We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could be a fantastic place”
Review of Royal George Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Royal George Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Birdlip
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Perfectly positioned on the Cotswold Way, an old building with character, bedrooms were clean and reasonable size, but a little tired, we had an evening meal and the food was of reasonable quality but the staff seemed to have their own conversations at the front of their mind, kept on disappearing, and not focused the client. Service was very slow with other tables being served after we came in, they did not bring the drinks we ordered so I went to the Bar and bought them to our table my self two of the Beers on draft had run out. The Drinks were included in the bill, and a revised bill agreed. Breakfast was of good quality, service a little better, but serial, orders taken one course at a time. Overall as we had booked in advance and obtained discounts on the £95/room it was reasonable value, otherwise it would not have been worth the £95. Attention to detail would have made the stay much better.

Room Tip: Book in advance to obtain the discounts
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kenshaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old_English_Inns99, Brand at Royal George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Firstly please accept my sincere apologies with regards to the slow service, you comments have been shared with my team and action will be taken to improve those areas moving forward. Thank you for taking the time to offer your review. Michael Jeffries, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (856)
There are newer reviews for Royal George Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

456 - 462 of 856 reviews

Reviewed 27 May 2014

We booked online at the last minute, in fact we were given the last double room available for a Sunday and Monday night. On arrival we were told that there were weddings going on both days we were there, which was not a problem, but I did wonder why we were allocated the room nearest the (potential) noise from the wedding receptions In the event the music finished at a reasonable hour and we were not disturbed on the first night. The room was adequate and the bed clean and comfortable but I agree with other reviewers that the whole place looks tired and shabby round the edges. The bathroom was clean with excellent large fluffy towels. All the staff are hardworking (probably overworked by the look of it) but very helpful and cheerful. The same member of staff was on reception, waiting tables and behind the bar, ... which seemed a bit excessive but he didn't appear to mind. The food is standard English Inns - edible but not especially exciting and the service is patchy. The breakfast was very good but it was a shame that the early risers decimated the croissants and we missed out on those both days! - perhaps the management could look at the numbers as croissants are so popular, or hold some back for those who breakfast later. Our second night was marred by some very late (after midnight) furniture shifting, presumably staff were clearing after the wedding, and they were putting items into a store right next to our room (21). I would recommend asking for a different room, especially if you would prefer not to overlook the fire escape and the car park. The woodland walk at the back of the hotel is lovely especially for those who bring their dogs. The hotel is obviously a good stopping off point for walkers on the Cotswold way and this creates a pleasant atmosphere int he bar, which was always busy. It would be lovely to revisit this hotel when it has been refurbished as it has great potential but needs attention to detail to bring it up to being a place to which we would like to return.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the function room would probably be a better choice if available.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrea C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old_English_Inns99, Brand at Royal George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Thank you for your review, the hotel is having a full refurbishment in Sept this year, which will address the points you raise. We hope we can welcome you back in the future. Michael and all the team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Stayed one night whilst visiting Gloucester.
Pleasant reception, bedroom was spacious with blarge double bed.Ensuite had bath and overhead shower.Romm clean and tidy.
Restaurant and bar staff pleasant and helpful. Dinner was of a good quality and reasonably priced.
English breakfast was very good.
The only negative point was that the decor of the hotel was looking a little tired.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank jono2345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old_English_Inns99, Brand at Royal George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Thank you so much for your lovely review, I have shared your lovey review with all my team. We hope to be able to welcome you back in the future, Michael and all the team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

My husband and I got married at The Royal George on Friday 2nd May 2014. We had the ceremony and reception at the hotel. Also we had many of our guests staying at the hotel for either one or two nights. We were completely looked after by Michael and his team throughout the whole process. From booking the date with them 11 months before hand right up to the day. Nothing was too much trouble and we were guided and supported always. Everything went so smoothly on the day. The service during the reception was excellent. The food was of good quality and was hot, which I think can be quite hard to achieve when you are catering for a lot of guests. We loved the honeymoon suite and it finished off our day perfectly. I would highly recommend The Royal George as a perfect venue for a wedding. We would like to thank Michael and his team for giving us such a wonderful day that we will treasure always.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tracy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old_English_Inns99, Brand at Royal George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Firstly it is our pleasure to look after our guest's big day, we are all very proud that you had a wonderful day and we all wish you the very best for the future. We hope to welcome you back soon, Michael and all the team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

This was our third visit with our dog. The room was lovely and clean with a king size bed.Dogs are allowed in the bar not the restaurant. The range of food is good with good offers. The breakfast has a good menu but the service was slow and not very hot when it arrived.The gardens are lovely with woodland walk adjacent for dogs. Will definitely stay again if an offer comes up in the papers

Room Tip: even rooms overlook the carpark. Odds over the garden. All are very quiet
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margaret T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old_English_Inns99, Brand at Royal George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to offer your fantastic review, I have shared your lovely comments with all my team and we hope we can all welcome you back in the future. Michael and all the team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014

Just had two great nights at the royal George staff food bed service was great no complaints. But a coat of paint would make it so much better
It's looking abit tired.but still a great hotel would come back again.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 386artful
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old_English_Inns99, Brand at Royal George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to offer your fantastic review, I have shared your lovely comments with all my team and we hope we can all welcome you back in the future. Michael and all the team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

We spent two nights in the Royal
George from May 11th and it was great. The room was ideal with our dog as it had a little fenced patio leading off from the French doors in the bedroom. We were able to access the woodlands from here. Beautiful countryside all round.
The staff in the hotel are lovely, so welcoming and our dog gained quite a fan club and he lapped up all the attention!
Super breakfasts and the meal on the first night was delicious but unfortunately not so good on the second night, reheated tough potatoes and peas!. However we decided to try the ice cream sundae afterwards and that was truly delicious.
We will hopefully be able to have another visit later in the year and I can't wait! We loved it.
The only negative was that we could hear people above us going to the toilet which wasn't very pleasant!! Thank goodness we have a sense of humour!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jacquelyn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old_English_Inns99, Brand at Royal George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to offer your fantastic review, I have shared your lovely comments with all my team and we hope we can all welcome you back in the future. Michael and all the team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Birdlip
4.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
#1 of 1 in Charlton Kings
261 reviews
5.6 mi away
Cotswold Grange Hotel
Cotswold Grange Hotel
#3 of 23 in Cheltenham
493 reviews
9.7 mi away
Stonehouse Court
Stonehouse Court
#1 of 2 in Stonehouse
687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.7 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
1,243 reviews
5.6 mi away
Clarence Court Hotel
Clarence Court Hotel
#2 of 23 in Cheltenham
543 reviews
8.4 mi away
The Rising Sun Hotel
The Rising Sun Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cleeve Hill
636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal George Hotel

Address: Birdlip GL4 8JH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Birdlip
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Birdlip
Price Range: £56 - £108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal George Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Royal George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Royal George
Royal George Hotel Birdlip, Gloucestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing