We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An inexpensive, clean place to get your head down.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Welbeck Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Welbeck Hotel
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“An inexpensive, clean place to get your head down.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2011

I needed a place to bed down for the night that wasn't going to cost me a fortune. I stayed in a single room at the back of the hotel that wasn't en-suite, but shared a bathroom with one other room. My room was a bit tatty, but it was very clean indeed, with a comfortable bed, clean bedding and towels, and a bar of soap with a kettle and tea making facilities. I was so tired, I didn't check to see if the TV in the corner was working, but it looked fine.

In the morning I had a hot shower in an old but very functional shower, and was on my way after picking up a receipt.

My only quibble might be that there is parking, but it isn't for the novice driver. A colleague also stayed, and said he decided against leaving his car in the car park, as it was a bit tight.


I got the room for £20 which I though was perfect, and at that price the room was a bargain.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    21
    16
    5
    15
See reviews for
15
19
12
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2011

Sorry have not got a clue what the previous reviewer is on about listen if you need another glass OJ then open your mouth!! This hotel is cheap and cheerful and very clean. After a days work this place is like home from home. Staff are very friendly and accommodating. Floorboards didn't seem to be a problem either (strange thing to say?) this just makes it more homely! Breakfast was good and filling. Sausage, bacon, eggs, hash brown and beans, hardly a child's portion! Oh with two slices! As soon as my new contract comes through I will be booking again.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank reviewexpert012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2011

This hotel is quite pleasant but having to stay in Hotels on a regular basis I think they need to up their game to get repeat trade.
The staff are helpful and the bed comfortable. So far so good.
The things that don’t help are: Floorboards that appear to have never been secured. Whoever gets up in the middle of the night in which ever room wakes everybody up. They are a constant pain, so much so that you find yourself hopping around the room trying to land on the most secure board.
Shelving left un-cleaned. This shelf was in the bathroom and had two glasses on it. It would be the shelf that you would expect to put your toiletries. It was thick with gunk and in places was turning green! Needless to say I kept my toiletries in the bedroom. Soap was the cheapest foul smelling pink tablets that I thought had gone out with the ark? The TV was tiny and only had the terrestrial channels with no main aerial available? Please this should not be happening so close to the switch over to digital! What are you waiting for?
Breakfast was what I and fellow guests called a children’s meal. On arrival to the breakfast room you were allowed one small glass of orange juice with no chance of topping it up. There were 4 yogurts on offer but with 8 rooms you had to be quick! Toast! I have never ever been offered just one slice of bread for toast, what is going on? Make the breakfast worth sitting down to and you have won half the battle. The traditional breakfast was a quick snack at best. Very disappointing. The worst part about breakfast was having the owner look at you through the very low level hatch, speaking to you every time they caught your eye. With the radio on quite loud it was impossible to hear what they were saying which led to many embarrassing nods and smiles. If you want a conversation come out in to the dining room!
Overall the down points outweighed the good and I will not be stopping there again. However with a little effort the owners could make this a place worth visiting but whatever you do, please sort out the bloody floorboards!

Room Tip: Ask for one with secure floorboards
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Westcliff-on-Sea hotels

Dana Point
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2011

nice size room but cracked bathroom sink, no light bulb over sink, scruffy linoleum in bathroom, and although the sheets were always very clean the headboard was black with dirt. I cleaned the room using the bathroom towels, and found a pizza receipt from Jan.2011 on the floor.
The noise level from a nightclub close by (I was in the back of the building) was pretty disturbing but understand there's not much the hotel can do about that.
Never saw the bar open or the lounge, and they are now only serving breakfast on w/e.
Had 2 breakfasts, the first was terrible, asked for poached eggs on toast and got what might have been nuked eggs! 2nd was great. Owners are very pleasant
I was in one room 12 nights and never saw the carpet get vacumed. Fortunately I was only there to sleep and it fit my budget.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DevonshireDanaPoint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sawbridgeworth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2010

Just got home from an overnight stay at the Welbeck. Three friends booked three single rooms. All the rooms were fairly basic but had lovely comfortable beds and were really clean. The staff were lovely, and the breakfast brilliant. All for £27 each! I would heartily recommend this hotel to anyone staying in the area

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruthnor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2010

My wife and I had a very pleasant overnight stay. Our double room was spacious,clean,warm and comfortable.Friendly staff and a good breakfast selection.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank seasidejoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2009

i stayed at this place due to the location and excellent prices given when telephoning. The owner Brenda is very corteous and helpful and nothing is too much trouble. The room is basic but very clean which is reflected in the pricing.
All in all if you are wishing to stay in a homely environment with basic accomodation and excellent links to nearby atractions, then Welbeck Hotel is definately for you.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank reviewexpert012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Westcliff-on-Sea
0.5 mi away
Westcliff Hotel
Westcliff Hotel
#2 of 5 in Westcliff-on-Sea
3.5 of 5 bubbles 564 reviews
0.1 mi away
Southend Guest House
Southend Guest House
#4 of 5 in Westcliff-on-Sea
3.0 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
1.8 mi away
Premier Inn Southend On Sea (Eastern Esplanade) Hotel
Premier Inn Southend On Sea (Eas...
#1 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 654 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Gleneagles Guesthouse
Gleneagles Guesthouse
#1 of 5 in Westcliff-on-Sea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
1.2 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Palace Southend-on-Sea
Park Inn by Radisson Palace Sout...
#12 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,123 reviews
2.3 mi away
Skylark Hotel
Skylark Hotel
#3 of 3 in Rochford
3.0 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Welbeck Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Welbeck Hotel

Property: The Welbeck Hotel
Address: 27 Palmerston Road | Southend On Sea, Westcliff-on-Sea, Southend-on-Sea SS0 7TA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Southend-on-Sea > Westcliff-on-Sea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Westcliff-on-Sea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Welbeck Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is in an ideal location for visitors to the historic area, being just two minutes' walk from the beautiful town seafront and all its amenities. And if you need to get about, we are also less than 10 minutes' drive from London Southend Airport and within very easy reach of main road and rail links to London and beyond. Whether you are staying for a holiday or are working in the area, our guest facilities will provide everything you need to make your stay enjoyable at a highly competitive rate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Welbeck Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Welbeck Hotel Westcliff-On-Sea, Southend-On-Sea

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing