We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend Break”
Review of Royal George Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Royal George Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Birdlip
Northampton, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Weekend Break”
Reviewed 25 February 2014

This is a really lovely hotel, with fantastic surroundings and at the top of a viewpoint over Cheltenham and Gloucester. Staff are all very friendly and helpful. Food is excellent and the choices available are more than sufficient for all tastes.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old_English_Inns99, Brand at Royal George Hotel, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to offer your fantastic review, it makes the team and I all very proud when our guests enjoy their time with us. I have shared your lovely comments with all my team, and we look forward to being able to welcome you back in the future. Michael and all the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

844 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    358
    287
    117
    50
    32
See reviews for
172
462
18
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014 via mobile

This hotel is well worth a visit. The food is good. The beds and pillows are so comfortable. The staff are friendly and helpful. I have been here before some years ago but it was much better this time and I would go again.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cheryl_ludlow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old_English_Inns99, Brand at Royal George Hotel, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to offer your lovely review, I have shared these lovely comments with all my team. We all very much hope we can welcome you back in the future. Michael and all the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ely, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

very good short stay. staff were very helpful. food was very good .room was great only down side was hot water to bath which did not get very hot.would reccomend a stay here to anyone. will be back have stayed at a few of oldenglish inns and this his up with the beat

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank arthur144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old_English_Inns99, Brand at Royal George Hotel, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Thank you for your lovely review, I have shared your lovely comments with all my team and we all hope that we can welcome you back in the future. Michael and all the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2014 via mobile

My partner and I spent a night here during terrible weather but our mood wasn't dampened. We weren't sure what to expect as the room rate we paid was incredibly competitive but we needn't have worried. A well-located hotel for our trips to Stroud, Cheltenham and Cirencester, we received a warm welcome and cannot fault our stay. Nice room, fantastic big bed, very clean and lovely breakfast offering. We had a drink in the bar which was pretty cold, but otherwise nice. We'd definitely return.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tyler_Herts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old_English_Inns99, Brand at Royal George Hotel, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to offer you fantastic comments on your recent stay with us, we always attempt to offer the best value for money within the surrounding area. I have shared you fantastic comments with all my team, and we all hope that we can welcome you back in the future. Michael and team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2014 via mobile

Stayed just for one night on a business trip to Cheltenham. Very friendly staff, good quality pub food, comfortable bed and excellent breakfast. The hotel decor was a bit tired in places but that's really the only downside. The staff were really welcoming & friendly particularly the waitresses at breakfast. Recommended.

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank MFBF0001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old_English_Inns99, Brand at Royal George Hotel, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Firstly thank you for taking the time to offer your comments on your recent stay, I have shared your lovely comments about the team with them all. With regards to the decor we will be under-going a full refurbishment this September which will address the points you have raised with referecne to the decor. Thanks once again and we all hope to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The New Forest, Hampshire
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014 via mobile

This is the second time we have used Old English Inns! Both very similar, however, this one had a little edge on the previous one! Plenty of car parking, lovely welcoming reception entrance! We had a twin room, number 11, overlooking the garden, it was on the ground floor, beds are so comfy and lovely crisp white bedding! Lovely bar area, you can eat here or in the restaurant, same prices! The staff were very pleasant! We felt it was exceptional value for money!

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Denny J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old_English_Inns99, Brand at Royal George Hotel, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Thank you so much for your lovely comments, I have shared them with all my team especially the reception team. We all very much hope we can welcome you back again in the future, Michael and all the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bishops Tachbrook, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 January 2014

We stayed here last weekend for an event organised by friends. Lovely old place, bit drafty in the bar by the windows (the weather was really bad though).
The room was lovely, seemed a little dark when you first went in but the lights did get brighter. Crack in the toilet seat but I didn't report it until we checked out. Clean and tidy. The food for the evening event was basic and adequate, catering for 50 people (though the same food).
We were told the wrong information about when the bar closed but the staff sorted it out for us.
Breakfast was ok, good choice but the other tables were covered in the previous occupants crockery and not cleared away. Wasn't impressed by someone in another party coming down to breakfast in bare feet though.
Would be a lovely place to have a wedding as the grounds are apparently quite expensive but due to the weather we didn't go anywhere!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracey R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old_English_Inns99, Brand at Royal George Hotel, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Firstly thank you for taking the time to offer your lovely feedback on your recent stay, I have shared your great comments with all my team. We all very much hope we can welcome you back in the future, Michael and all the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Birdlip
5.6 mi away
Cotswold Grange Hotel
Cotswold Grange Hotel
#3 of 22 in Cheltenham
460 reviews
4.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
#1 of 1 in Charlton Kings
172 reviews
9.7 mi away
Stonehouse Court
Stonehouse Court
#1 of 2 in Stonehouse
670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.7 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#2 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
1,186 reviews
3.4 mi away
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall ...
#1 of 2 in Upton St Leonards
801 reviews
18.0 mi away
Sheep on Sheep Street
Sheep on Sheep Street
#4 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal George Hotel

Property: Royal George Hotel
Address: Birdlip GL4 8JH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Birdlip
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Birdlip
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal George Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Royal George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Royal George
Royal George Hotel Birdlip, Gloucestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing