We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spanish visitors in Cotswolds”
Review of Royal George Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Royal George Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Birdlip
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Spending 3 nights while visiting Wales and Cotswolds.Central position for touring main sights in the Cotswolds. Good value and safe easy parking.Inside decoration needs upgrading . Bedrooms spacious and comfortable. The welcome given by manager Michael was superb. His efficiency,energy,humour and smile more than compensates for any deficiencies and is well worth a visit in itself!

Room Tip: Choose ground floor overlooking gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ManuelB222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old_English_Inns99, Brand at Royal George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Thank you for the lovely review, I have passed your comments onto Michael who was delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay. We all hope to welcome here again in the future. Paul and the Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (903)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

474 - 480 of 903 reviews

Reviewed 31 July 2014

Hotel is well equipped with a friendly staff. Suggest the hotel invests in air conditioning as rooms around the bar area can be noisy. A lot of early morning traffic and 5.00pm traffic adds to the problems.

Room Tip: Do not book rooms around or above the bar and garden area. On a hot night the smallish windows need...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RTAC343
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old_English_Inns99, Brand at Royal George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Thank you for your review, sorry to hear you were disturbed by the noise, I hope this did not affect your stay too much and hope to welcome you back again in the future. Paul and the Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

We stayed here for one night while walking the Cotswold Way. The hotel has a good location directly next to the way, but there is a busy road to climb to reach it. The room was spacious and tidy, unfortunately the bed was really uncomfortable. I would have just given three points, but the staff was really friendly and even washed some of our sweaty clothes. The food was not so good, one could taste that some of it wasn't freshly cooked but instants. A bit more work into this house would definitely make it more appealing.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank JD G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old_English_Inns99, Brand at Royal George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Thank you for the review, I have shared your comments with all the staff and have spoken directly with our chef and the housekeeping team regarding the issues raised and I am confident actions have been taken to resolve these problems. Thank you once again for your review ,Paul Dorer, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Booked this as a half way stop to Cornwall, was very pleasantly surprised with the hotel.
Very warm welcome. Had a meal, on arrival, we chose the gammon, which was lovely. The breakfast - well the range on offer was great. Service was very good,
We would definitely book and stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank DawnNTracy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old_English_Inns99, Brand at Royal George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2014

Thank you for your review, I have shared your comments with all the staff and we all look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Paul and the Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

Great hotel, great bar and restaurant, lovely rooms. only quibble would be the breakfast, but not bad, staff friendly enough and plenty of parking available. Easy to find and quiet in the evenings. The reception is helpful and bar staff friendly.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank DavidGardiner80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old_English_Inns99, Brand at Royal George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2014

Thank you for your review, I have shared your comments with all the staff. Glad to here you had a good time staying with us and I hope we can welcome you back again in the future. Paul and the Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Came to stay here for a couple of nights with two friends! The staff are so lovely (especially the barman Joe, we all loved him) made us feel so welcome! Had two meals at the hotel which were absolutely delicious, best meal's I've ever had! Cocktails were also very good!! The room was lovely, very spacious and clean! Would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone and I will most likely come here again in the near future!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emt2704
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old_English_Inns99, Brand at Royal George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2014

Thank you for the lovely review, I have shared you coments with the team. Everyone (especially Joe) was glad to here you had a great time. I look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Paul and the Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

I often come here with friends for the curry nights, to watch the football and to see the live entertainment. The bar has a really communal feel and a great atmosphere where the staff are always polite and helpful, and it always seems like the other people in the bar are welcoming and "up for a bit of banter". I stayed over once and had a great night's sleep. Nice beer garden too. Overall, one of the best pubs in the Cheltenham area. Don't be put off by the fact it's part of a chain, it has all the charm of an independent pub.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ArgentetburyBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old_English_Inns99, Brand at Royal George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Thank you for the brilliant review, I have shared your comments with the team and we are all thrilled you enjoy coming and spending time with us. We look forward to welcoming you again soon. Paul and the Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Birdlip
4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
#1 of 1 in Charlton Kings
414 reviews
5.6 mi away
Cotswold Grange Hotel
Cotswold Grange Hotel
#2 of 23 in Cheltenham
576 reviews
4.3 mi away
Hatton Court Hotel
Hatton Court Hotel
#2 of 2 in Upton St Leonards
1,391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
Stonehouse Court
Stonehouse Court
#1 of 2 in Stonehouse
730 reviews
20.8 mi away
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,118 reviews
20.7 mi away
White Hart Royal Hotel
White Hart Royal Hotel
#1 of 3 in Moreton-in-Marsh
2,101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal George Hotel

Address: Birdlip GL4 8JH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Birdlip
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Birdlip
Price Range: £58 - £115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal George Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Royal George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Royal George
Royal George Hotel Birdlip, Gloucestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing