We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Can not fault and will be going back!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Green Man

The Green Man
Ranked #11 of 79 Restaurants in Witham
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$20
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Welcome to The Green Man, situated in the idyllic village of Little Braxted and located conveniently to the A12. Stunningly refurbished, the interior is a clever blend of old and new with oak beam & log fires to keep you warm in the winter. In the kitchen the emphasis is truly on everything local. Cooking at the The Green Man is the essence of a modern country public house and great fresh food is always available. On the daily specials menu, for example, you might find Rib Eye Steak, Pan Fried Sea Bream or Smoked Chicken Caesar Salad, and the dessert portions are not for the faint hearted. Outside in our beautiful garden we have picnic tables so you can enjoy Al fresco dining during the warmer months. Little Braxted is set in beautiful countryside with fantastic picturesque walks, this establishment makes a great stopping place for keen walkers & cyclists.
Essex, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Can not fault and will be going back!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014

I held the reception for my sons christening here we were given private use of half of the pub! The food was lovely and lots of people complemented on the food it's was finger food but very very nice finger foods such as wraps and stuffed jackets, chicken and sausages all done a little different so they were not just plain and boring, there was a lovely garden out the back in which we had photos take, drinks were reasonably priced and staff were very helpful I would defiantly be going back there to hold other events all in all we were 100% happy!!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Hicks21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen H, Owner at The Green Man, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear Hicks21

Many thanks for your kind words, however we are now closed.

Stephen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    30
    8
    14
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“LOVELY LUNCH”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

We have visited The Green Man on several occasions for Sunday lunch and have never been disappointed staff are always really pleasant and welcoming.

Went there yesterday for a late lunch and had an excellent 4 meat roast served with an ample selection of fresh vegetables, plus a tasty cauliflower cheese. The meal is well presented and considering the quality & quantity is very reasonably priced.

It was a beautiful sunny afternoon and we sat in their garden which was not overcrowded, but a relaxing retreat from so many other pubs which can get overfull and noisy at the weekends.

This is a great little pub & well worth a visit.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Pangelica_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen H, Owner at The Green Man, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear Pangelica

Many thanks for your kind words, however we are now closed.

Stephen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Really welcoming, homely pub”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

14 of us went to the Green Man for lunch whilst on a weekend away. The staff were really friendly and gave us our own space in a separate room to use as we liked. The service was brilliant. All the staff were very kind and helpful. The food was delicious and really reasonable. We didn't feel rushed or hassled and we enjoyed a long leisurely lunch. Great place.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Fireflyk2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen H, Owner at The Green Man, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Dear Firefly
Thanks very much for taking the time to write your review. I'm very glad that you liked our pub and really look forward to welcoming you back soon. Your comments have been passed onto the rest of the team.
Thanks again
Stephen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Disappointing dinner with friends.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

We used to live near & visit this pub 7 years ago and when revisiting friends in the area we arranged for a Saturday night dinner based on recent Tripadvisor reviews. We like old pubs but the internal decor has not been refreshed or updated for quite a few years and it is looking a little tired. Table space was a little cramped. One lady acted as waitress and barmaid and was obviously a little rushed. There was only a limited choice of only 3 starters so we all decided to pass and have mains and desserts. One of us chose the steak and this was reportedly good. The other 3 had lamb shank with mash. All the lamb shanks were pretty tasteless with no seasoning and made worse by oversloppy mashed potato and runny unthickened gravy. The waitress forgot to bring the vegetables and had to be reminded. The veg appeared to have been microwave reheated and the brocolli was hard. Desserts were much better although several of the available choices had already been scrubbed off the menu. My cheese board was good and all the others had crumble and ice cream. Annoyingly the ice cream choice was limited as vanilla had run out. We all left feeling deflated and wishing we had gone somewhere else for our meet up dinner.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael1887
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen H, Owner at The Green Man, responded to this review, 26 April 2014
Dear Michael
Thank you for taking the time to write your review and your comments have been noted. I'd just like to touch on a few points mentioned however; you've mentioned that you last visited 7 years ago? I'm sure then, that you noticed that the main menu hadn't changed too much in order to please our regular customers; plus you'll also remember that there were no starters at that time on the specials board; so the fact that we've added some starters to the board and the menu is probably a positive change? You also mentioned about the lamb shank? After investigating your comments, as mentioned on the specials board this was braised in a broth, so this would explain the consistency.
We are a busy pub, especially of a weekend and therefore you must expect a busy dining room. The table layout hasn't changed for the last 7 years as well as the decor of the dining room. The decor is just one of a number of reasons why our customers frequent The Green Man, as it is traditional and untouched. We have refurbished a number of areas of the pub that required so and this has all been done within the 12 months of my ownership, so I'd say that this is also a positive move for The Green Man? As I mentioned we are busy and through a busy evening you must expect that dishes on the specials board will be rubbed off when they are finished; as you've mentioned, you've already read the positive reviews on tripadvisor and one of the positive comments that has repeatedly been mentioned is our daily changing specials board; we do not keep specials on the board for days on end so as to maintain freshness and creativity.

Stephen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Witham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“homely”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

a lovely small country pub. The food is all home cooked and is really tasty. Quite an extensive menu, but nevertheless it is still really homely.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank waulie_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen H, Owner at The Green Man, responded to this review, 26 April 2014
Dear Waulie
Many thanks for your kind words and we will continue the good work!

Stephen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Green Man also viewed

 

Been to The Green Man? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing