We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Need to make an effort”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Mill Dene Garden

Mill Dene Garden
Ranked #2 of 2 things to do in Blockley
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This romantic Cotswold garden is set around a lovely mill, which is probably Norman. Sited in its own steep-sided valley, the garden has hidden paths winding up from the mill-pool and stream at the bottom through the Rose Walk to the Cricket Lawn.
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Need to make an effort”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

Not worth the time or money to visit, £6.00 each to get in, hot drinks from a machine at £2.00 that you had to get your self, you were supposed to be able to get hot drinks and food which seemed to be closed no staff around to ask for information and the gardens looked neglected the whole thing could be done in 15min.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Keven M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    12
    10
    18
    13
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Disappointing garden”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

We visited earlier this week having enjoyed a previous visit some years ago when the garden was open as part of the local National Garden Scheme as were other gardens in the lovely village of Blockley. Sadly the garden is not nearly as well kept as on our earlier visit with convolvulus and other weeds rampant in many of the borders and several of the plants looking rather sorry for themselves. The impression in advance was that refreshments were served in the conservatory but in fact the only facility was a lean to with a DIY facility for tea and coffee. Our thirst was quenched by retiring to the brilliant community shop and cafe in the village. A great shame that such a beautiful location didn't live up to its earlier reputation. Perhaps the army of volunteers present will improve the garden for the forthcoming NGS day.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Edward E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eidsberg, Ostfold, Norway
Level Contributor
113 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Waste of time and money”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014 via mobile

We were part of a Scandinavian tour group and while we generally enjoyed the Cotswolds, this place was a disappointment. Part of the garden was neglected, and we detected no theme or plan anywhere.
The tea was even a greater let-down: the scones were so hard the knife had problems halving them, and the core of the scone was very very cold. Fresh from the freezer via a short stopover in the micro? We had to ask for each part of the tea "ceremony", even the cups were missing until we asked for them. We were probably too many for the capacity of the place. Sorry.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank HalvorJohan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful Gardens and very pleasant staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

What a lovely place! Just a small car park but well worth visiting. The gardens are very attractive and nicely laid out. The staff (or maybe it was the owners?) were very pleasant people, as was the lady cutting the little duck topiary. We stopped to have a chat with her and browsed around the plants they had for sale. A very enjoyable afternoon. Thank you Mill Dene!!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank 1stTaraven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Don't stop for lunch”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014

We stopped here on our Cotswold hike after reading on their website that they served light lunches in their tea room even if you were not visiting garden. Well they don't serve lunch - only two cakes that you can cut a slice of and tea that you make yourself. Also tea room is for garden visitors only (but they did let us in for a slice of cake). They need to update/correct website.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank AlmostRetired5511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mill Dene Garden also viewed

Moreton-in-Marsh, Cotswolds
Bourton-on-the-Hill, Moreton-in-Marsh
 
Moreton-in-Marsh, Cotswolds
Moreton-in-Marsh, Cotswolds
 

Been to Mill Dene Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing