackers. At one point we had to ask for rice as thy didn't bring any out with the curry.

The food was always hot but wasn't a great choice.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Neetsnewts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Zen City also viewed

Westcliff-on-Sea, Southend-on-Sea
Westcliff-on-Sea, Southend-on-Sea
 

Been to Zen City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing