We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic new owners”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Gleneagles Guesthouse
Certificate of Excellence
Braintree, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“fantastic new owners”
Reviewed 10 November 2012

The new owners seem to have the right idea; they are friendly and enthusiastic and very welcoming.
The views over the seafront are amazing and the breakfast does not disappoint. The room has seemed to have had a thorough clean (no dust seen) and although i agree it could do with a little updating in places, talking to the owners this seems to be in hand, i would thoroughly recommend this as a great place to stay.

The bed was most comfortable, clean linen, fluffy towels and lovely smellies added as a bonus!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 123_laeast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Garry L, Owner at Gleneagles Guesthouse, responded to this review, 12 November 2012
Thank you for your kind comments. We are working hard to improve the facilities. In our first week we improved the breakfast offer and this week we have BT infinty broadband being installed so that guests can have high speed access to the internet. We will also be embarking on a programme of redecoration and upgrading in the coming months. In the meantime we look forward to welcoming guests old and new who can enjoy the panoramic sea views from our rooms at the front of the house.

Garry Lowen and Penny Jones
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    169
    70
    16
    10
    13
See reviews for
43
109
31
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Southend-on-Sea
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2012

Despite the previous reviews I stayed at this guesthouse as I'd heard that the previous lady owner had sold and the new owners were a young and enthusiastic couple. And I wasn't disappointed! Room 3 on the first floor is the best with a spectacular sea view and more than enough space for us. The breakfast was terrific - full english with plenty of tea or coffee.

Yes, the place needs some tlc after the neglect of the previous owner, but Garry and Penny have plans to put all that right.

I'd advise anyone looking for a B&B guesthouse in Southend to give it a try - we will certainly be back.

Room Tip: Like I said, go for room three if you can - 1st floor front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arncliffe_01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Garry L, Owner at Gleneagles Guesthouse, responded to this review, 10 November 2012
Thank you for your kind comments. We are working hard to raise the levels of service and are glad your enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

With best wishes

Garry Lowen and Penny Jones
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2012

Stayed in this hovel for one night. Met by a ignorant man who grunted more than actually spoke. He showed me to a flea pit of a room which the on suite was separated from the room by a shower curtain. The room it's self was absolutley filthy with stuff stuck in the rug and when lifting the rug you could see the amount of dust on carpet. Also all ledges in the room where covered by thick dust proving that the room hadn't been cleaned for months.
Hotel, more like hostel. I would advise any human being from staying at this establishment unless you want to catch some bacterial disease filthy that you will be staying in.
You have been warned.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robbo199
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Garry L, Owner at Gleneagles Guesthouse, responded to this review, 4 November 2012
Thank you for your comments they are very helpful in raising standards as we have now taken ownership and take all feedback seriously. Penny and I toook ownership on 2nd November and we have plans to improve the facility. I do hope you will visit again soon and notice improvements though of course some may take time If you contact us quoting TAGP2Nov we will offer you a discount on your next stay.
Thanks agin for taking the time to write a review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2012

No stars from me I'm afraid; no stars at all. I was treated very nicely when I arrived, in contrast to others apparently, but that's about where the good things end. My room was horrid. Horrid and dirty, although thankfully both bedding and towels were clean and fresh - frankly if I had been booked for more than one night, and/or if the linen had not clearly been clean, I would have left. A huge disappointment, ranking this hotel as four star is an insult to real four star places and makes a mockery of the rating system. Don't stay there unless you're desperate and/or only being charged £10.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AChileTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Garry L, Owner at Gleneagles Guesthouse, responded to this review, 4 November 2012
Thank you for your comments they are very helpful in raising standards as we have now taken ownership and take all feedback seriously. Penny and I toook ownership on 2nd November and we have plans to improve the facility. I do hope you will visit again soon and notice improvements though of course some may take time If you contact us quoting TAGP2Nov we will offer you a discount on your next stay.
Thanks agin for taking the time to write a review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2012

I stayed here with my husband on a Saturday night. Just needed a place to get ready & sleep as was attending a friend's birthday party in town so went for the cheapest I could find. I now regret this & wish I'd paid the extra £20 or so that other local B&B's/Hotels were asking for.

The location is extremely convenient for the town centre & seafront but unfortunately that's where the praise ends. We were in a room on the top floor which was tiny & the 'ensuite' was more like a shower in a cupboard. The room & the building really needs some updating - we had light fittings falling apart and a hole in the wall. Full English at breakfast but the beans were stone cold. Didn't have the heart to tell the lady serving as she seemed rushed off her feet & appeared to be working alone. All the above could be forgiven if the room had been nice & clean, which it wasn't. And for us that was the biggest disappointment. We don't have ridiculously high standards of cleanliness but the surfaces were dusty, the carpet had mud on & the sheets were stained.

It's a shame as the building clearly used to be lovely, but we won't be returning.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BabyJon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Garry L, Owner at Gleneagles Guesthouse, responded to this review, 4 November 2012
Thank you for your comments they are very helpful in raising standards as we have now taken ownership and take all feedback seriously. Penny and I toook ownership on 2nd November and we have plans to improve the facility. I do hope you will visit again soon and notice improvements though of course some may take time If you contact us quoting TAGP2Nov we will offer you a discount on your next stay.
Thanks again for taking the time to write a review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2012

Stayed here for one night and was quite pleasantly surprised for the price I paid. The room was clean with en suite, the staff friendly, the breakfast good. Only a short walk to the town center and beach.
Towels supplied.
Extra coffee was offered at breakfast.
I have stayed in other budget places in Southend and they were awful, I will be returning here again.
Not sure about parking, I arrived by train.

Room Tip: I stayed in the single room, small but functional, view to the rear of the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Timmy231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2012

What a terrible experience, avoid this place at all costs. I was quoted £414 for 2 rooms for 3 nights. I advised the girl on the phone it would be late on 24th August we were arriving as we had a late flight from Belfast. We arrived about 11pm a man who I assume is the owner came to the door to meet us. He advised there was a mix up with the booking that only 1 room had been booked. We asked what we should do then, his response was a shrug of his shoulders. No apology or resolution. He advised we could stay that night but he was full for the rest the weekend. He then opened the door for us to leave and said he wouldn't have took a booking for 4 girls anyway. So basically this had nothing to do with a mistake in the booking he just did not want us to stay. So at 11pm at night on a bank holiday weekend we were left in a different country walking the streets trying to find somewhere to stay. Luckily the rest of the town weren't as ignorant and unhelpful as Gleneagles staff. Maybe you should learn how to apologise for a mistake and find a resolution for your customers in future otherwise you might not have customers for much longer. DONT FORGET CUSTOMERS PAY YOUR WAGE!!!!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nothappycust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Westcliff-on-Sea
0.4 mi away
Muthu Westcliff Hotel
Muthu Westcliff Hotel
#2 of 5 in Westcliff-on-Sea
616 reviews
0.3 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Palace Southend-on-Sea
Park Inn by Radisson Palace Sout...
#12 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
1,198 reviews
1.7 mi away
Roslin Beach Hotel
Roslin Beach Hotel
#2 of 2 in Thorpe Bay
1,538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Camelia Hotel
Camelia Hotel
#4 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
515 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Last Post
The Last Post
#5 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
289 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ilfracombe House Hotel
Ilfracombe House Hotel
#9 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gleneagles Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gleneagles Guesthouse

Property: Gleneagles Guesthouse
Address: 5 Clifftown Parade, Westcliff-on-Sea, Southend-on-Sea SS1 1DP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Southend-on-Sea > Westcliff-on-Sea
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Westcliff-on-Sea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Gleneagles Guesthouse 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gleneagles is a Grade 2 listed building built during the 1850’s.It operated as a Hotel until 2001 and now operates as a Guest House. Under new ownership Garry and Penny look forward to welcoming you soon.Gleneagles is only 15 minutes from Southend Airport and is situated in Southend’s tranquil conservation area, overlooking the beautiful cliff gardens with panoramic sea views. Over recent years Gleneagles has undergone extensive improvement and many of the mid-Victorian design characteristics have been restored the new owners intend to continue this work The Gleneagles is Visit England 4 star Guest House .We offer:• A warm and friendly welcome • Ensuite to all rooms • TV in all rooms• Tea and coffee facilities • Sea views • A quality breakfast • A peaceful location just steps from seafront and the centre of town • Free wi-fi access• Airport transfers ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and LateRooms so you can book your Gleneagles Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gleneagles Guesthouse Westcliff-On-Sea, Southend-On-Sea

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing