We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“80th Birthday”
Review of Rivenhall Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Rivenhall Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Witham
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“80th Birthday”
Reviewed 28 March 2014

My Sister and I along with our families and some friends took my mum for a surprise 80th Birthday dinner to the Rivenhall Hotel in a Limo in February, we were welcomed when we arrived and shown to our table which was set out lovely, My Mum does not liked to be rushed and was pleased that this was not the case here with a very relaxed atmosphere and patient waitering staff, The young Waitress stood at the end of the table and told us about the specials on for the night and then handed out the menus, the Food was Absolutely fantastic and the service from the waitering staff were brilliant, as my mum said attentive without being in your face, The Head Chef came out to see if everything was ok after our main course which I thought was a nice touch. Overall a very enjoyable evening for our mum and a big thanks to the Rivenhall hotel staff for being very proffessional

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank keith b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    91
    67
    78
    87
See reviews for
68
121
8
64
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Essex
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed for one evening. Rooms were adequate but very small and dated. Bathroom was very unwelcoming and the room was tired and needed decorating. I've stayed at various hotels for the price we paid and either the cost needs to be reduced to stay here or they need to refurbish the hotel.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Lexib82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Witham hotels

London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014

This was my second year having Christmas dinner with my family and i must say we had a very lovely experience, there was 21 of us including 6 children and 2 of these were under the age of 5, all the children receieved a small present which was a very kind gesture, the christmas menu was tweeked a little bit by some of family and i must say the staff were very accommodating,we all had good size portions and we all had our food at the same time, nothing was to much trouble, the service was outstanding. i can honestly say that we will definitely consider going back again a third year and recomend this to anyone thinking of eating out christmas day.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Teena69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
Level Contributor
65 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014 via mobile

Okay for a flying visit. Rooms pretty cramped but clean and a good nights sleep. Showers were pretty poor so I showered at the attached gym which hotel guests can use for free. You just need a pound for the lockers.

Food in the main restaurant was okay. Nothing special but was cooked. Breakfast was good with a great selection of cereals, drinks, bread and fruit.

Bar area had a tv and a bar menu which was good enough.

Very "budget" hotel but okay for a night but not good enough for a weekend or family break.

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank 1bellagio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 9 March 2014 via mobile

Only stayed one night, my observations are that the hotel needs a complete revamp. Bar area furniture is tired, although rustic feel some of the furniture is in v poor condition. The room allocated to us initially was dark and smelly with cracked tiles in the bathroom and the glazing in the bath was peeling. However staff were v friendly and offered alternative room immediately, although better, still below expectations as the room was very plain and no character. Hotel cleaning in general needs to be improved as all windows are shockingly smeared and dirty. Furniture is also sticky. Sweet smell in corridors indicates that carpets need less perfume vac and new ones should be purchased. Hotel should not advertise spa as facilities are completely inadequate. On the up side breakfast was good. I would not choose to return.








Hotel in general looks tired and needs a good clean as corridors are smelly and paintwork is chipped, windows are shockingly dirty. Hotel should not advertise a spa as facilities are completely inadequate.

Helpful?
Thank carol s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014 via mobile

Although the reception, bar and dinning area is lovely.. the food is to die for.. amazing! Me my mum and nan were really disappointed with the corridors and rooms.. old fashioned, smelly. The mattress on the sofa bed was stained/dirty you couldnt sleep on there. Also on their website it show pictures of spa treatments, we then found out that their beauty theropist had left in november which is false advertisment. All we got was a complimentry drink! Terrible. If they were to take all out and renew everything then i will probably stay there again but right now i wont. I was really upset with what we found!

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Amy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2014

I stopped at the hotel for 4 nights with work in Jan 2014.

I had read a lot of the reviews on here after I'd booked the hotel and was worried about what my room, staff and facilities would be like. I rung the hotel and politely told them the situation and that I was concerned about the reviews I'd read, the lady I spoke to said they would make sure I was in one of the newly refurbished rooms.

I arrived at the hotel, checked in with ease and then went to find my room which was was lovely and warm, clean. I can understand people saying it is like a motel because the layout is very much like a motel.

I settled in and then went to use the leisure facilities, again the staff were chatty and helpful. Yes, the pool is quite small, possibly 6 metres but when there is 2 or 3 people in the pool you can still have a good swim. I used the pool, sauna, steam room and jacuzzi on 3 nights of my stay and found it clean with good showers and the water in the pool was lovely and warm.

I found the breakfast fine, it was lovely with lots of choice of cereal, juice and fruit as well as a full English.

All of the staff I spoke to were easy going, chatty and helpful and I would defo stop there again if I was away with work in the area.

I told the lady on the desk when I checked out pretty much what I've written in the this review and I know there is going to be lots of renovation across the hotel and facilities to keep improving things.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank robmhomer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Witham
10.1 mi away
Pontlands Park
Pontlands Park
#1 of 1 in Great Baddow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
6.5 mi away
Essex Golf & Country Club
Essex Golf & Country Club
#1 of 2 in Earls Colne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
6.9 mi away
Best Western Marks Tey Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.1 mi away
Greenwoods Hotel & Spa
3.4 mi away
Prested Hall Hotel
Prested Hall Hotel
#1 of 3 in Feering
4.5 of 5 bubbles 527 reviews
24.2 mi away
Orsett Hall
Orsett Hall
#1 of 1 in Orsett
4.0 of 5 bubbles 559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rivenhall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rivenhall Hotel

Property: Rivenhall Hotel
Address: Rivenhall End, Witham CM8 3BH, England (Formerly Jarvis Rivenhall)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Witham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Witham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Rivenhall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Rivenhall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rivenhall Hotel Witham, Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing