We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A characterful cottage in a great village location”
other travellers have booked this property
Welcome to the stunning Hainault House!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Welcome to the stunning Hainault House!

Hainault House, a stunning holiday home in the historic heart of Blockley

Stylish and inviting living room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
44 reviews
Welcome to the stunning Hainault House!
Hainault House, a stunning holiday home in the historic heart of Blockley
Stylish and inviting living room
The lovely mullion window has a window seat and fabulous views
A great place to relax and enjoy the Cotswolds
The smart dining room, with the dining table set for eight
Roberts radio with iphone dock
The kitchen, which has a door out to the back garden
Gas fired Aga, plus an additional oven and hob
The additional breakfast room, just off the kitchen
A convenient utility space, perfect for doing the washing!
Bedroom 1, which can be set up as either 2 single beds or a superking size bed
There are lovely countryside views out of the window
The family bathroom, with character fireplace
Bath with overhead shower
The second living room, on the first floor (the fireplace is ornamental)
A beautiful room with exposed Cotswold stone wall, SMART TV and plenty of space to relax in
Bedroom 2, which can be made up as either a superking size bed or two single beds
Stylish bedside tables!
Looking into the ensuite bathroom...
...which includes a walk-in shower
Bedroom 3, in the second floor eaves, which contains a double bed
A lovely, spacious bedroom
Bedroom 4, also with a double bed...
...and a dormer window looking across the rooftops to the countryside beyond
The lower garden is accessed by steps up from the back door
Continuing up to the elevated upper garden...
...with amazing rural views!
Blockley's village green and bowling club!
The historic Norman church of St Peter and St Paul
The peaceful Blockley Brook winds through the village
One of the two pubs in Blockley...
...and the well regarded local shop and cafe
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Blockley, Moreton-in-Marsh, Cotswolds, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 44 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Lyn C
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“A characterful cottage in a great village location”
Reviewed 20 December 2011 for a stay in December 2011

Loved all the old beams, open fire, stone floors and fantastic views from the windows. A very well equipped kitchen meant cooking was easy. Only a short walk to the village shop and pub, and other Cotswold villages only a short drive away. All in all a great place to stay to explore the picturesque Cotswolds.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: House full of character, beams, open fire, slate floors etc. Great location in village.
Liked least: Two lounges, but each one a bit tight for 8 people all together.
Travelling group: With Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris H
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely house in quiet village”
Reviewed 12 December 2011 for a stay in November 2011

Spent the weekend here with friends with young families. We chose the location as a good mid point between London and Manchester and proved to be easy to get to from both. Really nice house, well appointed and plenty of room for travel cots etc upstairs. The downstairs was a great area for eating, cooking, relaxing and generally mucking about with the kids.
We didn't venture too far but there's a great little shop/cafe a short walk away. We only tried 1 pub (can't remember the name - but the one further away) and that was basic but friendly.
The owner was great at providing feedback in the run up to our stay answering any questions we had quickly. A stop at Blenheim Palace on the way home topped off a great weekend. Highly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The open fire
Liked least: Going home
Travelling group: With Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LizHardca...
1 review
“Lovely cosy cotswolds home complete with aga -perfect for friends getting together and great having a second lounge for kids to”
Reviewed 12 December 2011 for a stay in November 2011

Beautiful village location and the locals made us feel so welcome and at home. Lovely village cafe and fantastic day trip to Blenheim palace 30 or so mins away.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kate R
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely Stay in Quaint Cotswold Village”
Reviewed 29 November 2011 for a stay in November 2011

This was our second time staying at the house and it was another wonderful experience. The first time we were with extended family and this time it was just me, my husband, and our 20 month old. The village of Blockley is gorgeous with easy access to the surrounding "must-see" towns but without the busy thoroughfare of other larger villages. The house is perfect for large or small gatherings. We enjoyed making a fire every day and the garden in back offers some play area for little ones (though they must be supervised due to stairs and slope) as well as great view of the hillside. The house does have a lot of stairs but our 20 month old is pretty good at stairs and so it provided some entertainment. There is not currently a baby gate to fit those stairs but we were successful in blocking them off with a chair when we didn't want him on them. We enjoyed are stay just as much as last time and even talked of staying at the house again in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Location, Location, Location
Liked least: not applicable
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gemma R
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect weekend in the countryside with friends”
Reviewed 22 November 2011 for a stay in November 2011
1
person found this review helpful

We had such a lovely weekend, the cottage was just perfect and Blockley a lovely little village.

Thanks for the cake and wine too, it was a nice touch.

I will certainly book through you again next time we are looking to rent a cottage.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: With Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sophie M
Red Lodge
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful, spacious cottage in a picturesque, quiet location”
Reviewed 31 October 2011 for a stay in October 2011
3
people found this review helpful

My husband, myself and our 1 year old daughter visited Hainault House with three other couples and another baby for a long weekend. We had such a fabulous time and wished we could have stayed for longer. The house looked as lovely as it did in the pictures if not even nicer. It was clean, cosy and spacious and we made the most of every room. We enjoyed chatting in front of the log fire downstairs, chilling at watching TV in the upstairs living room and playing games in the large dining room. The location was fabulous with the pub and cafe literally one minute down the road. We received a bottle of wine, cake and free hot drinks vouchers for the cafe which was a lovely gesture.

The only thing we thought the house might need is a new frying pan as we lost a fair few eggs at breakfast time! However, after giving our feedback the owners have said they are going to buy a new one.

We were gutted we had to leave. We could have done with another week! We will definitely be recommending Hainault House to our friends and family and would love to return again in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: With Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jscumbria
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A gem of a house in a beautiful village”
Reviewed 3 October 2011 for a stay in September 2011
1
person found this review helpful

Had a great stay - what a fantastic house - really well equipped. The glorious weather helped!
House full of character - lots of stairs! Great location - really central for all cotswold villages. Blockley is a very friendly village with good facilities.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: So well equipped
Liked least: stairs
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing