We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (96)
Filter reviews
96 results
Traveller rating
13
24
24
9
26
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
13
24
24
9
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviews comfortable bed nice room sea front lorraine southend
Filter
Updating list...
74 - 79 of 96 reviews
Reviewed 25 June 2013 via mobile

Friendly, helpful staff.
Room was spacious and clean.
Bed was very hard and uncomfortable, and room cold at night.
Light from corridor shone into room at night, making it very difficult to sleep.
Furnishings shabby.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RosaW1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2012

we stayed on the first of december so very cold outside. very warm inside & a warm welcome to
from the owners & every one was very helpfull
room was nice & clean hot shower etc
at breakfast there was a good choice fruit juices & cereals, included with the full english and toast that we had. We have been staying at the wellbeck for the past three years when visiting family in westcliffe - on - sea, and have always found it to be very good, also good value for money, And no doubt will be staying there next time we visit.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tebworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2012

My family stayed at the Wellbeck hotel in Southend 26th-28th October to attend my daughters wedding. We recieved a lovely welcome even although we arrived very late. My elderly parents were given a large comfortable room suitable to their needs.the hotel is very close to the train station , shops and beach front. We found the hotel very comfortable,clean with good facilites.The breakfast was excellent and service first class , nothing seemed too much to ask!
The hotel may not be 5star but the welcome ,service and facilites are excellent value for money.
Would highly recommend
MH Glasgow

Room Tip: Clean comfortable rooms on the first floor .
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2012

Booked online and response was great communication.Really pleased all round...Very comfortable & very good value for money so we were happy with the stay and will hopefully be staying again if in this area or near.So for the price and the area was actually above our expectations.Many thanks Dennis :-)

Room Tip: Room 4 was a very cosy,bright,comfortable & welcoming.Shower was good also.I would highly recommend this room as it was our first stay :-) Thanks once again Dennis
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Annabob2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2012

The staff in this hotel were very friendly and welcoming. The hotel is in a good position five mins away from station and one minute from the beach. If you like walking you can walk to southend in twenty five mins. Chalkwell in about twenty and another twenty five is Leigh On Sea which is also a lovely place to visit. Town centre about fifteen minutes. The hotel needs alot of work done on it also could do with being alot cleaner eg spider webs covering the window. Saying that the beds were comfortable and there was tea and coffee in the rooms. Rooms are £55 for two people including breakfast. Breakfast is choice from yogurts, fruit, cereal plus a choice of breakfast from menu. Service was good and were helpful. There are no lifts so you would need to check where your room is if you cant use stairs. I would go back as it is a good home base for the area for what i need. Decoration and cleanliness lets it down unfortunately.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms have bunk beds so check first if your child cannot sleep in one yet.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sandra W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews