We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Guest houses are so far behind the times”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Gleneagles Guesthouse
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 April 2013

As a regular traveller to Southend and Ramsgate, it is not unfair for me to say that I have stayed in several different dwellings. I have come to the conclusive opinion that guest houses or the old style 'BnB' are not for me. The reason for this revelation came on Easter weekend when I stayed at the Gleneagles guest house. I arrived and really just wanted to get my keys and start my break.
We began by waiting in the hallway, which also doubles up as a reception, for several minutes before we were ushered up several flights of stairs. On the way another guest was on his way down which caused another problem because the stairs were very narrow. When we eventually came to the room the initial opinion was that is was very tiny but very clean and bright. The furniture was again very compact and was reminiscent of a room you would find in a caravan. Where space was not readily available the layout obviously suffered. The shower room door had to be a slide door the tiny bedside cabinet doubled up a the tea service and the wardobe had to be seen to be believed.
I spend very little time in the room so was unperturbed by these shortcomings and had no more concerns until the next morning. We awoke and I decided to have a shower, sliding the door aside I stepped into the space designated for the shower and toilet. The shower itself would have impressed a resident of lilliput but for a man over 6 feet tall would have meant holding the shower head above my head. Although the plumbing was such that the shower head had to be removed before the water came on and the on off tap was so loose and the nut came off. My patience gave up and I had a strip wash in the sink. The toilet although clean took an eon to refill which leads me to think that the room was a former loft and had issues with water pressure.
My previous stay in the Park Inn was completely different, the lobby and the attentive staff member booked me in and gave me directions to a lift. The keycard of which there were two opened into a gargantuan room with a kingsize bed and oodles of floor space. Wardobes that you could walk into and a wet room which was almost the size of the meagre offering of the entire room at the gleneagles. A large power shower and immaculate lodgings came a price tag of £85.00 which is £20.00 more than my recent stay. I feel I am being a little too harsh on the Gleneagles and maybe because I have came to expect more for my money and if you find yourself unable to book at the Park In or the Radisson and you can forgive the above, then the Gleneagles will provide a pleasant, clean if not a little cramped and dated place for you to explore Southend.

Room Tip: The ageing Guest houses are falling behind the quality premium hotels.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank sexypanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Garry L, Owner at Gleneagles Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2013

Dear Sexy Panda
Thank you for your comments and for your starting a debate on the future of Guest Houses. By their very nature Guest Houses are as is stated on the tin, you are entering someone’s house “as a paying guest “unlike a Hotel which is a fully commercial and often faceless operation. It is the more homely feel, that as you will, doubtless, have seen from previous reviews, many of our Guests value.
Our building was built in 1850 and is a key part of Southend’s heritage so is Grade 2 listed. This restricts very much what we can do to the interior and exterior of the building. So for example we would not be able to widen the stairs that you found narrow. The room you chose was one of our cheaper ones and was in the 1931 dormer extension (which also forms part of the listed building) and is not a loft conversion. Had you chosen to pay slightly more and less than the figure you quoted for the Park Inn, you could have had one of our premier suites, complete with a seating area overlooking the sea and a large en suite with an opening door. I do hope you might consider visiting us again and enjoy one of our premier rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (302)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

248 - 254 of 302 reviews

Reviewed 22 March 2013

This was a short visit back to Southend, where I grew up, for a touch of nostalgia. I felt right at home here.
We took the Pier Suite with its lovely bay window overlooking the estuary. It was very cold weather but the room was cosy and warm. From the hotel it is a short walk to the pier, the High Street and many eating places including a fish and chip shop which I was particularly interested in. Also, a first class Indian restaurant.
Comfortable room, wonderful view and great breakfast. A bargain. The owners who recently took this hotel over are wonderful people who undoubtedly will succeed. Thank you, Penny and Garry.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shrimper67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Garry L, Owner at Gleneagles Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2013

Dear Shrimper67

Thank you for your kind comments. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and were able to relive your childhood memories here in Southend. We are continuing to make improvements and I hope should you return you will see more changes. This week we will be opening our Coffee shop and you can either sit on the terrace or we have room inside, to enjoy light lunches and cream teas.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2013

You could probably fit the entire of the Gleneagles guest house into the dining room of the Scottish name-cousin, no actual relationship :)

But don't let that put you off, what the Gleneagles lacks in daunting size, it makes up for in just about every other way...

Helpful attentive owner-run establishment with a "bend-over-backwards" level of customer attention and a constant programme of minor hotel improvements means that every return trip to this establishment exceeds the results of the prior.

A great breakfast, freshly cooked to your exact order from a wide range of grade-A local premium produce (no corners cut here, unless you're referring to your toast) seal your perfect nights sleep in any one of the seizable, well thought out, en-suite rooms. And I've slept in just about them all!

I have been using this hotel longer than the current owners have run it and since they have taken it over in late 2012 it's just gone from strength to strength.

It's _always_ my first phone-call when I need Southend Accommodation and should be yours too!

Room Tip: They're all good, clean, sizable and well thought out and equipped. And the suites have lovely h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Xalior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Garry L, Owner at Gleneagles Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2013

Dear Xalior. Thank you got your kind comments. It is always pleasing to know that the improvements we are making are being appreciated. I am glad you find our rooms comfortable and that you enjoy the breakfast. We are proud of our achievement to source a number of the ingredients locally. I hope on your next visit you will be be able to sit on the terrace and enjoy a cream tea or light lunch. We look forward to seeing you soon. .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2013

Stayed for a couple of nights earlier this month. Great welcome by Hannah who was covering for her mother, who was on holiday. Nothing too much trouble. Instant attention to some missing towels. Great choice at breakfast, cooked exactly how you wanted it. Comfortable bed and well equipped room. Excellent location close to town, restaurants and sea front.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Garry L, Owner at Gleneagles Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2013

Dear Jim Thank you for your kind comments and we are glad you enjoyed your stay. We are so pleased that Hannah made you feel welcome, we know she ran a tight ship in our abscence! We are continually making improvements to our offer, so I hope next time you stay you will see some more changes. If you visit in the Summer you will be able to have lunch or a cream tea on our terrace, weather permitting!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2013

The Gleneagles over looks the sea front and is only a few minutes walk from the High Street. I stayed in a single room which was small but well equipped: en-suite, toiletries, TV, free wi-fi, wardrobe, drawers, fridge, tea/coffee facilities. I had a vegetarian cooked breakfast which was lovely. All this for less than £40 on a Saturday night, what more could you want?!

Room Tip: Some rooms have a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AGT123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Garry L, Owner at Gleneagles Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2013

Dear AGT 123.

Thank you for your kind comments. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. We pride ourselves on the quality of our breakfasts, using local produce wherever possible,so we are glad you enjoyed breakfast. We look forward to welcoming you again soon and hope you will see further improvements. If you wish, you will be able to enjoy a light lunch on the Terrace next time you visit.
Thanks again for staying at the Gleneagles Guest House

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2013

We have recently stayed twice at this guesthouse, in rooms with fantastic views across the estuary overlooking the pier. The new owners are incredibly hospitable and welcoming - more than you'd expect from a typical guesthouse. The rooms are very clean & well appointed, with excellent en-suite facilities. These facts alone would be enough to make a very pleasant stay, but were surpassed even further by a truly excellent breakfast, cooked personally by Garry using high quality local products. Certainly no need for lunch, given the quantity!!!!
So, all in all, a highly recommended experience - we'll be back!!

Room Tip: The Pier Suite is our favourite....ask for a sea view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gail H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Garry L, Owner at Gleneagles Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2013

Dear Gail
Thank you for your kind comments. We are so pleased you have enjoyed your stays with us. We have plans to improve our facilities and breakfast offer so I hope next time you return you will notice a difference. Happy New Year to you and your family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2012

Having just spent a few nights at Gleneagles I am pleased to recommend it. It has an excellent location, being only a few minutes walk from the pier and everything Southend has to offer. On arrival I was greeted by Penny (a lovely lady) and made my way to my room. The room was spotlessly clean and decked-out to a very good standard. It had excellent free wifi, as well as little extras like a mini fridge. Not being a morning person, I didn't sample the breakfast, but noticed they are using locally-sourced ingredients which I'm sure are excellent. Gleneagles offers excellent value for money and is - if anything - cheaper than it should be. I would not hesitate to stay again. I wish the new owners success with their venture.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SunHunterXXX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Garry L, Owner at Gleneagles Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2012

Dear SunHunter thank you very much for your feedback. Penny and I are pleased that you enjoyed your stay. We have plans to improve the facilities and our offer so hope you will enjoy your next stay even more and perhaps sample a Breakfast? We look forward to welcoming you to Gleneagles again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Westcliff-on-Sea
0.4 mi away
Muthu Westcliff Hotel
Muthu Westcliff Hotel
#2 of 5 in Westcliff-on-Sea
661 reviews
1.7 mi away
Roslin Beach Hotel
Roslin Beach Hotel
#1 of 2 in Thorpe Bay
1,711 reviews
0.3 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Palace Southend-on-Sea
Park Inn by Radisson Palace Sout...
#12 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
1,268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Camelia Hotel
Camelia Hotel
#2 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
549 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ilfracombe House Hotel
Ilfracombe House Hotel
#9 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
284 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Last Post
The Last Post
#5 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gleneagles Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gleneagles Guesthouse

Address: 5 Clifftown Parade, Westcliff-on-Sea, Southend-on-Sea SS1 1DP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Southend-on-Sea > Westcliff-on-Sea
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Westcliff-on-Sea
Price Range: £73 - £95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Gleneagles Guesthouse 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gleneagles is a Grade 2 listed building built during the 1850’s.It operated as a Hotel until 2001 and now operates as a Guest House. Under new ownership Garry and Penny look forward to welcoming you soon.Gleneagles is only 15 minutes from Southend Airport and is situated in Southend’s tranquil conservation area, overlooking the beautiful cliff gardens with panoramic sea views. Over recent years Gleneagles has undergone extensive improvement and many of the mid-Victorian design characteristics have been restored the new owners intend to continue this work The Gleneagles is Visit England 4 star Guest House .We offer:• A warm and friendly welcome • Ensuite to all rooms • TV in all rooms• Tea and coffee facilities • Sea views • A quality breakfast • A peaceful location just steps from seafront and the centre of town • Free wi-fi access• Airport transfers ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, LateRooms and Ebookers so you can book your Gleneagles Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gleneagles Guesthouse Westcliff-On-Sea, Southend-On-Sea

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing