We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unwind and relax”
Review of The Crown Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Crown Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Blockley B&B and Inns
cumbria
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Unwind and relax”
Reviewed 23 April 2014

My husband and I have just spent 3 nights here 18/19/20 April .We love Blockley ,we travel down every year but this was the first time we stayed at The Crown . As soon as we walked in we knew we had made the right choice ,the staff are all so very friendly and the breakfast was a good start to the days adventures. It's a nice peaceful place to stay and we will be staying there again .FAB.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gl1500Cumbria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

752 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    185
    251
    166
    74
    76
See reviews for
80
485
19
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pontypridd
Level 6 Contributor
63 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

My wife and I stayed for a night on a voucher deal. The welcome was friendly and efficient and our room in the main hotel was good. We didn't eat an evening meal at the hotel but if the breakfast is anything to go by it would be very good. A couple of minor niggles. The shower in our room (14) was very hit and miss. A slight turn of the temperature control changed the flow from cold to very hot. There was no one around when we checked out to report this. Secondly we were somewhat rushed out of the bar 30 minutes before the advertised closing time on the Sunday night. We were the only ones in the bar but did not expect this. On balance though we would use the hotel again. We found the village of Blockley enchanting.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SonnyPontypridd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uckfield, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

My wife and I stayed here 9/10/11 April. We were made to feel very welcome. Ivan and Jan were particularly helpful despite having to multi-task, and Lisa was always around to assist too. It does seem the whole thing runs on 3 staff out front plus the kitchen staff. Given that fact, it is remarkable that everyone is so good-humoured. Breakfast and dinner food was of a high quality and beautifully presented; piping hot, too! We of course saw only one room, and it is true that was looking a little 'tired'. However, all in all, it was a great value-for-money stay. Oh, and our dog was made equally welcome, with the occasional dog biscuit and his own bowl of water served to him by Jan (he's from the Czech Republic - and has a great sense of humour) in the bar area

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wolfie1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
westmidlands
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed here with a few friends to celebrate 1 birthday and 1 retirement. Good points first of all Lisa the receptionist and general multi tasked was a helpful as could be be with any queries we had and did her best, deal with a couple of problems along the way. Other staff were pleasant and service was generally good. Food we all opted for the set menu three courses just under £20 and we all agreed that it was good value for money, breakfast was a good substantial one to start the day.The building is full of character winding stair cases uneven floors etc as you would expect it was built in the 1500's. I do agree with other comments that some of the house keeping was a little lacking mainly due to the fact that there were large and small pieces of broken glass on the bathroom floor of our room which fortunately was notice before a serious injury occurred. The rooms in all were adequate a little tired looking in place and our first room smelled so badly of mould/damp not sure that we asked to be move again Lisa tried her best. We didn't have the heart to mention the glass in the second until we checked out. All in all the five of us said we would visit the Crown Hotel again if the price was right. Blockley itself is a lovely get away from it all village.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank jylittle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

We stayed a few night ago had a lovely pleasant stay rooms and breakfast only shame for us two couples and for the hotel as we were only staying for the one night we wanted to make the best of our two days, after a 3 hour drive we arrived at the hotel at 12.45pm we knew we couldn't check in till 2pm but did go to reception where Lisa said you cannot check in yet so we said ok as we had only a hour to wait said we would go into bar and have a drink sorry Lisa said bar not open till 5pm as being residents we did think she would offer us a drink, tea, coffee anything so told us where to go which was the Great Western Arms pub by the church so off we went we were made to feel very welcome had a drink and a snack, we were all so impressed with our food and friendly service that we booked a table for the evening which again we had a really good night, the shame for the hotel is had Lisa made us more welcome we would have booked in the restaurant for the evening and not have visited the pub,but we did still enjoy our stay

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan1951562
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2014

Stayed here courtesy of our children and groupon for my husband and his brothers birthdays. We loved it, peace and quiet and very comfortable rooms, our rooms were outside of the main building in converted stables perhaps and everything we needed was supplied. The staff were friendly and helpful nothing was too much trouble, they also I would like to add worked very long hours, doing all the jobs from cleaning rooms to reception, waiting on tables to barwork, nothing fazed them, they were there early in the morning til late at night, we had nothing but admiration for them. As said in previous reviews the phone signal is very hit and miss but not so impossible. Set in lovely countryside Blockley is a charming village, very friendly people and we would jump at the chance to stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mummybearportsmouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chepstow
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed here on a 2 night groupon offer, which included breakfast and one night's dinner. It is one of those quirky old coaching-inn hotels, with uneven floors, odd shaped rooms, and en-suites squeezed into smallish spaces. Some areas have been upgraded, but our standard rooms left a little to be desired. However, the beds were good, the rooms clean, and the staff very efficient. The meals - both breakfast & dinner were very good & substantial. Don't bother with the bar meals in the pub - not at all the same as what's on offer in the restaurant. There are a couple of other restaurants in the village, and we REALLY recommend the community shop/ café/ post-office which also has free WI-Fi. The WI-Fi in the hotel is only available in the lounge area, which makes for some friendly hang-outs, but the hotel really should put some effort into boosting their signal so that it is available in all the bedrooms. A word of warning - there is hardly any mobile phone signal in the village!! In all, a delightful break.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank cwtchkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blockley
3.0 mi away
White Hart Royal Hotel
White Hart Royal Hotel
#2 of 3 in Moreton-in-Marsh
1,876 reviews
3.0 mi away
Redesdale Arms Hotel
Redesdale Arms Hotel
#1 of 3 in Moreton-in-Marsh
1,125 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Manor House Hotel
The Manor House Hotel
#3 of 3 in Moreton-in-Marsh
1,080 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Noel Arms Hotel
Noel Arms Hotel
#3 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,023 reviews
6.0 mi away
Sheep on Sheep Street
Sheep on Sheep Street
#4 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
203 reviews
2.8 mi away
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,035 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crown Hotel

Property: The Crown Hotel
Address: High Street, Blockley, Moreton-in-Marsh GL56 9EX, England (Formerly The Crown Inn)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Moreton-in-Marsh > Blockley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Blockley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Crown Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Crown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Crown Hotel Blockley, Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing