We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful”
Review of Rivenhall Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Rivenhall Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Witham
Reviewed 24 August 2007

August 2007-We have just returned from a two night stay at this hotel. Nice main areas and resturant no complaints over the food but the bedrooms badly let down this hotel.
The Rivenhall is more of a Motel as rooms are away from the main area, carparking ajacent to rooms.
The rooms are tatty at best with a fusty smell - house keeping skills need great improvement we found used soap left on the basin and bathsides in our bathroom from the previous occupants, the bathroom also had mould around the bath. The decor is dated and tired, certainly not up to todays standards yet they keep up to date with the charges!
The carpets were stained and generally unpleasant.
We would not return and we think this is one to avoid.

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank gadiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (407)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

402 - 407 of 407 reviews

Reviewed 26 November 2006

Well where do I start!! Definatley not good value for money! We arrived at the hotel where we found the reception very nice and the staff helpful unfotunatley that was the only good bit! Our room was very small with a very horrible damp smell also there was paper hanging off the walls and ceiling. The furniture was old and falling to pieces. The bathroom was awful with damp on the walls and the smallest shower possible! Don't rely on the night porter as he was no where to be seen ...not good on a cold november night!
Don't expect a great breakfast either....£10 for a very basic bland breakfast you'd be better off in the Little Chef over the road.
All in all a very poor hotel. Definatley will not be staying there again.

  • Stayed: November 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Adamski24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2006

Just got back from our stay at Rivenhall Hotel and was not impressed!!! The entrance was ok...nicely presented with friendly receptionist & helpfull staff, nice resturant and bar but it went down hill from there. Our room was in a chalet type complex outside of the main entrance..as was all other rooms. On entering room your greeted with a wardrobe directly on top of you..tiny bathroom..huge bed in the very tiny space and 70,s style decor with a musty, old smell to the room?? Not a fussy person but on paying £90 for a room was very dissapointed. You had no space to move at all. And if you wanted a shower i suggest a bath instead, as the shower only dribbles out..one minute hot then cold..it took ages to get even remotely damp let alone wet?? Food was extremely over priced..eg, £8 for pile of lettuce which was supposed to be a ceasar salad?? All in all was disapointed stay. Would not be staying again.

  • Stayed: September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jokes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2006

Now managed by the group that owns the Greenwood Spa in Stock, so things are looking up. Bathrooms could still do with a little TLC.

Stayed: December 2005
3  Thank shaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
211
Reviewed 26 April 2004

I stayed at this hotel recently on a murder mystery weekend which was a corporate event. They're was a group of 12 and we were checked in very quickly and given room keys. I was given an complimentary upgrade to the Park Lane Suite which was very impressive and large. However my boss was allocated a room which was boiling hot due to it being above the kitchens and also by the motorway which discouraged him from opening the window! However the staff were very friendly, helpful and smiley.Meals were very nice and the facilities were great with the pool and squash court.

7  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2015 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Agnieszka H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rivenhall, General Manager at Rivenhall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2015

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Witham
6.5 mi away
Essex Golf & Country Club
Essex Golf & Country Club
#2 of 2 in Earls Colne
339 reviews
3.3 mi away
Prested Hall Hotel
Prested Hall Hotel
#1 of 3 in Feering
569 reviews
3.7 mi away
Travelodge Colchester Feering
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.1 mi away
Greenwoods Hotel & Spa
8.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Colchester
Holiday Inn Colchester
#1 of 1 in Eight Ash Green
903 reviews
6.9 mi away
Best Western Marks Tey Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rivenhall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rivenhall Hotel

Address: Rivenhall End, Witham CM8 3BH, England (Formerly Jarvis Rivenhall)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Witham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Witham
Price Range: £47 - £73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Rivenhall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, LateRooms, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your Rivenhall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rivenhall Hotel Witham, Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing