We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Gleneagles Guesthouse
Certificate of Excellence
Halstead
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel”
Reviewed 14 August 2014

There are not many reviews regarding solo travellers in single rooms at the Gleneagles so I feel it appropriate to write this after a recent visit.

This hotel is well managed and the staff extremely helpful and friendly. I asked for early check-in and received an email to say the room would be ready as requested. This was efficient.

My room (No 1) was very clean and could not fault this aspect. The room was, however, very small. I felt very cramped and found it hard to relax. I would suggest the room was about 9' x 12' with a shower/toilet and of course a bed fitted into this space.

Despite having a top window open upon arrival it was quite stuffy and I could not get any air flow throughout my stay. A good tip would be to get a proper fan that could circulate the air better. It was especially stuffy (almost tropical) after using the shower.

The room is at the back of the hotel and unfortunately has views onto surrounding properties so another unfortunate situation. Perhaps other single rooms are better. Not really convinced I received value in this instance for the near £50 charge.

Room Tip: Try to get a front facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Observer2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Garry L, Owner at Gleneagles Guesthouse, responded to this review, 12 September 2014
Dear Observer2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are glad you found our services of a high standard. I am sorry you found the room a little small but it tends to be the case for single rooms in our experience, however next time you might consider a double room as a single occupant which would only cost £3 more . We consider our prices are extremely competitive in relation to the standard of service of we offer. We look forward to seeing you again .soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    163
    70
    16
    10
    13
See reviews for
42
106
30
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

My husband and myself have never had a break in the eight years we have been together and as we have an elderly relative live with us it is difficult to get away. We opted for a night away with a guesthouse who would not mind us turning up at 10-30pm after everyone was settled at ours for the night. However, we had to have somewhere in Westcliff as we could not go too far!! Gleneagles seemed perfect for us.The owners are fantastic, service brilliant and the estuary suite was so comfortable, we slept like logs! Enjoyed so much and feeling relaxed we are going to go back again as soon as possible!

Room Tip: If you have the money, go for a sea view suite, well worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Garry L, Owner at Gleneagles Guesthouse, responded to this review, 12 September 2014
Dear Wendy K

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we are very pleased you enjoyed your short stay us. I am sorry you were not able to sample our breakfast but perhaps next time you can stay a little longer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

We stayed one weekend night as an extended family and found the Gleneagles B&B absolutely lovely. Our rooms were clean and fresh and had everything we needed. There was plenty of provision for the children and the staff couldn't do enough to help and make our stay as pleasant as possible. My daughter and her family stayed in the Garden Suite which is excellent and allowed us the use of our own sitting room and the delightful patio garden with fishpond.
We all enjoyed our delicious breakfast which included a lot of local produce and was cooked and supplied to all our varying requirements with friendly and efficient ease.
We will definitely stay again when we go back to Southend.

Room Tip: Garden Suite is lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Giwis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Garry L, Owner at Gleneagles Guesthouse, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear Giwis

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our team work hard to ensure that our Guests feel at home . We are particularly pleased that our new garden suite worked well for all the family . Thank you for test driving it. We look forward to having you stay again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Strood
Level Contributor
56 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Stayed one night while visiting our daughter. The Gleneagles looks delightful , with its welcoming terrace cafe and pretty, colourful garden.
Parking permit ( deposit of £20) is given to you so parking is free. We luckily had the space right outside hotel. ( Permit did not have to be given in when you checked out at 11:00 so you retained the free parking, and the space til you went home)
We had the top room, Number 10, which had a double and a single bed which did not had a sea view. The room was clean and the white bedlinen fresh and the beds comfortable.
There were a lot of stairs to the top which was not a problem to us ,but you might want to request a lower floor if stairs are a problem.
We were greeted by the cheerful owner who seemed be in charge in the kitchen. He said we could check in early as no one was in there yesterday, which was handy.
We then enjoyed a coffee and a delicious slice of cake on the sunny terrace, then met up with our daughter and had a tasty lunch of pannini, bagette and ploughmans. Then...... while waiting to met up with her again in the evening we took advantage of The Gleneagles sunny terrace once again for a beer and a wine.......
Breakfast was eaten, once again on the sunny terrace... it was delicious , one of the best breakfast we have had at a B and B guesthouse. This were served by the lady of the house, who made sure we had all we wanted.We then checked out and took a long walk along the pier and back and fancied a coffee in the sun....where else but back to the peaceful Gleneagles terrace! We had a lovely weekend at The gleneagles and thank the guesthouse for a lovely stay. We will definitely return on our next trip to visit our daughter. We would recommend The Gleneagles for a weekend stay in Southend.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karen g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Garry L, Owner at Gleneagles Guesthouse, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear karen g

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and were able to enjoy all that Gleneagles has to offer. We try to ensure wherever possible all of our produce is sourced or supplied locally and this helps to ensure the quality of our offer. I know our Butcher reads the reviews and will be very pleased the quality of the Breakfast was recognised .
We hope to see you again soon, when you next visit your daughter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Well this place is a little gem. Ten minutes walk from Southend Central Station, 5 minutes from the beach and arcades, etc, this quiet B&B boasts sea views in an ideal location.
A family run business, Penny and Garry are hard-working friendly couple who source their food from local butchers and farmers and that means the breakfast is the best bar none. Afternoon tea in the afternoon - huge cakes and scones which we did not have the time to try, sadly, but gives us an excuse to come back another time doesn't it?
Our stay in room 9 at the top was lovely. Very clean, working shower and tv, coffee facilities, firm bed, everything you need. Staff are friendly and helpful and informative and have the 'nothing is too much trouble' attitude which is nice.
All in all a lovely stay. Will definitely stay there again when we travel to Southend.

Room Tip: Room 9 had a sea view and was right at the top. Not sure about the others. Worth ringing the hotel d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Garry L, Manager at Gleneagles Guesthouse, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear Andy W

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and all we have to offer . I do hope you will try our Afternoon Tea which was recently reviewed by a connoisseur as the best they had ever had. I am glad you recognised the quality of th breakfast offering and our Butcher will be pleased you have enjoyed his fare, though the cooking does come into play too!

We hope to see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falmouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Really enjoyed my time in Southend and had the Gleneagles recommended by a friend. It's a great affordable guesthouse with lovely easy going staff. Great location on the seafront too. And the breakfasts were delicious.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luke R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Garry L, Owner at Gleneagles Guesthouse, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear Luke R

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. Our team works hard to treat you as Guest in our House and we seem to have succeeded. We use much local produce for our breakfasts which helps to make them special.
we hope you might stay with us again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

stayed here for three nights in june 2014
had a big suite style room which was very comfortable
breakfast was plentiful and hot also the little teashop served lovely tea and scones in the afternoon(for a charge)
we found the owner to be very knowledgable about the area
we went on the train to leigh-on-sea and also the train on the pier
we also went to the good old day's show at the palace theatre
all in all a good stay and would definitely stay here again

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank willow59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Garry L, Owner at Gleneagles Guesthouse, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear willow59

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and our scones which are mode by our local cake maker. Our Butcher will be pleased to that you enjoyed his produce at breakfast , but it may have been the way it was cooked as well!
we look forward to seeing you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Westcliff-on-Sea
0.4 mi away
Westcliff Hotel
Westcliff Hotel
#2 of 5 in Westcliff-on-Sea
3.5 of 5 bubbles 578 reviews
0.3 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Palace Southend-on-Sea
Park Inn by Radisson Palace Sout...
#12 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,150 reviews
0.9 mi away
Premier Inn Southend On Sea (Eastern Esplanade) Hotel
Premier Inn Southend On Sea (Eas...
#1 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Last Post
The Last Post
#5 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
1.7 mi away
Roslin Beach Hotel
Roslin Beach Hotel
#1 of 2 in Thorpe Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,425 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ilfracombe House Hotel
Ilfracombe House Hotel
#10 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
4.0 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gleneagles Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gleneagles Guesthouse

Property: Gleneagles Guesthouse
Address: 5 Clifftown Parade, Westcliff-on-Sea, Southend-on-Sea SS1 1DP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Southend-on-Sea > Westcliff-on-Sea
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Westcliff-on-Sea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Gleneagles Guesthouse 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gleneagles is a Grade 2 listed building built during the 1850’s.It operated as a Hotel until 2001 and now operates as a Guest House. Under new ownership Garry and Penny look forward to welcoming you soon.Gleneagles is only 15 minutes from Southend Airport and is situated in Southend’s tranquil conservation area, overlooking the beautiful cliff gardens with panoramic sea views. Over recent years Gleneagles has undergone extensive improvement and many of the mid-Victorian design characteristics have been restored the new owners intend to continue this work The Gleneagles is Visit England 4 star Guest House .We offer:• A warm and friendly welcome • Ensuite to all rooms • TV in all rooms• Tea and coffee facilities • Sea views • A quality breakfast • A peaceful location just steps from seafront and the centre of town • Free wi-fi access• Airport transfers ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, LateRooms, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Gleneagles Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gleneagles Guesthouse Westcliff-On-Sea, Southend-On-Sea

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing