We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good pub for food and beer, well worth a visit,”
Review of The Red Lion

The Red Lion
Ranked #1 of 2 Restaurants in Arlingham
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Pub
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Painswick, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“A good pub for food and beer, well worth a visit,”
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We moved to Painswick early last year from Hertfordshire, in spare moments investigated the local pubs and restaurants. We avoided the Red Lion having heard bad reports also it looked uninviting as we occasionally drove past on our way to the New Passage Inn.

I read in the local press that it had been bought by the Villagers, closed for refurbishing and thought it might be worth a visit, it was and is well worth the 30 mile round trip!

We have now lunched and snacked there on several occasions since, the last two occasions being Mother's day and Easter Sunday. the food is interesting and very good as are the beers.

All the staff are exceedingly pleasant and helpful and should be congratulated for putting the Red Lion on the map. On our first exploratory visit they were not very busy, that has now changed to the point that it is wise to book to avoid waiting. It is great to see a good mix of young and older customers enjoying themselves, well done all of you

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Philip M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    108
    37
    14
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gloucestershire
Level 6 Contributor
446 reviews
268 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 428 helpful votes
“Traditional Pub!”
Reviewed 14 April 2014

We called in this pub at the weekend for dinner. There's a good selection of real ales and a nice traditional pub menu that's sensibly priced. The meals we had were really well presented and cooked fresh, the fish and chips were huge! I would recommend booking, we got there early and nearly all the tables were reserved which is a good sign! We will definitely be back and would highly recommend a visit.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank No1Scribbler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 17 February 2014 via mobile

Visited three times now for lunch and can't fault at all. Excellent food, good service, good ambience and a lovely way to spend a Sunday afternoon during this miserable weather. Will hopefully visit again soon. My favourite place for a carvery!!

Helpful?
3 Thank timanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Rejuvenated, classy pub”
Reviewed 19 January 2014

We've eaten at the Red Lion 3 times in as many months and have been really impressed on every occasion. The food is good quality pub food at a reasonable price and there are always a selection of local ales and beers on offer.

The pub itself has been tastefully decorated and there are lots of little touches (old photographs of the area etc) that really help to create a warm and inviting atmosphere. Open fires and a buzzing atmosphere make this a great evening out.

My personal favourite touch is the inclusion of all the landlord's names along the top of the wall near the bar dating back to over 100 years. Perfect!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“TCH”
Reviewed 24 December 2013 via mobile

Brilliant!! Great location, great pub. Riverside walk with a fantastic lunch (early or late) or dinner (early). What's not to like. Good beer to boot. Give this a try, you won't be disappointed. Dust off the walking boots, soak up the location and end up at this pub to relax and enjoy the hospitality.

Helpful?
Thank Ted D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Red Lion also viewed

Arlingham, Cotswolds
Newnham, Gloucestershire
 
Stonehouse, Stroud
Gloucester, Cotswolds
 

Been to The Red Lion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing