We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent food and great staff”

The White Hart Hotel Restaurant
Ranked #8 of 80 Restaurants in Witham
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$26
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, International, Grill, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Bar Scene, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Kids, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, After-hours, Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Basildon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent food and great staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

Took a couple of young ladies (91 & 87 ) for lunch very impressed with the food and service ,best veg I have eaten for a long time ,roast beef very tender and tasty ,very fair prices

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank edgun3452
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    110
    57
    10
    7
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

Usually very good took husband and kids for meal on fathers day very short staffed. One waitress missed the carvey but husband still went for roast of the day tin foil bits all in dinner and hair in my meal. Did complain and refund given on main meal but still disappointing!

Helpful?
3 Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Excellent food and staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

If you want a friendly atmosphere and excellent food that wont break the bank...... Come here! Their platters are excellent value and the kiwi burger is awesome. The staff are always cheery and the new look is a winner!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gillypoppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herts
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Excellent Sunday Lunch not so great mid week”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

We have always had a fantastic Sunday Lunch here with great service & a carvery that betters a well know Carvery chain but visited in the week expecting the same standard only to be disappointed.
We walked in the back (restaurant/car park entrance) and were ignored by staff for a good 5 minutes when we approached them ourselves as to where to sit and were told ,rather gruffly , to sit where we liked and order at the bar. Fine , but went to a table that needed cleaning so had to change , there were no lunch time special deals like the other pubs and ordered at the bar as requested . The food was average but the waitress was friendly. The people we were with commented "Remind us not to go back there & after you'd give it such high recommendations too !" I felt quite let down. All in All we wouldn't go back in the week but it wouldn't stop us going back for their carvery !

  • Visited June 2014
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Debra70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhitehartCM8, Manager at The White Hart Hotel Restaurant, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear Debra,

I am so sorry that this was the service you received when you visited us. As you mentioned in your review this was not the normal service you had experienced before. Please would you be so kind to let me know the date and time of your visit so I can investigate what happened with the level of customer service you received.

Kind regards
Jo Street
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Pete”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014 via mobile

Was looking foward to the 8 gravity ales to complement the existing 6 pumps,only to find that the night I was there only 2 ales were guest and all the others GREEN KING so not good for me as a CAMRA member,so must do better as there soon will be competition from the spead eagle soon to open as an ale bar,hopefully no greedy king there!!

Helpful?
1 Thank Peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhitehartCM8, Owner at The White Hart Hotel Restaurant, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Hi Peter, sorry this was the case when you popped in. Due to the resounding success of the new cask ale bar and several barrels from various brewers that were below our standard of quality and were returned we did run short of guest ales that weekend. We have now resolved those issues and I can assure you we have a greater range of guest ales at all times. We hope you do visit us again to sample our range and perhaps enjoy our great food offering as well!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The White Hart Hotel Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to The White Hart Hotel Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing