We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location”

Benton Hall Golf & Country Club
Attraction details
Witham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Reasonable food and a great location looking out over the lake. Friendly staff and good service. Dont be put off by some of the grumpy golfers around

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank gregdeery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    9
    5
    3
    10
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Awful General Manager”
Reviewed 30 March 2014

What a shame, some lovely staff, classes & facilities but totally ruined by the ape of a man getting his power trip attempting to run the place.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
8 Thank TamMylo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tiptree, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Membership is worth while!! ”
Reviewed 5 March 2014 via mobile

We have just joined and are so far finding everything here to a great standard we love using the pool and wet spa and there is plenty of classes to entertain your fitness program. We are ready to venture into the gym but if it is as good as the rest we will love it!! And of course the scenes are beautiful too making it a pleasure to sit an relax
In the club bar!!

Helpful?
2 Thank jemma w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Witham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Think twice about joining”
Reviewed 7 February 2014

We had been members for a couple of years, due to work commitments we were unable to go, it was three months before we realised how long it was the last time we had been, no one from the club contacted us although they will tell you when you join that they will, we stopped paying and they got very aggressive and threatened us with court action and passed it on yo a debt collector. Disgusting, would strongly recommend you think twice before joining,

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Cassie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Braintree, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“DO NOT BOOK GOLF DAY HERE!!!”
Reviewed 10 January 2014

My advice would be to steer clear of this place on a golf or society day if I were you.
We booked for the 27th December and it was cancelled due to the course being shut, this was down to the weather. Its now the 10th of January and I am still waiting for my £100 deposit back.
Repeated phone calls have led to repeated promises of the return of this money. Still nothing.
I have played there on and off over the years and it has always been ok but this service is shocking.
I have been told on several occasions that the one person who can refund money is unavailable.
Seems strange that only one person can do refunds.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank magickev1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Benton Hall Golf & Country Club also viewed

 

Been to Benton Hall Golf & Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing