We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A FINE STAY”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Gleneagles Guesthouse
Certificate of Excellence
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A FINE STAY”
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Stayed one night, lovely ! Owners and staff , pleasant, polite, helpful and friendly. Room comfortable, everything you need, and clean. Shower amazing, hot and powerful, ( no shower cap with me, and fixed head, but overcame it lol), Relaxing and good breakfast, plenty to eat if you want to. Amazing view. Excellent welcome tray.Easy check in and out

Room Tip: Estuary view, cos sunrise and sunsets are seriously worth seeing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KraftyKaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Garry L, Owner at Gleneagles Guesthouse, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Dear KraftyKaz

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay here at Gleneagles. I am glad you were able to enjoy the shower without the benefit of a shower cap! Many of our rooms have flexible shower heads but we will in future provide shower caps in those rooms with fixed shower heads. We look forward to seeing you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    163
    70
    16
    10
    13
See reviews for
42
106
30
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013

Having had an excellent stay here in the summer we decided to come back for 3 nights over the Christmas period to visit family in the area. We were not disappointed! The guest house was full and on Christmas morning Garry and Penny provided smoked salmon and scrambled eggs with Bucks Fizz for everyone which was a great start to the day! This is a great place to stay with excellent views and perfect hosts. The two rooms we occupied were large, clean and very comfortable. Looking forward to our next trip!!

Room Tip: The front rooms have great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 622SarahA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Garry L, Owner at Gleneagles Guesthouse, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Dear Sarah

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us . We are also pleased that you enjoyed our special Christmas day breakfast. We aim to make Christmas morning special for our Guests, as they are often staying with us as their relatives don't have room for them. We hope its a bit like being at home on Christmas morning. We look forward to seeing you both again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hornchurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Stayed for one night so we could all have a drink on my birthday night out! We had two executive rooms! Very clean, very comfortable, lovely breakfast! Nothing to fault about our stay at all!
Gorgeous view out of our window on this bright crisp November morning!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LynnieLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Garry L, Owner at Gleneagles Guesthouse, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
Dear LynnieLondon
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. I am sorry we did not find out about your birthday until after breakfast. Had we known, we would have put a candle on your Hash Brown, as we do with other Guests. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
2 reviews
Reviewed 9 November 2013

Visited Gleneagles for just one overnight stop mid-week. Gary and Penny were perfect hosts. Very welcoming. Fabulous B&B with Free parking. Breakfast to die for! Will definitely visit again one day. Many thanks.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AngiedSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Garry L, Owner at Gleneagles Guesthouse, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
Dear AngiedSurrey

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again. I am glad you enjoyed your breakfast too, which as you may have read before, contains a number of products sourced locally.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

I stayed one night while on business, The location was nice on the cliff top over looking the sea. The room was very clean and well presented. A reasonable size TV, A comfortable bed. I was not disappointed. I would certainly stay again if I was in the area.
Also a very nice Breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Garry L, Owner at Gleneagles Guesthouse, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Dear Andy R.

We are pleased you enjoyed your stay here at Gleneagles. We are also pleased that even though we weren't here our standards of service remained the same. Thank you Hannah. We do hope that your stay was enjoyable through our use of local produce at breakfast and that you were in staying one of our newly refurbished rooms. We hope to see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013

I stayed here for one night while on business in Southend. The hotel was very nice and the owners, Penny and Garry were the perfect hosts. On my arrival I was met by Garry, given room keys, directions to my room and instructions on how to use the shower. I asked about the parking charges on the street and was told not to pay but use a parking voucher that was supplied by the hotel, a great idea. The hotel, although in very quiet part of town, is only about a five to six minute walk into central Southend where you can find plenty of shops, restaurants and bars. My room (no 8) was right at the top of the hotel, not a massive room but plenty big enough for my needs, a double bed, table and chairs, flat screen TV and en-suite shower and toilet. Plenty of tea and coffee etc. and free (fast) wifi in the room. The room had great views across the seafront and river estuary.
Breakfast was very good, all the usual, fruit juice, cereals, fruit etc and a freshly cooked full English, lovely. All in all a very nice hotel, a good location and friendly staff.
It is my intention to stay here again on my next visits and look forward to the same warm and friendly welcome I received from Garry and Penny this time.

Room Tip: For the rooms at the top of the hotel there are quite a lot of stairs. If you are unable to manage a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Razor59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Garry L, Owner at Gleneagles Guesthouse, responded to this review, 13 October 2013
Dear Razor59

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We appreciate all feedback especially the nice ones ! We are glad you enjoyed your sta.y We source as much as we can from local or home made produce for our breakfast menu. I am glad our new parking arrangements worked well for you. It has taken some time to negotiate these arrangements with the council, but we are pleased they are now working. So for a small deposit you can have free parking outside.

We look forward to you staying again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

We were here on our last visit to the UK in March and came back; which says a lot considering how many other options there are. Again, we took the pier suite, great for three adults or a family. The owners and every member of the staff we have met are welcoming and helpful. Breakfast is everything you'd need (for the day, I'd say)
My advice, stay here; and book direct! I see some previous reviewers have had problems with booking.com
Thank you once again Penny and Gary for another great stay.
By the way, do WALK the pier, invigorating exercise and sea air. What more could you ask? Kinda sad to see folks taking the train. It's only a 3 mile round trip.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shrimper67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Garry L, Owner at Gleneagles Guesthouse, responded to this review, 13 October 2013
Dear Shrimper67

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. It was our pleasure to welcome you back and to meet your friends. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and that the quality of our breakfast and the service we provide, went a long way to making your stay so enjoyable. I am only sorry that the folk bands weren't playing your type of music during your stay!

We look forward to welcoming you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Westcliff-on-Sea
0.4 mi away
Muthu Westcliff Hotel
Muthu Westcliff Hotel
#2 of 5 in Westcliff-on-Sea
3.5 of 5 bubbles 578 reviews
0.3 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Palace Southend-on-Sea
Park Inn by Radisson Palace Sout...
#12 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,150 reviews
0.9 mi away
Premier Inn Southend On Sea (Eastern Esplanade) Hotel
Premier Inn Southend On Sea (Eas...
#1 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Last Post
The Last Post
#5 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
1.7 mi away
Roslin Beach Hotel
Roslin Beach Hotel
#1 of 2 in Thorpe Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,427 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ilfracombe House Hotel
Ilfracombe House Hotel
#10 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
4.0 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gleneagles Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gleneagles Guesthouse

Property: Gleneagles Guesthouse
Address: 5 Clifftown Parade, Westcliff-on-Sea, Southend-on-Sea SS1 1DP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Southend-on-Sea > Westcliff-on-Sea
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Westcliff-on-Sea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Gleneagles Guesthouse 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gleneagles is a Grade 2 listed building built during the 1850’s.It operated as a Hotel until 2001 and now operates as a Guest House. Under new ownership Garry and Penny look forward to welcoming you soon.Gleneagles is only 15 minutes from Southend Airport and is situated in Southend’s tranquil conservation area, overlooking the beautiful cliff gardens with panoramic sea views. Over recent years Gleneagles has undergone extensive improvement and many of the mid-Victorian design characteristics have been restored the new owners intend to continue this work The Gleneagles is Visit England 4 star Guest House .We offer:• A warm and friendly welcome • Ensuite to all rooms • TV in all rooms• Tea and coffee facilities • Sea views • A quality breakfast • A peaceful location just steps from seafront and the centre of town • Free wi-fi access• Airport transfers ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, LateRooms, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Gleneagles Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gleneagles Guesthouse Westcliff-On-Sea, Southend-On-Sea

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing