We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Phoenix rises at the green Man!”
Review of The Green Man

The Green Man
Ranked #5 of 81 Restaurants in Witham
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$7 - US$21
Cuisines: European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Welcome to The Green Man, situated in the idyllic village of Little Braxted and located conveniently to the A12. Stunningly refurbished, the interior is a clever blend of old and new with oak beam & log fires to keep you warm in the winter. In the kitchen the emphasis is truly on everything local. Cooking at the The Green Man is the essence of a modern country public house and great fresh food is always available. On the daily specials menu, for example, you might find Rib Eye Steak, Pan Fried Sea Bream or Smoked Chicken Caesar Salad, and the dessert portions are not for the faint hearted. Outside in our beautiful garden we have picnic tables so you can enjoy Al fresco dining during the warmer months. Little Braxted is set in beautiful countryside with fantastic picturesque walks, this establishment makes a great stopping place for keen walkers & cyclists.
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Used to visit three or four times a week but recent management was a disaster so stopped.

Went for lunch a few days ago and was well impressed with the makeover, staff and food. Went back for dinner which was great and was pleased there were many customers.

Hope it lasts and we can keep going back!

4  Thank Beer4Me2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (185)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

134 - 138 of 185 reviews

Reviewed 30 June 2014

The Green Man initially seemed like the perfect pub to visit. It was situated halfway through the Shut Heath Woods walk and, on entrance, the refurbished setting looked like a wonderful place to stop for a pint and a bite to eat. However, the IPA on tap tasted flat, somewhat like water, and there is no food served to those sat in the garden - shameful considering the wonderful summer weather we've had so far. Whilst the garden does have a lovely view, and the pub's location is great, the other factors that accompany the pub were utterly disappointing.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
4  Thank Ross T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ali A, Public Relations Manager at The Green Man, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2015

Hi,
Thanks for your review. We have now been trading in the pub for coming up to a year. Yours and other patrons comments have all been reviewed regularly and we are now serving food in the garden. We hope this year you have either visited us already or will come back soon. Our summer menu is proving to be a great success and we have received many great comments from this change.
We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Kind Regards,
The Green Man team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We had been going to this pub for over 6 years, and decided to go today to see what it was like after the change of owners and a refurb. The pub was in need of a refurb, but the history has been taken out of it and you could be sitting in any other bland restaurant.
I ordered skate which had to be sent back as it was undercooked, my husband had the beef which was average. My daughter enjoyed her ham, egg and chips but then that isn't too difficult to get wrong.
The meals are expensive and really not worth it. The staff were pleasant and tried to help by suggesting the other fish dish, which I didn't want in the first place. As I don't eat meat, I wasn't left with much choice and had a bowl of chips. The one thing we liked about this place was that it didn't have chips!
They gave us complimentary drinks and my daughters dessert, but we won't be back. Its a shame as we used to go there 2-3 times a month, usually a large group of us (8+) and had our family Christmas meal there (15 of us). I won't be recommending any one to go there.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
4  Thank Joannap2109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

The pub has now been refurbished and the heart and soul has been put in the skip.
There is little room to park now as the parking space at the front of the pub is now covered with tables for drinkers as most of the inside is set up for diners.
We managed to find a table in the middle bar and sat with our very expensive drinks (£10, usually £8 at other pubs) and had to listen to a bunch of foul mouthed business men who had no respect for the girl that was with them or any other female in the bar. It has certainly gone down hill since Matt gave up a couple of years ago, sorry to say we wont be going back its a shame as it was a lovely country pub but now resembles something from Chelmsford.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
6  Thank robert s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

I held the reception for my sons christening here we were given private use of half of the pub! The food was lovely and lots of people complemented on the food it's was finger food but very very nice finger foods such as wraps and stuffed jackets, chicken and sausages all done a little different so they were not just plain and boring, there was a lovely garden out the back in which we had photos take, drinks were reasonably priced and staff were very helpful I would defiantly be going back there to hold other events all in all we were 100% happy!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
5  Thank Hicks21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen H, Owner at The Green Man, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Dear Hicks21

Many thanks for your kind words, however we are now closed.

Stephen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Green Man also viewed

Wickham Bishops, Witham
 

Been to The Green Man? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing