We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly, Nice & Tidy” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rivenhall Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Rivenhall Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Witham
Dublin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Friendly, Nice & Tidy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2012

I was with friends and visiting a common friend around that area. That was the main reason that we picked this hotel. The place is very nice, the stuff quite friendly and the rooms were tidy and clean. The only issue we had was the wall heater, which is actually the only source of heating for some rooms. It was a very cold day and it was not enough, as our room was a little bit cold. The price we got the rooms was fair. Didn't have time to try the breakfast, but looked (and smelled) quite nice!-)

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Yannis D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

358 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    85
    65
    74
    87
See reviews for
62
114
8
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2012

I stayed at the hotel after a wedding that was held there. Overall found the staff very friendly and the food at wedding was good. The rooms were appaling though. Room I stayed in had wall fixed heater that seemed to be on some kind of timer but without an instruction manual (which was probably lost back in the 70's when it was installed) there was no way I could operate it. Being november room was freezing. The matress on the bed was the lumpiest I have ever slept on...well I tried to sleep on it. Overall the worst nights sleep I've had in a long time. There was a nice new flat screen TV in the room and cant help but think the money could have been better spent elsewhere. The bathroom needs a refurb but was clean. The signs in the bathroom about water being boiling hot weren't wrong. Speaking to other guests the next morning they had same problem with heaters. Told reception about it but they didnt do much other than make a note to get someone to look at it. Room was very overpriced for what it was. Better warmer, comfier, cheaper rooms at a travelodge. I had planned to use pool but was just desperate to get home by morning so didn't. I only stayed for the wedding and wont be staying again or recomending for anyone else to stay.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel or if you really must stay the rooms upstairs sounded better. But theres only a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FMP31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Witham hotels

essex
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2012

We wanted a one night deal with evening meal and breakfast included, we got all this for £49.00 at this hotel. We got there at 2.00pm the receptionist was a bit cold and clinical she directed us to our room 601 it was large and spacious we had a queen size bed and even had a sofa in the room. Yes the bathroom could do with updating but it was very clean.

7.00pm we went for a lovely meal it was excellent! The waitress Lucy was very attentive and friendly could not fault her. Service was excellent and food was quick at being served and hot!

The breakfast was good, and pleanty of choice.

The checkout was a bit poor yet again the cold and clinical receptionist.

We had a nice restful stay and we got everything we wanted for a fantastic price.

We could have used the leisure facilities but we didn't.

We will be returning in the near future.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jusalter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton keynes
Level Contributor
147 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2012

Been here before, doesn’t get any better. It’s very cheap.. but even so it’s way over priced.
The room, small musky and FREEZING.. The only heating an antique wall mounted fan heater. I considered putting my hands in the Corby trouser press to warm them…

The bar served warm, and slightly flat later, in a room with one piece of furniture to suit every bad taste element of the last 5 centuries…

The restaurant – Like Faulty Towers, Really. And the cod in batter was looked like something from the Iceland economy range that had been deep fried for double the recommended time. I actually skipped the included desert… I could not cope with the disappointment.

The WiFi extends from the reception desk to nowhere useful, and the bar entertainment is a large screen showing football.

The bed, when I lay on it and rolled, the plastic mattress cover crackled as it flexed and the springs poked me in uncomfortable places. Something bit me.

Breakfast, the coffee was luke warm and everything else below Little Chef standards...

These guys really need to spend a night in a Premier Lodge, Holiday Inn Express or a tent… then spend a night in their own hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravellinBaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2012

I went on a spa day and found it most un spa like. The food was average, the service poor although the staff were nice. There were not many of them and we had to wait ages to get seen to even though we were the only ones in the restaurant. The treatment I had was good (massage) but the pool area was full of kids and very busy. Small changing area - 2 showers and a small changing bench along with the poorest hairdrying contraption I have ever seen . Not the relaxing experience I expected.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Leanne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
essex
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2012

I took my daughter-in-law for her birthday for afternoon tea and spa. As she is gluten intolerant I was concerned that maybe they would be unable to accommodate her. But to the contrary they made a very special lunch for her whilst I enjoyed a very beautiful afternoon tea at no extra cost to either of us. We then proceeded to enjoy a few hours of leisure swimming in the pool, relaxing in the hot tub and using the steam room and sauna. The staff were exceptionally helpfully and I would certainly recommend this venue to anyone who wanted to buy this as a special gift for someone special.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank joe58Essex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2012 via mobile

Had a nice spa day arranged with a friend which included afternoon tea, what a disappointment!! Arrived at the spa to find the changing room soaking wet and the floor filthy no where to put clothes whilst changing especially when 4 other ladies arrived. Poolside only had 2 sun loungers so there so no chance of lying round the pool relaxing. Jacuzzi looked like something out of the 60's and not very appealing, so we decided to leave what a disappointment.

Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank mandys272
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Witham
10.1 mi away
Pontlands Park
Pontlands Park
#1 of 1 in Great Baddow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
6.5 mi away
Essex Golf & Country Club
Essex Golf & Country Club
#1 of 2 in Earls Colne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
24.2 mi away
Orsett Hall
Orsett Hall
#1 of 1 in Orsett
4.0 of 5 bubbles 540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Marks Tey Hotel
3.3 mi away
Prested Hall Hotel
Prested Hall Hotel
#1 of 3 in Feering
4.5 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
14.1 mi away
Greenwoods Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rivenhall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rivenhall Hotel

Property: Rivenhall Hotel
Address: Rivenhall End, Witham CM8 3BH, England (Formerly Jarvis Rivenhall)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Witham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Witham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Rivenhall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotel.de, Priceline, Agoda, HRS and Ebookers so you can book your Rivenhall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rivenhall Hotel Witham, Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing