We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good B & B”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Gleneagles Guesthouse
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 July 2012

Having read through all the reviews I was sceptical about staying in this B& B, however I must say it was good, nice and clean B&B, great location, dont have a second thought about booking it. It is very nice place to stay:)

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank R S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (310)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

278 - 284 of 310 reviews

Reviewed 30 June 2012

Would have once been a beautiful building but in need of a lot of TLC. Poor room on the ground floor Overlooking back rooves, needs a damn good spring clean and could not open bathroom door fully as it hit the bed. Had to choose between power or heat in the shower. We arrived late (travelling 250 miles) no one to meet or greet had to use phone in hall to call to be checked in. Poor room but for the price it was convenient and quiet. Very friendly lady cooked a good breakfast and again no one to check us out. A man in the lobby asked me for room rates assuming I worked there! Only stayed in Southend one night due to family business would not stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank liver070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2012

Debbie, the owner, was incredibly helpful and let us park up and check in early. The hotel has a great location, it has so much character with different shaped rooms and the layout - much better than sterile chain hotels. Our breakfast was lovely, freshly cooked and lots of it. We had the Estuary suite which has a great view of the pier and had a seating area in the bay window to take in the views. The location was really quiet - having seen some of the other hotels also available in the same area I am very happy that this was definitely the best choice and would recommend to anyone.

Room Tip: The Estuary Suite has fantastic views with seating area in the bay window. No lift but worth the cli...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AverySquid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2012

Ok so the "Hotel" is actually a B&B but for the location and price my wife and I couldnt fault it.
We stayed at the Gleneagles on Friday 22nd June. This was our first time to Southend and I have to say that our entire stay was excellent.
We arrived at 12(noon) and were greeted by the friendly owner (I think her name was Deborah). Our room was already done and waiting (we stayed in room 3 - good views). Thankfully we managed to get one of the 2 parking spaces the hotel has so we saved £9 (parking is not cheap).
Room was big, light and clean with 2 single beds which were very comfy (push them together if you want a double), both of us had a good nights sleep.
The shower room was good with a modernised look and again, very clean. Shower was powerful enough and water stayed warm.
Breakfast in the morning was very good. A full english to start your day. The bacon, sausage, egg and beans were all delicious.
We like most people searched the internet for hotels in Southend, but now having gone, we would deffinately recommend the Gleneagles.

Room Tip: Room 3 is gorund floor and has great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank daniel b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2012

I find that our opinion of this hotel reflects that of another reviewer who stayed in the Pier Suite.

It could have been a lovely room, as the view is arguably one of the best in Southend. Unfortunately, the room was shabby and quite dirty. The curtain in the small room are hanging off the rails as most of the hooks were missing. The drawer in the dressing table didn't shut properly. There was some hardened foam in the corner used to fill in holes. This was orange in colour and looked quite horrid.

The window sills were all dusty and had small insects on them. There were cobwebs in both rooms. The bathroom was not cleaned properly, marks on the mirror and a spoon left on the washbasin. The shower was mouldy and mildewed and needed a really good clean with limescale remover.

Some of the towels were really worn out, but some were OK. The pillows and mattress were really hard, but realise that is a matter of choice.

Overall the impression is one of neglect and a need of a complete makeover - it could be a lovely room, but failed miserably.

The breakfast was fine and the public rooms looked OK too. We were also asked to pay in advance as the card machine was broken..When we refused, they accepted payment at the end of the stay with no complaint.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Madrongirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2012

Not an hotel but more of a bed and breakfast, but ever so nice. Highly recommendalble. Great wiev over the Thames Estuary if you are lucky, cosy room and full breakfast. The Parade is beautyful for a walk at any time. Had a lovely time there. Considering the amount I paid for my three nights, I have to give my stay her the highest rate. Mind you, it is simple, don't expect anything but the b&b.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AccidentalLondener
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2012

I'm really sorry that I didn't take any photos of this place because the rooms are really rather nice. I have stayed in a few other B&Bs in the Southend area and this one generated the most positive first impressions.

I had a single room which was very small but perfectly formed, best described as cosy and quaint. Not dated like some of the other places I've stayed at but not clinical either. I had some family staying in a couple of the double rooms too and they were even nicer.

The breakfast was first class, very pleasant breakfast room and each of our breakfasts were made to order.

Furthermore the proprietors of the place really went out of their way to make our stay pleasant.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Natii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Westcliff-on-Sea
0.4 mi away
Muthu Westcliff Hotel
Muthu Westcliff Hotel
#2 of 5 in Westcliff-on-Sea
677 reviews
1.7 mi away
Roslin Beach Hotel
Roslin Beach Hotel
#2 of 2 in Thorpe Bay
1,775 reviews
0.3 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Palace Southend-on-Sea
Park Inn by Radisson Palace Sout...
#12 of 20 in Southend-on-Sea
1,295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Last Post
The Last Post
#5 of 20 in Southend-on-Sea
339 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ilfracombe House Hotel
Ilfracombe House Hotel
#9 of 20 in Southend-on-Sea
292 reviews
1.4 mi away
Camelia Hotel
Camelia Hotel
#2 of 20 in Southend-on-Sea
562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gleneagles Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gleneagles Guesthouse

Address: 5 Clifftown Parade, Westcliff-on-Sea, Southend-on-Sea SS1 1DP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Southend-on-Sea > Westcliff-on-Sea
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Westcliff-on-Sea
Price Range: £64 - £96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Gleneagles Guesthouse 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gleneagles is a Grade 2 listed building built during the 1850’s.It operated as a Hotel until 2001 and now operates as a Guest House. Under new ownership Garry and Penny look forward to welcoming you soon.Gleneagles is only 15 minutes from Southend Airport and is situated in Southend’s tranquil conservation area, overlooking the beautiful cliff gardens with panoramic sea views. Over recent years Gleneagles has undergone extensive improvement and many of the mid-Victorian design characteristics have been restored the new owners intend to continue this work The Gleneagles is Visit England 4 star Guest House .We offer:• A warm and friendly welcome • Ensuite to all rooms • TV in all rooms• Tea and coffee facilities • Sea views • A quality breakfast • A peaceful location just steps from seafront and the centre of town • Free wi-fi access• Airport transfers ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your Gleneagles Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gleneagles Guesthouse Westcliff-On-Sea, Southend-On-Sea

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing