We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outdated.”
Review of The Crown Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Crown Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Blockley B&B and Inns
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We stayed at The Crown Inn over the bank holiday weekend, first impressions were good and what we expected of a hotel in a. Cotswold village. We were greeted at reception by a friendly lady and shown to our room, number 25, a superior suite. They use the term suite, loosely. The room was at the back of the hotel, near the car park with a decking area outside where all the smokers in the hotel go to fill their lungs, not nice if you're a non smoker. The room layout was nice, on two levels with a sitting area and a raised area for the bed. However, in dire need of painting, very grubby and the bathroom was quite frankly, not of a high standard. The shower closet was stained and the shower head awful. The bed was two singles stuck together, standard antique pine, very dated decor and the kettle needed descaling. The worst part about this room was that it was situated underneath another room, you could hear absolutely everything that was going on in the room above and I mean everything! Breakfast was ok, as mentioned in other reviews, no refill offered for tea and coffee and not very attentive staff....why are they not addressing this issue? It's been mentioned lots on the reviews but this basic need is not being met, beggars belief and not a hard issue to rectify. Sadly lacking which is a shame because it's a beautiful village. We ate at The Great Western Arms, a short walk away, in the same village, thoroughly recommend the GWA...worlds apart from The Crown. Management, take note.

Room Tip: Would not recommend room 25 see review.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ally P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (777)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

359 - 365 of 777 reviews

Reviewed 22 May 2014

We recently stayed in Blockley and wanted somewhere local for drinks and a meal. The Crown is fantastically located right in the centre of this beautiful village. On arrival it was obvious the place needed a bit of TLC. They offer separate bar and restaurant menus. Neither particularly inspiring. Our meal was adequate. Service was adequate. We didn't stay in the rooms so I couldn't comment. Our major impression was that this place could draw people from all around the Cotswolds if it had some major investment and quality eating and drinking experiences. Update& refresh, get a great chef and work on the front of staff training and presentation and this could be an outstanding place.
We ate out of the village for the rest of our stay and nearly all people we met said how great the Crown used to be and what a shame it has gone into such decline. The current owners clearly don't want to invest time or energy into it, so sell it on so someone else can polish up the Crown back to it's former glory and reputation!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cllodw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Stayed here as a Mothers and Fathers day gift from children.

Blockley is a lovely old world charm of a village, absolutely peaceful. The Crown sits on the High Street which leads to a dead end so the only traffic is local or the hotels.
The Crown Hotel can only be best described as outdated. Do not get me wrong if you love old world charm dated furniture, carpets that have seen better days and cobwebs this place is all that.

The staff overall are very friendly but some what lacking perhaps in the art of service within restaurants. eating in the breakfast was certainly adequate but the lack of asking the customer for more tea/coffee was not forthcoming, down to the point that if you arrived for breakfast at 9.30 breakfast was lacking and stuff like fruit juices not kept replenished. The evening meal at a fixed price of £19.95 for three courses was again adequate but not top quality.

The Bar area was drab to say the least and was not very welcoming. One door left wide open to another room was littered with junk when this would have made a far better bar area for seating. Apparently it was a former fish restaurant of some repute again now allowed to lapse some.

Our room was Number 1, this was at the top of the car park and was in the attic of a stone building. Below our room was two others which were basically half the size. To be honest the room we was in if painted redecorated and new carpets and furniture installed could be there top room. The room was enormous with views out across the roof tops and looking across the valley. Outside it had its own self contained fenced off patio area with a table and chairs, from here on it was a little down hill. The carpet was grubby and stained and also had a rug the same. The bedroom furniture was best described as antique pine which one bedside cabinet door fell apart when opened. The two lovely velux windows in the roof where ruined by the blown glazing in them. The paintwork all over was dirty and needed as said completely repainting. The bathroom as okay but again requires some updating, rusty toilet cleaning brush and again the pine was there.

It is a shame about this as said it could be wonderful but I'm afraid it has lapsed. Would I stay here again yes because ultimately the location does sell it but only at the groupon avialable price of £49 per night.

Room Tip: Ask for Room 1 for views and patio if you don't mind the other details.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Craig1264
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Stayed here a few weeks ago. Lovely location but no atmosphere at the hotel. Not much conversation went on with staff, although Lisa was helpful and did her best and works hard and does talk. Breakfast fairly good but evening meal well presented but tasteless and arrives quickly so probably prepared earlier and heated somehow.. The comments on here regarding food look good but obviously some people have lower standards. Bed terrible and full of lumps.Room had a musty smell. Because it was busy at breakfast in the dining room we were not as well looked after as we would have liked. No second cup of coffee was offered because it was very busy. Would not want to stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tapas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

On a mini trip in the Cotswolds, we'd chosen The Crown and it was a good choice,
Friendly and helpful staff. Very quiet place.
Full English breakfast that you could compose yourself.
Spacious room, with separate lounge and coffee and tea facilities in the room. We booked a premium room.
Unfortunately some equipment needs being updated or refurbished.
WiFi available but only at reception area and not very fast.

Room Tip: If you like a terrace, choose room 16 on the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lieveCWB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

My wife and I stayed here on 9th and 10th May with five other couples for our annual reunion. The men all joined the Royal Navy in 1962 as Artificer Apprentices. For many years now we have met to catch up on old times and this year it was my turn to organise the venue.
I'm pleased to say that we really enjoyed our break and everyone loved the location and hotel.
We always try to choose a smaller hotel and the Crown Inn staff made us feel very welcome and we loved the quirky bedrooms steeped in history..
Blockley is a beautiful village just off the beaten track and well worth a walk round, its very close to many other lovely Cotswold locations.
All the staff were very friendly and helpful but I would like to thank Lisa in particular for all her hard work, nothing was too much trouble for her.
My wife and I will certainly be back for another visit in the near future.

Room Tip: Since last July when I booked the hotel my wife and I have now stayed in three different premier dou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

We have just returned from a 4 day stay at "The Crown" in the lovely, peaceful village of Blockley. We found the staff very helpful and friendly, breakfast and evening meals were very good and our room was clean and comfortable. It doesn't have much of an internet signal so no good for people who can't seem to cope without it! but the perfect place to get away from from it all.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jackie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blockley
3.0 mi away
White Hart Royal Hotel
White Hart Royal Hotel
#1 of 3 in Moreton-in-Marsh
1,967 reviews
3.0 mi away
Redesdale Arms Hotel
Redesdale Arms Hotel
#2 of 3 in Moreton-in-Marsh
1,172 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Manor House Hotel
The Manor House Hotel
#3 of 3 in Moreton-in-Marsh
1,129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
The White Bear
The White Bear
#2 of 2 in Shipston-on-Stour
73 reviews
2.8 mi away
Noel Arms Hotel
Noel Arms Hotel
#3 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,056 reviews
2.8 mi away
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,066 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crown Hotel

Address: High Street, Blockley, Moreton-in-Marsh GL56 9EX, England (Formerly The Crown Inn)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Moreton-in-Marsh > Blockley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Blockley
Price Range: £55 - £130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Crown Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, LateRooms, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your The Crown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Crown Hotel Blockley, Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing