We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Convenient Location for sightseeing” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rivenhall Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rivenhall Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Witham
Swansea South Wales
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Convenient Location for sightseeing”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

The staff were very friendly and helpful, the breakfast excellent and we enjoyed an evening meal in the restaurant. Our room in the main building was very comfortable, spacious and relatively quiet. A good location for visiting the whole of Essex, neighbouring Cambridgeshire and Suffolk. Great spa treatments.

Room Tip: Only the rooms in main building have Wi Fi. Some rooms are probably much noisier than others due to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gaenor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rivenhall, General Manager at Rivenhall Hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Thank you for your comments and we are glad you enjoyed your experience with us and your Spa Treatments so we do hope you will be back to visit us again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

358 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    85
    65
    74
    87
See reviews for
62
114
8
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
80 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

Was booked a spa day as a present, terrible food, ancient place, tiny pool, dirty, smelled BAD, just nothing appealing but I felt sorry for the staff because they did their very best in a place that clearly needs a massive amount of money spent as clearly none has been spent on it since the 80's. Do not touch with the proverbial barge poole

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Boofie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Witham hotels

Colchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

We just had our Wedding Reception at this hotel and also stayed the night along with many of our family. The whole event was fabulous from start to finish. The staff are some of the best we've come across and the food and service excellent. The morning after our wedding the hotel had set up a beautiful room for us all to sit down together and enjoy a leisurely breakfast. Nothing was too much trouble and it really finished off what had been a superb weekend. We only live in the next village but will definitely be returning to eat in the Restaurant and can't thank the hotel enough for the large part they played in our special day.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rivenhall, General Manager at Rivenhall Hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Thank you so much for your kind comments as all the staff do work hard to ensure our guests have a pleasant stay with us.
We are glad your special day went well and we look forward to seeing you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

Think this is the worst hotel I have stayed at need revamping Now finding it hard to subscribe this hotel. Apart from staff being nice
The hotel not very clean well not my clean and I not posh could not wash our hands in the bathroom sink taps so close to the edge that the water only runs down side of sink so when trying to wash hands you up up splashing water all over floor.
There was a wedding party going on noise from the disc the people working up and down the corridor marks it hard to sleep.
Breakfast was not that good sausages was fat and hard witch give me bad Hart burn eggs was cold not choice of how u would like them cooked.
I was lucky I called the hotel to ask if rooms have air conditioning as it was hot I was told no bring a fan if you have one.
I would not stay there again

Helpful?
Thank kim b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

I was very disappointed with my stay at this hotel.
At first when we book in there was a wedding reception going on so we was unable to get to the desk to book in. The lady at the desk said they will be gone soon going to they wedding party we was given the key to our room it was just outside the main reception in a corridor the room was small but the wedding guests had to come passed and the noise was like the party was in our room.
We went back and ask to b moved we was offered one but was told the music from the party would be loud so i said no thanks. Then was told to wait for someone else to have a look she did move us to another room that room that room was still small and tired but in a better position in the hotel.
When I went to wash my hands in the bathroom the taps was so close to the edge of the sink I could not get to the water so in the end the water ended up all over the floor the tolet did not flash properly.
Lucky I called the hotel and asked if they had air conditioning in room as it was so hot was told no but if you have a fan bring it with you so we did luckily we did.
The staff was very nice but sadly the hotel was a big let down for what we paid for as in bed and breakfast witch was not very good all this for £101what a joke and they make you pay for room before you are given the key they are not stupid are they I was never again wast of money.
Would not recommend this hotel ever.

Room Tip: Don't just go by the picture's the hotel put on there web site read all the reviews and call...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kim b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

I'm not one to complain but this hotel I wouldn't stay again. The room was very dated, had mould stains on the curtains and walls, windows would not open was very stuffy, air con didn't work, dirty bed covers, hair in the bath and dried wee stains in the loo, was not a pretty site.
Was a very hot and stuffy room to sleep in.
Breakfast room also was very dated, I had a hair in my beans, so I didn't enjoy my breakfast, the room was very hot and stuffy.
One good point was the staff, very polite and friendly, just a big shame let down on the hotel itself.
Sorry.

Room Tip: I wouldn't even stay here in the rooms very dirty! No tips!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vicky L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

I am writing as we spent some time here, whilst our friends came down from up north and we must say how well trained and courteous the staff were throughout their stay. The quality of their breakfast and day service was impeccable with stringent table laying, high quaility bespoke breakfast depending on what you required, lunch was ample and well laid out with plenty of refreshment options. The receptionist and staff were particularly pleasant, giving our guest 5 star service even though this is a 3 star hotel! The actual layout of the hotel in the main area is lovely with a beautiful pool and leisure facilities to the side, including jacuzzi and sauna, etc. The hotel is going through some refurbishments right now to bring the rooms up to the standard of the rest of the venue. The rooms are basic, but clean and the beds comfortable but it is in need of modernisation and we do reccommend that staying here is well worth the money paid. Thank you to all of Rivenhall for taking good care of our friends whilst they visited, special thanks to Nicki for making them feel really looked after!

Room Tip: A room in the main part of the building fares better than the ones outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelduo2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rivenhall, General Manager at Rivenhall Hotel, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Thank you so much for all your kind and honest comments and I will ensure ALL staff get to hear that their hard work to keep all our guests happy is rewarded by your excellent feedback.

We hope your friends will not hesiate to stay with us again and see the improvements will continue to make within the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Witham
10.1 mi away
Pontlands Park
Pontlands Park
#1 of 1 in Great Baddow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
6.5 mi away
Essex Golf & Country Club
Essex Golf & Country Club
#1 of 2 in Earls Colne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
24.2 mi away
Orsett Hall
Orsett Hall
#1 of 1 in Orsett
4.0 of 5 bubbles 544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Marks Tey Hotel
3.3 mi away
Prested Hall Hotel
Prested Hall Hotel
#1 of 3 in Feering
4.5 of 5 bubbles 509 reviews
14.1 mi away
Greenwoods Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rivenhall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rivenhall Hotel

Property: Rivenhall Hotel
Address: Rivenhall End, Witham CM8 3BH, England (Formerly Jarvis Rivenhall)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Witham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Witham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Rivenhall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotel.de, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Rivenhall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rivenhall Hotel Witham, Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing