We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely hostess and home”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Malins

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Blockley
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Malins
Ranked #1 of 3 Blockley B&B and Inns
Decatur, Georgia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely hostess and home”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed four nights at The Malins. Jane, our hostess, was fantastic. She was up like sunshine every morning ready to make a hot breakfast for everyone, which was made to order. Our room and bath were very comfortable and clean. The environment was casual, which we liked, and was conducive to socializing with other guests at breakfast. We will be back!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Monica B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    22
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
21
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

I stayed at The Malins last night. I had just completed the Cotswold way and arrived at The Malins suffering from blisters. My host was great. She made me a lovely cup of tea and offered helpful suggestions re my blisters. She offered a recommendation for somewhere to eat which I went and had an excellent meal. the room was very comfortable with a lovely hot shower. breakfast was excellent and my host found bus and rail times for me on the internet.

Room Tip: Great place for walkers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank revpete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

Myself and my partner spent the night here last year. Jane was an absolute delight. She made us feel welcome from the minute we walked thru the front gate. The dog also gave us a great welcome. The double room was perfect for what we wanted. Although at the front of the house, and we had the windows open all night, we slept like logs. Breakfast was hearty,with lots of choice. My partner is a veggie, and Jane made sure he had plenty of choice. We're going back to the Cotswolds again this year and will be returning to this b&b.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jimmybob1312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Crosse, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2013

The Malins was the fifth and last B&B we stayed at during our trip. We stayed at the Malins for three nights. In perspective it was a great value. We had a fine room, a good breakfast and Jane was a very helpful host. However, the key to our rating was the value. At 55 pounds per night you are right in the middle of the northern Cotwolds and in a town that is not overrun with tourists.
We had a fine meal at the Great Western pub just a short walk from the Malins. Jane is an avid walker and biker and she gave us good insight into getting around in the vicinity.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bill W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vichy, France
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013

A comfortable, well-appointed B & B in a quiet location. Well worth the visit if you are in the Cotswolds or want to visit Oxford and Blenheim Palace. It is within easy reach of Chipping Camden (only three miles away), Hidcote Gardens and Broadway.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Derek W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brierley Hill
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2013

We have just returned from a two night stay at the Malins. We, my husband and I and two friends.

Our friends found the Malins on the internet. We have spent many lovely times together in the Cotswolds and had passed through Blockley but had not seen what a delightful place it is.

Our friend phoned Jane and made reservations for the two twin bedrooms. When we arrived we were welcomed by Jane and shown our rooms, the dining room and the guest lounge.

The rooms were comfortable and well appointed. The only slight problem we encountered was the noisy plumbing. The toilet cistern has an electric shredder. When the loo is flushed there is a grinding noise. During the day this is not too noticeable but if we or another guest flushed the loos during the night the noise echoed through the building. This also occurred when the shower was used. This did not spoil our stay but was an irritation.

The beds were very comfortable and the heating was kept on in the bedrooms.

The breakfast was delicious. A variety of cereals, fruit juice, fresh fruits and yoghurt. Toast and preserves. The cooked breakfast was lovely locally sourced and plentiful. Tea and coffee were offered too.

Jane was a mine of information regarding the area and its history and suggested places to visit.
We would recommend the Malins to any visitors looking for a traditional bed and breakfast at a very reasonable price.. There is also a car park for guests at the rear of the house.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ilkley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2012

A great B&B at a reasonable price. The room was clean, comfortable and a good size although the en suite was a litle snug. Jane, the landlady was lovely. She was so helpful and gave us maps of various local walks. She even lent us a rucksack as we were a little unprepared. It was great to have a freshly cooked, tasty breakfast rather than the buffet style you get in some hotels with dried up bacon and eggs! Blockley itself is an idyllic unspolilt Cotswold village with a local shop,cafe,nursery all in one building. There are a couple of eating places/pubs within walking distance although there are lots of others a short drive away. We will definitely be staying at the Malins again.

Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Paradinegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blockley
2.5 mi away
Noel Arms Hotel
Noel Arms Hotel
#3 of 3 in Chipping Campden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 997 reviews
2.9 mi away
White Hart Royal Hotel
White Hart Royal Hotel
#2 of 3 in Moreton-in-Marsh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,794 reviews
2.6 mi away
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Chipping Campden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,001 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Redesdale Arms Hotel
Redesdale Arms Hotel
#1 of 3 in Moreton-in-Marsh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,097 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Manor House Hotel
The Manor House Hotel
#3 of 3 in Moreton-in-Marsh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,027 reviews
4.8 mi away
The Lygon Arms
The Lygon Arms
#5 of 6 in Broadway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Malins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Malins

Property: The Malins
Address: 21 Station Road, Blockley, Moreton-in-Marsh GL56 9ED, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Moreton-in-Marsh > Blockley
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Blockley
Hotel Class:4 star — The Malins 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
The Malins Blockley, Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing