We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cannot fault this hotel”
Review of Royal George Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Royal George Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Birdlip
Certificate of Excellence
Ipswich
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Cannot fault this hotel”
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Made our stay perfect. The staff were warm, friendly and very efficient. The room was large but cosy and warm. The quietest hotel I have ever slept in and comfy beds. Everything was catered for. i.e Iron & ironing board, hairdryer, free wifi, even complimentary hot chocolate and biscuits. Large car park, large bed and large bath. Food was good, breakfast exceptionally so. Drinks a little pricey but hey, they've got to make some money somehow!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barby1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old_English_Inns99, Brand at Royal George Hotel, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Firstly I would like to say thank you for your lovely review, I have shared this with all my team at the hotel. We all hope we can welcome you back in the future, and we will ensure your re-visit matches your first experience, Michael and all the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

828 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    352
    283
    116
    47
    30
See reviews for
163
458
18
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford
Level Contributor
61 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2014

Let me start by saying that I'm not reviewing the hotel, just the food. We had a family lunch here one chilly Sunday In February; restaurant was a little cold, too. Food was generally pleasant and good value - veggie paella and the smoked haddock gratin were particularly nice, as were clotted cream cheesecake and choc fudge cake for dessert. Child of 10 with appetite of horse said he'd eat here again, but from the adult menu (he'd gone for the under 12s one and there wasn't quite enough food, though it would have been OK for an 8 year old). We were all keen to try the sharing 'Fairground attraction' dessert, but unfortunately it wasn't available that day - staff very apologetic. In fact, service throughout was very good - friendly and efficient. So overall, we'd definitely eat here again and perhaps phone ahead to check if the 'Fairground attraction' is on offer!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stormswept
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old_English_Inns99, Brand at Royal George Hotel, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Thank you for offering your review, I apologise that we were unable to offer the 'Fairground attraction' on your visit. I have shared your review with all my team and spoken with the kitchen manager with regards to your food comments. We hope to welcome you back in the future, Michael and all team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2014

This is a really lovely hotel, with fantastic surroundings and at the top of a viewpoint over Cheltenham and Gloucester. Staff are all very friendly and helpful. Food is excellent and the choices available are more than sufficient for all tastes.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old_English_Inns99, Brand at Royal George Hotel, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to offer your fantastic review, it makes the team and I all very proud when our guests enjoy their time with us. I have shared your lovely comments with all my team, and we look forward to being able to welcome you back in the future. Michael and all the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014 via mobile

This hotel is well worth a visit. The food is good. The beds and pillows are so comfortable. The staff are friendly and helpful. I have been here before some years ago but it was much better this time and I would go again.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cheryl_ludlow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old_English_Inns99, Brand at Royal George Hotel, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to offer your lovely review, I have shared these lovely comments with all my team. We all very much hope we can welcome you back in the future. Michael and all the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ely, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

very good short stay. staff were very helpful. food was very good .room was great only down side was hot water to bath which did not get very hot.would reccomend a stay here to anyone. will be back have stayed at a few of oldenglish inns and this his up with the beat

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank arthur144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old_English_Inns99, Brand at Royal George Hotel, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Thank you for your lovely review, I have shared your lovely comments with all my team and we all hope that we can welcome you back in the future. Michael and all the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2014 via mobile

My partner and I spent a night here during terrible weather but our mood wasn't dampened. We weren't sure what to expect as the room rate we paid was incredibly competitive but we needn't have worried. A well-located hotel for our trips to Stroud, Cheltenham and Cirencester, we received a warm welcome and cannot fault our stay. Nice room, fantastic big bed, very clean and lovely breakfast offering. We had a drink in the bar which was pretty cold, but otherwise nice. We'd definitely return.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tyler_Herts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old_English_Inns99, Brand at Royal George Hotel, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to offer you fantastic comments on your recent stay with us, we always attempt to offer the best value for money within the surrounding area. I have shared you fantastic comments with all my team, and we all hope that we can welcome you back in the future. Michael and team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2014 via mobile

Stayed just for one night on a business trip to Cheltenham. Very friendly staff, good quality pub food, comfortable bed and excellent breakfast. The hotel decor was a bit tired in places but that's really the only downside. The staff were really welcoming & friendly particularly the waitresses at breakfast. Recommended.

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank MFBF0001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old_English_Inns99, Brand at Royal George Hotel, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Firstly thank you for taking the time to offer your comments on your recent stay, I have shared your lovely comments about the team with them all. With regards to the decor we will be under-going a full refurbishment this September which will address the points you have raised with referecne to the decor. Thanks once again and we all hope to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Birdlip
4.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
#1 of 1 in Charlton Kings
4.0 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
13.5 mi away
Best Western Mayfield House Hotel
3.4 mi away
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall ...
#1 of 2 in Upton St Leonards
4.0 of 5 bubbles 787 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
Stonehouse Court
Stonehouse Court
#1 of 2 in Stonehouse
4.0 of 5 bubbles 652 reviews
1.5 mi away
Premier Inn Gloucester (Little Witcombe) Hotel
5.6 mi away
Clarence Court Hotel
Clarence Court Hotel
#4 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal George Hotel

Property: Royal George Hotel
Address: Birdlip GL4 8JH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Birdlip
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Birdlip
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal George Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Royal George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Royal George
Royal George Hotel Birdlip, Gloucestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing