We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Gutted!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Green Man

The Green Man
Ranked #11 of 79 Restaurants in Witham
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$20
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Drinks, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Welcome to The Green Man, situated in the idyllic village of Little Braxted and located conveniently to the A12. Stunningly refurbished, the interior is a clever blend of old and new with oak beam & log fires to keep you warm in the winter. In the kitchen the emphasis is truly on everything local. Cooking at the The Green Man is the essence of a modern country public house and great fresh food is always available. On the daily specials menu, for example, you might find Rib Eye Steak, Pan Fried Sea Bream or Smoked Chicken Caesar Salad, and the dessert portions are not for the faint hearted. Outside in our beautiful garden we have picnic tables so you can enjoy Al fresco dining during the warmer months. Little Braxted is set in beautiful countryside with fantastic picturesque walks, this establishment makes a great stopping place for keen walkers & cyclists.
Wickham Bishops, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Gutted!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

The above is how I felt when I visited The Green Man!
Once a landmark for locals to frequent to and relax in the garden. Once ranked number 2 on Tripadvisor, but now 18th! This pub has really gone down hill!
I popped in to see what all the fuss was about regarding the refurb and have a pint and maybe something to eat, but only to find the pub had not only undergone a refurbishment, but had been gutted of it's original character.
The pub looks as if it's been turned into a Gastro Pub on the cheap! White and clinical looking, with no fixtures and fittings. It's upset the locals and I can see why. The offering of drinks is limited and so is the food! I Stayed for 1 pint and left, never to be back!
Why did Greeneking allow these people to take over the pub?

  • Visited July 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
7 Thank Jamie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    28
    8
    14
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Witham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Where has the Mighty gone!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

We visited the Green Man a couple of weeks ago as we wanted to give it a try after we heard about the new refurb. The first impressions were not great. They turned the front car park into a sitting area with umbrellas, therefore limiting the number of parking spaces. This place used to be very busy and the fact that it had loads of parking spaces available, was a great asset. The inside decor didn't impress much either. Maybe they don't want that much business anymore?
Inside, the old decor and lovely atmosphere was replaced by an austere one. Yes, maybe the old place needed a fresh lick of paint but they've taken it to the extreme, ripping its old heart out! What a shame!
With Guinness not available anymore, and with a gin that was drowned by the tonic, (which should have been served on a side), with an uninspiring menu and the food, lacking of seasoning, (my skate wing wasn't as great as other visitors have experienced, slightly uncooked in the middle and a bit too greasy to my taste; maybe I was an unlucky one) lets say, our experience was not what we hoped.
After a chit chat with a couple of locals who were as disappointed about the changes as we were, we found out that the new owners have two more establishments. You would have thought they know a thing or two about running a pub.. or cooking better food.
The staff is trying but they have a long way to go.
The new owners should have done themselves a favour and consider the locals when they made such drastic changes! The garden looks nice, but they should have focus their attention more on the inside and giving it a homey, cozy look like it had before. im sorry to say but Prezzo in Witham looks cozier.
It's such a shame, because it is not far from where we live and we used to go there frequently, sometimes with friends, but unfortunately, we won't be returning.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Brian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Friendly, good food, great pub”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

It seems that the new owners are splitting opinions with their refurbishment and new menu. We struggle to find nice pubs that serve good food, I can happily say we have found a new one for our list.
We visited the Green Man on a sunny Saturday with our 3 children (12, 11 and 6) and my father, this was our first visit. We were recommended the pub by a work colleague after we found the Bull at Great Totham was fully booked catering for a wedding. The Green Man isn't exactly on the high street but we found it okay, the website has a map and gives good information.
Our first impression was of a neat village pub in a quiet location, we entered the garden via the side entrance and the children were delighted to imediately come across the ducks from the pond waddling about.
The pub itself has been refurbished with minimal fuss and looks clean and welcoming, I'm sure as time goes by the new owners will add to the decor, to give it a bit more of a personal touch.
We were greeted by the owners and were served our drinks promptly and professionally.
The menu isn't overly long but has a good range of dishes and was perfect for a Saturday lunch. We were offered a choice of tables even though we had booked and a table was set for us. As the weather was sunny and the children wanted to see the ducks we decided on eating in the garden. The garden was well tended and clean, our food was brought out to us in good time and didn't disappoint it was hot and well cooked. The skate was excellent, as was my daughters sea bream, which the owner convinced her to have as she had tried sea bass and liked it. We had an enjoyable meal in the sunshine with good beer, if that isn't a good pub i dont know what is. Our visit was topped off when we left by the horses out front whose riders had stopped for a quick drink.
We would have given the Green Man 5 stars if they had a little more choice for the children, a pasta dish would have been a good idea. Although we were please to see the lack of frozen deep fried fish fingers and chicken nuggets.
We had an excellent meal and an enjoyable time, we will be visiting with our family and friends again.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank david c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Character has gone”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

The refurbishment has got rid of the country rustic charm this pub used to offer. Really disappointing. Food bland and disappointing too.
A real shame as I used to eat here a lot but will now have to find somewhere else unless the new owners step up and bring back the traditional atmosphere and drastically improve their food.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank UkOlivia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maldon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“The Green Man”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

Took my wife for a bite to eat at this pub in the evening to sit in a garden in the soring heat. Excellent garden with some animals and pond to look at. Some good ales but let down by poor food a very limited menu. Expected more for a £10 burger which was burnt on outside and raw on the inside, cold chips and some slop for coleslaw. The ketchup never materialised from the young waitress. Noticed a lot of food not being finished which included my own. However my wife's pizza was good which we shared.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank tony c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Green Man also viewed

 

Been to The Green Man? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing