We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great Traditional Cottage and Authentic Cotswold...”
other travellers have booked this property
Welcome to the stunning Hainault House!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Welcome to the stunning Hainault House!

Hainault House, a stunning holiday home in the historic heart of Blockley

Stylish and inviting living room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
43 reviews
Welcome to the stunning Hainault House!
Hainault House, a stunning holiday home in the historic heart of Blockley
Stylish and inviting living room
The lovely mullion window has a window seat and fabulous views
A great place to relax and enjoy the Cotswolds
The smart dining room, with the dining table set for eight
Roberts radio with iphone dock
The kitchen, which has a door out to the back garden
Gas fired Aga, plus an additional oven and hob
The additional breakfast room, just off the kitchen
A convenient utility space, perfect for doing the washing!
Bedroom 1, which can be set up as either 2 single beds or a superking size bed
There are lovely countryside views out of the window
The family bathroom, with character fireplace
Bath with overhead shower
The second living room, on the first floor (the fireplace is ornamental)
A beautiful room with exposed Cotswold stone wall, SMART TV and plenty of space to relax in
Bedroom 2, which can be made up as either a superking size bed or two single beds
Stylish bedside tables!
Looking into the ensuite bathroom...
...which includes a walk-in shower
Bedroom 3, in the second floor eaves, which contains a double bed
A lovely, spacious bedroom
Bedroom 4, also with a double bed...
...and a dormer window looking across the rooftops to the countryside beyond
The lower garden is accessed by steps up from the back door
Continuing up to the elevated upper garden...
...with amazing rural views!
Blockley's village green and bowling club!
The historic Norman church of St Peter and St Paul
The peaceful Blockley Brook winds through the village
One of the two pubs in Blockley...
...and the well regarded local shop and cafe
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Blockley, Moreton-in-Marsh, Cotswolds, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 43 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Adamtom
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Traditional Cottage and Authentic Cotswold Experience”
Reviewed 30 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

As a group of young families we were looking for a traditional Cotswold cottage to meet and spend time together. Hainault House was just the ticket, situated in a great village with ample amenities and newly opened village shop it provided everything we required. The cottage itself is cosy but spacious with very comfortable beds. The inglenook fire provides that fantastic ambiance for the main room and a pleasure to relax in front of with a glass of wine. The window seat gets the sun in the morning and has a great elevation with fantastic view of over the hills opposite. All in all great and would come back again without hesitation.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thunefeld
Borrego Springs, California
Level 6 Contributor
372 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 541 helpful votes
“Not As Advertised”
Reviewed 25 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Pros: The house was very much as represented in the description and previous reviews. Wi-Fi quick and easy to connect. The town is quiet and charming. The house has loads of character. Blockley Village Shop & Cafe is a 3 minute walk away and has all the basics: perfect! Large rooms. Parking convenient -- we were a group of 8 adults with 3 vehicles here for 14 days in July (the high season) and usually had little difficulty finding convenient parking.

Cons: Limited cooking pots, pans, dishes -- not ideal for 8 adults cooking in regularly. Housekeeping: No one had cleaned under furniture for months. Property manager (Dawn) was very responsive but cleaning crew was barely adequate, e.g. Upon moving in we discovered an overpowering smell of mildew from the ensuite master bedroom shower-- it took 3 calls to Dawn and 2 trips by housekeeping before the issue was finally rectified. Cobwebs dangled from ceilings in 4 rooms upon check-in while 3 light bulbs were missing or burned out. Exhaust fans in both bathrooms are caked with dust & debris - they clearly have not been cleaned/vacuumed for years, if ever. Several days were very warm but the formal dining room had no functioning windows ("it hasn't opened for 5 years" we were told by the representative sent by the property manager). The Aga needed cleaning of grease before use (both the hot plates and the oven door). Refrigerator shelfs contained debris from previous guests (catsup rings, dried cheese, crumbs, etc) Toenails & dustballs found under the beds and living room furniture. Lint screen in the clothes dryer was full of previous guest's lint; water extractor was full of previous guests filthy dirty water -- hello? Dust bunnies rolled freely under all furniture. We were registered for 8 adults, only found 7 towels upon checkin.

Things we wish we knew before arriving/reserving: Kitchen has zero storage for dishes, cutlery, or food. All cupboards and microwave are in the pantry accessed by a step down under a low doorway (which banged the head of all 8 adults multiple times) resulting in an awfully lot of waking back and forth to the "pantry" to access cookware, china, silver, etc.

For our 14 week holiday in Britain, we rented14 cottages/holiday homes for a week each in small towns throughout Southwest England and Wales -- this cottage was at the bottom of the list in the following areas: lack of decent cookware, poor cleanliness, housekeeping crew "unclear on the concept of clean" After 14 weekly rentals, we learned that if a cottage is not currently receiving regular, consistent five-star reviews, there is a reason.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, size, bedrooms
Liked least: Housekeeping, maintenance
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Sep 2015
Character Cottages, as a marketing agency, does not look after or maintain any cottages.

The following is written by the cottage owner's appointed property manager:

"It was disappointing to hear that these guests had cause to complain on arrival at the property, as we strive for high standards at all times. We responded quickly to the concerns, and their points were rectified immediately by the housekeeping company. After the rectification tasks had been completed, the guests were asked if they were happy – they confirmed that they were. Aside from asking for extra quantities of consumables and logs to be supplied, to what is a self-catering property, we heard nothing from them throughout the duration of their two week stay.

We can confirm that the property is well equipped and maintained in excellent order."
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kathc121
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Beautiful property for a family break”
Reviewed 27 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We booked a long weekend at Hainault House in order to celebrate a family occasion in October 2014.

The property was beautifully presented and spotlessly clean throughout. There were some lovely surprises on arrival, including a pre-prepared tea tray with some chocolate cakes and two bottles of wine. Although we'd done a food shop en route, it was also nice to find thoughtful touches such as milk in the fridge and some basic provisions (tea, coffee, sugar, olive oil) in the cupboards.

It really was refreshing to be in such well-equipped self-catering accommodation. The array of crockery, glassware and general kitchen equipment was staggering! The kitchen generally was perfect for cooking for a large group- lots of space, a decent oven in addition to the Aga, a huge fridge freezer and a dishwasher. It didn't bother us that the majority of the crockery was stored in the adjacent utility room- it just meant more storage space!

Although an old property we were more that toasty throughout our stay. We'd emailed ahead to request the Aga be switched on, but in fact we were almost too warm when we first arrived! Better that than too cold though and we simply adjusted the settings until it was perfect.

The bedrooms were all comfortable, with ample space for clothes etc, and slept 8 adults with ease. My brother and his wife were very grateful for the provision of a decent travel cot and highchair, as this greatly reduced the amount they had to pack. As shown in the pictures, the property has two lounge/living areas- one on the ground floor adjacent to the dining room and kitchen, and the other on the first floor. This came in handy in providing a separate space for people to relax, but meant we did have to do a bit of seat-jiggling if we all wanted to sit together of an evening. This wasn't an issue for us (i'm quite happy on a beanbag on the floor anyway), and there were ample seats, just be aware they are spread out across the two floors.

The dining room provided a perfect place for big family meals, and there was a big table in the garden too, which we would have used had the weather been that little bit warmer.

Blockley is a very picturesque village, with a well-stocked and friendly little shop just a stone's throw from the front door. With regard the pubs- the Crown Inn is the closest (literally a few doors down), however, a few of our party went there one night and unfortunately found the staff very rude and the beer undrinkable. We went to the Great Western Arms, which is a little further down the village, for Sunday lunch, and whilst they were a little disorganised (in fairness, they had the 8 of us turn up, and another large party, and we found out it had been under new management for just 2 weeks), the food and service were lovely.

I notice a few comments about parking. Due to differing arrival times and the fact we were all coming from different locations, we had 3 cars in total, but had absolutely no problem in parking them all on the road outside the property as advertised.

I would definitely recommend Hainault House for a stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pamela009
France
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Needs a bit of TLC”
Reviewed 8 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

The house is in a lovely quiet village. Parking was a big issue when we were there it was difficult to find a spot along the whole street luckily we were able to load near the house on departure.The kitchen and bathrooms were clean but the tables were very sticky and needed a proper clean, the windows were very dirty which spoiled the idea of looking at the view mentioned in the publicity.The garden furniture was terrible and and needs replacing you could not sit on them without ruining your clothes. It is a shame the garden was not kept up to scratch as again the over grown hedges blocked the view. For the price paid we expected a little more attention to detail.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Sep 2014
The following response was written by the property owners:

"Dear Guests

We were very sorry to read your review, as we take customer satisfaction very seriously. We employ both a Property Manager and a housekeeper at Hainault House, to try and ensure that the quality of the house is maintained. Generally, we get good feedback from guests, however, clearly there are things you identified that needed to be improved.

Responses to each of your points are as follows:
• Parking: This point is a bit of a surprise, as there is nearly always parking space on High Street, albeit that this may not be directly outside the house. Certainly, we have never had a problem ourselves with parking. It is possible that the building work taking place on the new village café when you were at Hainault may have pushed some additional cars onto High Street, but we’re not aware that there is generally a problem;
• Sticky tables: This is not acceptable and appears to have been an oversight by one of the housekeeping team, which they have apologised for, and we apologise in turn;
• Windows: We understand that these have now been cleaned and we have asked the Property Manager to increase the frequency of window cleaning at the house;
• Garden furniture: We became aware a while ago that the garden furniture was in a poor condition and we authorised it to be replaced. There appears to have been a misunderstanding between the Property Manager and the housekeeper as to who was replacing the furniture, which, frustratingly, meant it had not got done by your stay. New garden furniture has now been purchased.

We are very grateful for your feedback and we hope all the points you raised have been addressed satisfactorily. We would be very happy to offer a discount off any future stay, should you wish to return to Hainault House."
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JJcom
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice cottage located in a nice village”
Reviewed 19 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We do enjoy our visit to the house, and the living experience was wonderful! The small garden up hill was a good place for BBQ as the wind just blew the smoke away from us. You have everything may be expected from a high-standard cottage place. Really a good choice for holidays with friends or family.

Apart from these, there are few things you may like to concern about:
- some of the door lintels inside are quite low, please mind your head
- the parking space around the house is not quite rich, especially not in the high street (one of our vehicles was scratched while was being parked at an inappropriate location)
- there are only two bathrooms with toilet in the house, one with shower only

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catherine...
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Amazing house, beautiful area, we didn't want to leave!”
Reviewed 5 November 2013 for a stay in October 2013

A large group of us stayed for 3 nights at half term, 6 adults and 5 children ranging from 0-5 yrs old. We absolutely loved the house, very cosy with the open fire and the Aga in the kitchen, extremely comfortable beds (I usually don't sleep we'll away from home but not this time!) and the whole place was extremely well-stocked, particularly the kitchen. The wifi was very reliable too.

The village is picture perfect and we really enjoyed exploring the area and seeing the autumn colours at Batsford Arboretum. The kids loved the Cotswold wildlife park. We could have stayed in the area a lot longer as there was so much to do. We had a great lunch in one of the village pubs and the village shop is very charming.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!
Liked least: Nothing!
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrisAndN...
Southport, England
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Perfect place to catch up with friends and forget about phones and TV”
Reviewed 1 June 2013 for a stay in May 2013

We stayed 4 nights with friends, babies and toddlers and had a lovely time (in spite of the weather not cooperating). We made a couple of short journey's to Broadway and Bourton-on-the-Water for days out which the house was excellently located between the two. Blockley is a beautiful village.

I'll list the pro's and con's for the house itself, but I am being particular with the cons, they are not enough to drop the property to 4 stars in our opinion so bear that in mind.

Pro's
-Beautiful old quaint and characterful property with gorgeous stone floors and excellent provisions
-Huge fridge and cooking facilities (aga and oven)
-Good size bedrooms
-Beautiful views
-wine and cake left for arrival, such a lovely touch
-walkable to village and park for the children
-nice walks from the house, no need to drive out
-plenty of crockery and glassware etc.
-provision of travel cot and highchair
-lovely big dining table made long meals stretch on into the evening and gave a good game playing table
-Bathrooms both lovely and very well equipped, showers were lovely and hot and powerful
-Towels lovely and plentiful

Cons
-kitchen sort of split in two, with a big step between the two. The food and cooker in one side and all crockery in other side, probably walked several miles every time we cooked a meal!
-lots of steps in the house, but then this is likely true of most older properties and we managed fine with very young children. People with mobility issues would struggle though.
-like a previous reviewer has commented, we also found the pans not big enough for such a large house. We kept having to cook things in 2 batches.
-No space or cupboards to store our food in

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Seperate lounge with no TV next to dining area
Liked least: Kitchen being split in two and lack of food storage
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing