We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expectations exceeded!”
Review of Royal George Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Royal George Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Birdlip
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Expectations exceeded!”
Reviewed 15 February 2014 via mobile

My partner and I spent a night here during terrible weather but our mood wasn't dampened. We weren't sure what to expect as the room rate we paid was incredibly competitive but we needn't have worried. A well-located hotel for our trips to Stroud, Cheltenham and Cirencester, we received a warm welcome and cannot fault our stay. Nice room, fantastic big bed, very clean and lovely breakfast offering. We had a drink in the bar which was pretty cold, but otherwise nice. We'd definitely return.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tyler_Herts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old_English_Inns99, Brand at Royal George Hotel, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to offer you fantastic comments on your recent stay with us, we always attempt to offer the best value for money within the surrounding area. I have shared you fantastic comments with all my team, and we all hope that we can welcome you back in the future. Michael and team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

834 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    355
    284
    116
    48
    31
See reviews for
166
460
18
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2014 via mobile

Stayed just for one night on a business trip to Cheltenham. Very friendly staff, good quality pub food, comfortable bed and excellent breakfast. The hotel decor was a bit tired in places but that's really the only downside. The staff were really welcoming & friendly particularly the waitresses at breakfast. Recommended.

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank MFBF0001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old_English_Inns99, Brand at Royal George Hotel, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Firstly thank you for taking the time to offer your comments on your recent stay, I have shared your lovely comments about the team with them all. With regards to the decor we will be under-going a full refurbishment this September which will address the points you have raised with referecne to the decor. Thanks once again and we all hope to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The New Forest, Hampshire
Level Contributor
57 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014 via mobile

This is the second time we have used Old English Inns! Both very similar, however, this one had a little edge on the previous one! Plenty of car parking, lovely welcoming reception entrance! We had a twin room, number 11, overlooking the garden, it was on the ground floor, beds are so comfy and lovely crisp white bedding! Lovely bar area, you can eat here or in the restaurant, same prices! The staff were very pleasant! We felt it was exceptional value for money!

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Denny J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old_English_Inns99, Brand at Royal George Hotel, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Thank you so much for your lovely comments, I have shared them with all my team especially the reception team. We all very much hope we can welcome you back again in the future, Michael and all the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bishops Tachbrook, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 January 2014

We stayed here last weekend for an event organised by friends. Lovely old place, bit drafty in the bar by the windows (the weather was really bad though).
The room was lovely, seemed a little dark when you first went in but the lights did get brighter. Crack in the toilet seat but I didn't report it until we checked out. Clean and tidy. The food for the evening event was basic and adequate, catering for 50 people (though the same food).
We were told the wrong information about when the bar closed but the staff sorted it out for us.
Breakfast was ok, good choice but the other tables were covered in the previous occupants crockery and not cleared away. Wasn't impressed by someone in another party coming down to breakfast in bare feet though.
Would be a lovely place to have a wedding as the grounds are apparently quite expensive but due to the weather we didn't go anywhere!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracey R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old_English_Inns99, Brand at Royal George Hotel, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Firstly thank you for taking the time to offer your lovely feedback on your recent stay, I have shared your great comments with all my team. We all very much hope we can welcome you back in the future, Michael and all the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 28 January 2014

We had our wedding here in September 2013 and I have been meaning to write a review since then but have lacked time to do so! We went back on Saturday and had a lovely meal, so I have made time to write one here it is....

The Royal George made our wedding day truly wonderful. The first point is the manager Mike is fantastic with the preparation, requests, final details and dealing with any queries and answering any questions.

He and the rest of the staff made a fantastic team and were amazing on the day making sure everything went smoothly. Despite huge issues they had behind the scenes, we were oblivious to this on the day which shows what an effective team they are.

The food was beautiful in taste and presentation and the staff were attentive, friendly and polite when serving.

The DJ was amazing, we gave him a memory stick with 100s of my husbands favourite Brazilian songs on it and he chose fantastic songs off it and combined them with the music he had perfectly so everyone had a good time.

The photo opportunities were amazing with the Birdlip hill viewpoint nearby and the hotels beautiful gardens, so we have some amazing photos to remember our day.

Along with us we had family staying and the rooms were reasonably priced for all of our guests and perfectly comfortable. The complimentary breakfast in the morning was amazing with a choice of fruits, yoghurts, pastrys, cereals and a substantial choice of cooked options off the menu which were very tasty and everyone enjoyed!

They are a fantastic value, friendly, beautiful place to hold a wedding and anyone else who holds there wedding there or even just stays there will have a wonderful time.

The only faults are that some aspects of the hotel are in need of a little updating, but I think this is due to be done this year, so then the hotel will be a truly extraordinary place to hold a wedding or stay for a break and visit the nearby Cotwolds, Gloucester and Cheltenham. Our second issue is that we got married on a Sunday, so we had to finish our amazing day earlier than if it had been a Saturday - which is just the regulations!

To conclude I cannot recommend this place highly enough with its wonderful attentive staff, beautiful location and great value!

Thank you to the whole team at the Royal George who made our special day truly amazing!

Elaine and Jobson

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JobsonElaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old_English_Inns99, Brand at Royal George Hotel, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Firstly it was an absolute pleasure looking after your Wedding day, you are a lovely couple and we all wish you the very best for the future. The team and I take huge pride in making sure that all our Weddings are perfect and all the guests attending are made to feel welcome. We very much look forward to welcoming you back in the future, Michael and all the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haydock
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 January 2014

Stayed here in january, thoroughly enjoyed the large comfortable bed in the clean and spacious family room (no.33). Breakfast was excellent and the service was second to none..our dinner on the first night was equally faultless and combined with the helpfulness of Michael it made our stay one we shall hopefully repeat. ....good location just 15 mins from city centre.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MannyQ18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old_English_Inns99, Brand at Royal George Hotel, responded to this review, 8 February 2014
Firstly thank you so much for taking the time to offer your feedback, I have shared your lovely comments with all my team and we all look forward to being able to welcome you back in the future. Michael and all the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014

We have stayed here many times and always had a wonderful time...this time was was even better.It was our 40th wedding anniversary and we stayed here for 3 nights with one of my bridesmaids and her husband.Elaine remembered us straight away and offered all of us an upgrade to a superior room with four poster bed!! the rooms were lovely.We certainly felt special over the whole of our stay.A big thank you to all the staff.

Room Tip: All the rooms are spacious,comfortable and clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old_English_Inns99, Brand at Royal George Hotel, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Thank you so much for your lovely comments, I have shared them with all my team and Elaine was very proud of her special mention. We all very much hope we can welcome you back in the future, thanks Michael and all the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Birdlip
4.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
#1 of 1 in Charlton Kings
116 reviews
5.6 mi away
Cotswold Grange Hotel
Cotswold Grange Hotel
#4 of 22 in Cheltenham
448 reviews
9.7 mi away
Stonehouse Court
Stonehouse Court
#1 of 2 in Stonehouse
659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.7 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
1,158 reviews
8.8 mi away
Stratton House Hotel
Stratton House Hotel
#5 of 8 in Cirencester
470 reviews
18.0 mi away
Sheep on Sheep Street
Sheep on Sheep Street
#4 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal George Hotel

Property: Royal George Hotel
Address: Birdlip GL4 8JH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Birdlip
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Birdlip
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal George Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Royal George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Royal George
Royal George Hotel Birdlip, Gloucestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing